6/17 Chloe - +8 94 | +10 149 | PMPS 125 | +1.5 108 | +2.5 68 | +3.25 82 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

6/17 Chloe - +8 94 | +10 149 | PMPS 125 | +1.5 108 | +2.5 68 | +3.25 82

Good morning! :coffee::coffee::coffee: Remind me, was Chloe eating dry food before and you switched to wet food only after diagnosis? The change in her numbers has been remarkable!
The second DX? She was eating primarily wet with some dry snacks. But it was HC prescription stuff on both counts. I wish I had found this group during her first DX! Probably would have never started the Vetsulin if I had done my research!
 
The second DX? She was eating primarily wet with some dry snacks. But it was HC prescription stuff on both counts. I wish I had found this group during her first DX! Probably would have never started the Vetsulin if I had done my research!
So when you started Lantus on 6/4, she was transitioning from HC wet and kibble to FF? When did she fully transition to FF? PM meal of 6/5?

Good question @PerfumedCatMom !
 
So when you started Lantus on 6/4, she was transitioning from HC wet and kibble to FF? When did she fully transition to FF? PM meal of 6/5?

Good question @PerfumedCatMom !
Yes, that's when we fully transitioned to LC wet. Although she was hardly eating kibble at that point (her dish is right next to my WFH setup). Not sure if she didn't like the taste or if her teeth were bothering her (I still need to take her in for a dental), or if she just preferred the wet.

Although for testing treats, I've been using Epigen 90. It's what her civvie brother mostly eats (out of her reach), and she had no interest in the freeze dried meat treats.
 
The second DX? She was eating primarily wet with some dry snacks. But it was HC prescription stuff on both counts. I wish I had found this group during her first DX! Probably would have never started the Vetsulin if I had done my research!
Sorry to be confusing, forgot you were on Vetsulin before. Yes, I meant when you started Chloe on Lantus. I love seeing what happens when cats go off high carb foods, and it makes me sad that so many innocent kitties suffer unnecessarily from food that's not made for their optimum health.
 
Hubs is home with Chloe and just got a 22 and then a LO on successive readings. He gave her honey and MC food (we're out of HC) and will test again in 15 minutes. I can't get home for another half hour.
 
Also having message board loading issues
Yeah. I did too for a few minutes.

Anyway, switch to LC and get a few more tests.

Might be safer to reduce the dose. I didn't pay attention to the food change. It's a good thing Katherine asked about it.

Elise should be around before your PMPS to help with dosing.

It's midnight for me, so I'm headed to bed. How many years of your life did you lose today? :-)
 
Yeah. I did too for a few minutes.

Anyway, switch to LC and get a few more tests.

Might be safer to reduce the dose. I didn't pay attention to the food change. It's a good thing Katherine asked about it.

Elise should be around before your PMPS to help with dosing.

It's midnight for me, so I'm headed to bed. How many years of your life did you lose today? :)
Thank you for your help as always! Sleep well!
 
I think she will be bouncing high tonight. I’d reduce to 3.0 probably but an argument could be made to go to 2.75 since the last reduction could have been a .50 reduction instead of .25. The larger depot will be in play though.
 
Last edited:
I think she will be bouncing high tonight. I’d reduce to 3.0 probably but an argument could be made to go to 2.75 since the last reduction could have been a .50 reduction instead of .25. The larger depot will be in play though.
I'll see where she is when I get home, which is usually a +10. Not sure if there will be testing before that, honestly. Hubs was pretty shook and then felt bad that I had to rush home for possibly not even an emergency. Feline diabetes + anxiety disorder is... less than an ideal situation.
 
OMG that must have been some day for both you and your husband :nailbiting: good catch for him and glad he managed to bring her up so quickly.

i have heard about how quickly changing from dry to wet food can reduce insuline needs but it is the first time i see it in action.
 
I'm not sure how much is food and how much is switching to Lantus. They both happened around the same time.
Lantus is great for flattening the cycles, it actually takes a while to bring down high values. You can check Chico’s SS for what i saw on the forum to be more typical “lantus effect” after switching from caninsulin (vetsulin). In my opinion there is smth else at play than just lantus, its too quick and too bounceless. Anyway i guess a few more cycles where you will have to keep a very keen eye on her are ahead of you, until you will reach a dose that is more suitable for her insulin needs at the moment. Good luck and you two guys are doing an incredible job :bighug:
 
PMPS 125, just before the landscapers came by with the leaf blowers. It’s probably over 300 at the moment based on how she ran :confused:

Unless I hear otherwise in the next 15 minutes, I’m going to drop the dose to 3U tonight and see how that goes.
 
Ugh. This girl. She barely touched her dinner for the first 30 mins after her shot. She’s gone back to the bowls a few times now, but girl, gimme a break!

I’m sure she’s missing the gravy she got the last 2 days. I have FOUR varieties of food out right now and showed minimal interest in all of them.
 
Last edited:
I dunno what others may think but I'm glad you dropped Chloe's dose tonight to 3. We don't know if that 22 was a fluke or not, and you and Hubs need a break. Let's see how she does tonight. How's she eatin'?
 
I dunno what others may think but I'm glad you dropped Chloe's dose tonight to 3. We don't know if that 22 was a fluke or not, and you and Hubs need a break. Let's see how she does tonight. How's she eatin'?
She’s gone back to the dishes a few times, so more like a normal night. I haven’t checked which ones she’s been eating - pates or shreds. I can’t figure out what she prefers. Something she’ll gobble one day is unpalatable the next.
 
Also @PerfumedCatMom how do you think your interview went???
I think it went really well! Thank you so much for remembering. :) They asked for references today, so as long as those check out... <anti-jinx><anti-jinx><anti-jinx>. The only thing I feel torn about is the fact that the job would take me from Ruby, with whom I've felt so bonded since last fall.
 
I think it went really well! Thank you so much for remembering. :) They asked for references today, so as long as those check out... <anti-jinx><anti-jinx><anti-jinx>. The only thing I feel torn about is the fact that the job would take me from Ruby, with whom I've felt so bonded since last fall.
Oooh good vines for that! I’m happy for you!

I feel that struggle. Been working from home since last March (a total blessing) and being back in the office part time is a rough transition. I worry about my girl.
 
Oooh good vines for that! I’m happy for you!

I feel that struggle. Been working from home since last March (a total blessing) and being back in the office part time is a rough transition. I worry about my girl.
Ruby was diagnosed last September and I'd been home since last March as well, working part-time. Thankfully my DBF will be working from home for the foreseeable future and he's great with testing and feeding, but has a hard time seeing the lines on the syringe for dosing. But I'm getting ahead of myself here.
 
Ruby was diagnosed last September and I'd been home since last March as well, working part-time. Thankfully my DBF will be working from home for the foreseeable future and he's great with testing and feeding, but has a hard time seeing the lines on the syringe for dosing. But I'm getting ahead of myself here.
Could you prefill a syringe for him and leave it in the fridge?
 
Depends on the time of day and if she’s having a good nap. She definitely goes for the gravy when I put it out.
If you don't think she'll eat on her own if she's low, I'd test again in an hour to make sure she's going up. I have trust issues with Chloe. :) Your call.
 
Back
Top