6/17 AMPS 330 first dose this AM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christine Rodesiler

Member Since 2022
Good morning, this is my first post on here and I just want to get an idea of dosing on my Boo. He just switched from Vetsulin and was getting anywhere from 3-4u twice a day with BG ranging from 250-330. Hes mainly on Fancy Feast 2x per day with a little dry (cant wean him) Dr Elseys. So my biggest issue with him is over the past week I had to desensitize him with the rice sock. This morning was the first I was able to get his BG without him running away. I feel I can at least get 2 readings per day until he gets used to it.

This morning his BG was 330. Should I give him 1 or 2 u based on his dosage with Vetsulin.

Thank you
Chrissy
 
Hi Chrissy, welcome to LBL forum.

Just wanted to confirm that you are switching from Vetsulin to Lantus? I will tag a couple of others (who are on the West Coat and will not respond right away), but when switching from Vetsulin to Lantus you switch at more or less the same dose.

His Vetsulin dose has varied from 1U to 5U in the last few days and without mid-cycle tests, it's hard to say how low he has gone on them. I would start with 2U. If the other more experienced members suggest a different dose, you can give that at night.

@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Bron and Sheba (GA) - in case you are still up!

Here are some tips that may make testing easier:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-9-bailey-amps-117-5-62.252712/#post-2851043

When you can, it would be a big help to us if you can set-up your signature? It's basically a summary of the information we need about your cat to give you advice. The spreadsheet and signature are the things we look at when asked for advice. It saves us asking you the same questions again and again especially when the question is time critical like stalling or low numbers. It also saves you the effort of giving us the information every time you post!

Here's how you can set-up your Signature:
  • In the Menu, under your user name, click on Signature.
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
  • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
  • There is a limit of two lines. You may separate info with commas, dashes, | etc.
  • Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom.
 
I am still up!
Without seeing any tests taken during the cycles it is hard to say what would be the best dose. And the SS does not seem to be up to date. The last entry is on 5/19
Did the vet ever mention Naboos had any ketones in his urine?
I would get some Ketostix and test the urine for ketones as you are swapping insulins and we are unsure of the best dose.
I think I would give 2 units as well twice a day. But you will need to be getting at least 1 test in during every cycle as Lantus dosing is based on how low the dose is taking the cat. aim for a test somewhere between +3 and +6… vary the times.
You will need to stay with the same dose for at least 5 days to let the depot fill, unless the BG drops under 50 in which case you would reduce the dose to 1.75 units.
I would also recommend you give at least 2 snacks of food during every cycle as well as the preshot meal.
If you get a preshot BG under 200 initially I would stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes and post and ask for help. The preshot BG will be reduced as we get more data,
 
Last edited:
Welcome. I think one of the moderators will move this post to the main/health forum where all new members to the FDMB are asked to post an introduction first. You could copy this and start there or it will be moved. When was Naboo’s diagnosis? What is he eating, wet, dry, raw, or a combination? I too would start with 2.0 not having much data and none over a month ago.
 
Thank you for your help. I updated my signature as you suggested. Ill go to the new member forum and post something there also. In regards to his BG for the spreadsheet you saw...it has been very difficult to get him to stay put when testing, just after my last post I couldn't continue to test due to my family and I getting covid. Now that I resumed, I am back to square one and have been working on him for the past week in desensitizing with the rice sock. I do have a question, are we getting blood from the inside or outside of his ear...Ive been doing in on the inside. That may be my problem.

As far as treats, Ive tried the freeze dry but he won't even look at it. Im going to do the chicken as suggested...he loves that!! Again thank you!!
 
Just wanted to let you know can't see your spreadsheet
You have to
To set spreadsheet sharing permission:
* At the top right of the spreadsheet screen click on Share.

* In the pop-up dialog box click on the Get Link section.

* Change link access from 'Restricted' to 'Anyone with the link' and make sure that the permission on the right hand side is set to 'Viewer'.

* Click Done to save the changes.
 
Thank you for your help. I updated my signature as you suggested. Ill go to the new member forum and post something there also. In regards to his BG for the spreadsheet you saw...it has been very difficult to get him to stay put when testing, just after my last post I couldn't continue to test due to my family and I getting covid. Now that I resumed, I am back to square one and have been working on him for the past week in desensitizing with the rice sock. I do have a question, are we getting blood from the inside or outside of his ear...Ive been doing in on the inside. That may be my problem.

Okay. I understand. We can help you. Max having black fur, I poked from the inside and always drew blood easily. My vet had me use a 25 gauge monoject needle. I switched to terumo ones.
 
I've moved this thread to the Feline Health forum. I also cannot see the spreadsheet. My girl was on Caninsulin (what Vetsulin is called elsewhere) at 5 units and seeing below 200 and we made the mistake of starting back at the beginning. Once we see what sort of mid cycle data you are getting on your current Vetsulin dose, we can help you. I also was having a problem reading the spreadsheet.

With Neko's black ears, I used lancets. A very small smear of Vaseline on them when ready to poke, so the blood would bead up instead of disappearing into the black fur. I also poked on the outside of the ear. I had a small flashlight with a flat top. I'd put that under the ear with a gauze pad (makeup pads are great!) under the ear. It allowed me to see the vein. When done I'd just wrap the gauze around to the top to compress the poke site to prevent bruising. If your cat is struggling, you can always scrape the blood drop onto your fingernail and get the meter to grab the blood from there. Once he gets used to the idea that a treat follows a test, he'll settle down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top