6/17 eyes on Mr.Grey 295 how are we doing ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rick & Mr. Grey

Member Since 2012
Hello and a good day to you ! I have been getting more data at crucial hours and also sticking with doses for 6 cycles. Yesterday although he was in the 300's, Mr. Grey was more social and even sat outside under a shrub in the shade for 2 hours. I think this may be due to his levels slowly moving down in a more stable pattern ?
Thanks and happy cats to you !
 
Hey Rick, I'm trying to get Mr. Grey's SS to open (my phone is being finicky, not a problem on your end). One thing that I was constantly reminded about what our cats are more than their numbers. So if Mr. Grey is coming around more and acting like he's feeling well, then yes! That's a good sign! I have found with Cobb, he will typically act better several days before his BGs change. It can take a few cycles for the numbers to follow the behavior - at least in my experience!

~Suzanne
 
Hey Rick! nice to see you and Mr. Grey!

I think i'd go up another 0.5u tonight. There is an option that we use when cats are flat and high - ie, Mr. Grey in constant 300's - where you can increase the dose every 4 cycles to get them into better numbers.

Tilly's Diabetes Homepage
However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU.

There are some folks who increase the size of their dose changes when they get into higher dose volumes. Consider that at 2 units, a very typical cat dose, an increase of 0.25u (a typical increase) is slightly more than 10%. A 10% dose increase at 10u would be 1.0u. You can try having a larger dose increase - just make sure you're monitoring, of course, and see if you like the results. I found that punkin's BGs would still move at smaller dose increases, so i kept to 0.5u most of the time, even when he was at 15.5u (his max.) Just depends on your comfort zone, your availability, and how Mr. Grey responds to things. I just want to offer it as an option for you to explore.
 
Hi Rick! I finally got my phone to open your SS.

I agree with Julie. We did .5u increases as well. A few 1u increases, but mainly .5u every 4 cycles. It looks like Mr. Grey definitely has some kind of insulin resistance going on. Being more aggressive might help you get ahead of it. But like Jukie says, you want to be around to monitor if you're being more aggressive.

Good luck!

~Suzanne
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top