6/17 Ducia PMPS 110, +3 49/55, +4 82, +5 54, +6.5 66 , +11 176

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya and Ducia

Member Since 2017
Hi,

It is the middle of the night here and I hope the good people of LL and their furbabies are peacefully sleeping.

Ducia has being having lower numbers lately and I noticed that bringing her up with food now isn't as easy as it used to be before. Example: this PMPS +3 she was 49 and I fed 20% carbs gravy - no solids. It bumped her up for only 6 point in the next 30 min whilst before the 15% gravy would give her at least 10-15 points.

I was wondering if any one dealt with this issue - not sure what to call it - "carbs resistance"? or "higher carbs % requirement"? - and maybe has some tips/tricks as to how to improve the steering up numbers.

@+3.5 BG 55 I fed 1 tsp FF 14% - not only gravy but the the meat as well this time = @+4 BG 82. I know that giving MC food is not good idea and that it will stay in her system for longer affecting the BGs. But gravy of 20% alone (the highest I ever used to day) didn't do much for her...:confused: Are there any known digestive conditions that might affect the carbs absorption/processing? :confused:

P.S. It was the third time below 50 and the reducie is earned honestly this time, in accordance with the most conservative TR interpretation. :D Taking the dose down to 0.75 in the AM cycle.
 
Congratulations on the reduction! :D
It's 8:30am here, going on 9, so I'm almost out the door to work. ;)
I just know that the time in the cycle will determine how fast she is moving down. At +3 the insulin is doing it's thing and bringing her glucose down to her nadir. If it was later in the cycle or after nadir when the insulin effect is waning you probably wouldn't need as many carbs.
 
I don't have a good answer, Tanya, but I can tell you that Teasel isn't that carb sensitive, as I've seen when he's dropped too low. Also, I learned that the gravy foods don't agree with him. The last time I tried steering with those his tummy became upset and his appetite dropped right down - very worrying in a cat who's a really good eater. Trip to vet, shot of Cerenia, more Cerenia at home and he perked up after a couple of days. Now I stick to adding honey to his LC food when I need to steer him. It's impossible to know what the % carbs is when I do that but I do make a note of how much LC food and how much honey I use.
 
Congrats of the reducie! I think it's difficult to compare one cycle against the other with carb count becuase whose not to say if at another time you'd give her 20% and it would take her up the desired 20 points. It could be that last night's cycle she was just going to be harder to move with food. Bubba had cycles like that when he was determined to take a reduction and that is just how I looked at it : He wanted that reduction.

BTW, I can see your SS now. :cat:
 
Thank you all for the replies! I will open new thread for this AM once this one sank down on the Forum. The 6/18 AMPS was 198, the +2 244. Halo salve on ears.
Now I stick to adding honey to his LC food when I need to steer him. It's impossible to know what the % carbs is when I do that but I do make a note of how much LC food and how much honey I use.
It makes so much sense to me ! and I do plan on switching to honey - too much stuff is in FF gravy that no cat needs. My problem is irrational - I am frightened by honey, what if she developed intolerance/allergy after I almost drawn her in it @Hypo?..:nailbiting::nailbiting: I realize how irrational/subjective it is but so far couldn't help it, :oops:maybe need some more time. I even eyed good honey @local store - organic, certificates, the works, but didn't buy it. I have simple/cheap one at home, didn't use it last night. Every time it comes to it I think of you using honey and that it is clever.
It could be that last night's cycle she was just going to be harder to move with food. Bubba had cycles like that when he was determined to take a reduction and that is just how I looked at it : He wanted that reduction.
I sure hope that's the case:bighug: - day to day variance. Or maybe that particular can of FF wasn't exactly 20% - like was discussed in the Carbs Sensitivity post @Think Tank.

I wonder if Mandy has any kind of tips/suggestions for steering a stubborn cat up? I remember her working on it relentlessly night after night for two weeks or so.. @Mandy & Rex ..?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top