6/17 Aurora AMPS 202 +3 94 +5.5 101, +10 112 PMPS 151 +2 152. +3 137

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yeah....
Will check her in 15 for her +3
I'm planning on taking her in for another wellness exam, going to see a different vet at the clinic the owner who I really like. I need to have something on hand other than tresederm for ear infection issues since this seems to be a repeat issue for her every 3-4 months. I'm sure she's gained more weight with all the surfing snacks so I'll be in trouble about that. I'll have to explain about home testing and provide a curve for them.
 
I agree with Bobbie, it's been a little over a week since she last saw green so she may have bounced a little bit.
Hope she comes back down soon.

Good luck with the vet visit.
 
Well Miss Aurora isn't going into the lagoon tonight as I had hoped....strange that her +2 was the same as her PMPS and I am still giving the increased .5 of insulin
Her +3 is slightly lower but now I"m wondering with meter variance if it's been flat for the last 3 hours.
I did book her with the vet on July 3 - now, what is the best way to describe what I"m doing at home as far as following the tight regulation protocol. I"m not sure how to present the differences between the human meter vs. the alpha track so that she can know how to interpret the numbers on the spreadsheet. I wasn't planning on giving her access to the full spreadsheet- was just thinking of cutting/pasting and printing a portion of it out for her. I'm hoping as the apt gets closer that Aurora will have gotten better regulated after being off the ear drops so I can have a nice curve to show her. On the list of things to discuss - re checking Aurora's teeth and determining about a dental cleaning or not. We just did one a year ago so not sure if it's needed yet or not.
Second - curious on her current weight. I"m positive she's gained especially with all the surfing snacks. I was really hoping once she was off the kibble completely that I'd have seen a nice weight drop but apparently not
Need to discuss alternate ear medications that don't have a steroid in them and how I can care for her ears at home to hopefully prevent this every 4 month ear infection
There hasn't been any barfing incidents lately - touch wood.....but I'm curious if she'd give me some anti nausea medication to have on hand incase she does have a barfing episode. I think it only happens for a few days when she's trying to pass a hairball - shes been really good lately.

That's it for this momma bean - headed to bed.
Nite all!
 
Last edited:
I can't I'm back in the office Tuesday home tomorrow but rest of week not till I'm home after work
 
I say hold the dose (per TR guidelines).

INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Re-evaluate at the end of the week or the next time you have a couple days off to monitor.
 
I just got to say Aurora is so, so adorable. I love calicos and torties. Got any more pictures?

Is she very vocal? All torties I have been around have been.
 
Last edited:
Sorry for multiple posts but Aurora just came off the steroid ear drops too. Technically the cycle count resets when there is a medical change (start/stop meds etc.) that can affect the BG.
 
Thanks Lizzie! No Aurora isn't vocal at all she hardly ever meows at all or says anything other than the odd grunt to say hi.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_6230.JPG
    IMG_6230.JPG
    85.3 KB · Views: 56
I don't think she's slept all day! Both girls absolutely love to be with us so as long as someone is home they just follow us from room to room. I'm going out in a couple hours to my inlaws so that will give her a chance to snooze! I absolutely can't believe she was in a shelter for 11 months!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top