6/16Max PMPS 138+1=158+3.5=+2.25=117+3.5=96+4.5=92+5.5=112

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120316

YESTERDAY'S #S:
AMPS 315
1=335
4.5=254
6=228
7=248
PMPS 249
2=307
4=328

At this point is he still bouncing or not enough juice? Looks like either way I should increase tonight. He did get a little fd at +10.5 because he just wouldn't stop meowing but since he is so high I knew it wouldn't matter.

I simply can not get the air bubbles out of these needles. I was told to push and pull to force them out but I can't do it. I spilled out the insulin and tried a second time this morning. No luck.

Have a great Monday.

Update: Old vial couldn't be found. I'll have to practice with water.

Question about ss. When I want to update a cell, I have to retype everything in it . If I want to add more comments, or food, how to I add to the cell without losing the previous info? Thanks.

When I tested at +5.75 it seemed like perhaps not enough blood so I retested. First time 147 and second 154 so it would have been fine. I didn't want a repeat of the false LO. Max moved the first time so I wasn't sure if of the test.
 
Re: 6/16 Max AMPS 359

Hi Elise

I'd increase the dose when you have the ability to be there for when he clears the bounce because he will probably go lower on you. You'll want to try and catch the bounce clearing as soon as it starts and manage the numbers on the way down to see if you can get him to slide down and not dive.

I'd practice with water or if you have any insulin left from the old vial. It just takes practice. I promise once you get used to them, you'll like them. You just have to be more light handed on the plunger as you are fine tuning the amount of insulin you want in the syringe. The first two times I ordered these syringes, I practiced and was frustrated and sent them to Julie :lol: :lol: then I realized I had to stick with them because the MJs were so inaccurate. Now I wouldn't even consider using any other needle. Terumos are known for their needles being thin walled and very sharp. I don't even prime the syringe to distribute the silicone because they slide so nicely.
 
Re: 6/16 Max AMPS 359

Darn it. I threw out the old insulin. Or maybe it's still in the trash. I'm going to look because I can't remember when. That's a good idea to practice. So how do I keep him from diving? Test every half hour and feed if going down? I know it will be trial and error but what is the maximum point drop I should try to avoid when I start this? So I need to see the bounce cleared before I increase, right? Hopefully I can start this tonight or tomorrow morning as this week is pretty clear, at least right now. I am so frustrated grr_red I tried to explain this to my mom and my sister overheard me. When she heard how many tests I did yesterday she said "Isn't that a bit excessive?" She had a diabetic cat and never tested. Her cat became that way from the bad food though and went into remission twice. However, it peed all over the house so I'm not so sure she was ever regulated. I'm done trying to explain this to anyone else. I feel like bcatrun_gif Okay, vent over!
 
Re: 6/16 Max AMPS 359+3=290+5=193

Well, the bounce has cleared and he dropped significantly, so I decided to give him a little lc food to slow him down. I need to leave at the +6.5 point for a couple of hours so I hope this works for more than one reason.
 
Re: 6/16 Max AMPS 359+3=290+5=193

I'll be watching to see if Max slows down a bit with some LC. Early on with Eddie, some LC did the trick to get him to surf when he was in the greens, but lately, to slow down a big drop early in the cycle it's taking carbs in the 12-15% range. What I'm generally doing is trying to keep Eddie under 50 points per hour - and preferably in the 20-30 points per hour range. Even knowing that the LC doesn't work to slow him down, every time, I find myself reaching for something in the 6-8% range, even when I know by now that it takes more carbs early in the cycle. The LC habit is a tough one to break! :lol:
 
Re: 6/16 Max AMPS 359+3=290+5=193+5.75=147or154

Yea, I know what you mean, Jen. I just fed him another spoonful of lc and I'll test at +6.5. I haven't worked at this yet but I need to figure out how to stop these dives and bounces before I am certifiable. If I can't stop them, I need at least to know the right way to manage them better. Pierson says the carbs vary from batch to batch so to feed anything under 10%. Who knows for sure? I don't have a lot of confidence in the pet food industry but we do the best we can.
 
Re: 6/16 Max AMPS 359+3=290+5=193+5.75=147or154+6.5=139

Since he is still coming down but slowly, I don't know if it's the food or not. I'm leaving so I will leave him some lc food. He isn't acting super hungry so he might be close to nadir.
 
Re: 6/16 Max AMPS 359+3=290+5=193+5.75=147or154+6.5=139

Looks like a nice steady drop for Max! Looks good!!!!

I didn't see if anyone answered your question about having to retype whenever you want to add something to a cell. What you can do is click on the cell you want to type/update in and the hit the F2 key. That should take care of that problem!

Thanks for stopping in Spot's Condo. To answer your question...yep, his poo has been like that for a while now...I am thinking it just may be his food and/or some of the meds I am adding to his food. He gets miralax, Methyl B-12, and L-Lysine in his food at meal times. He just had blood work done when he got his teeth cleaned. All was good.
 
Re: 6/16 Max AMPS 359+3=290+5=193+5.75=147or154+6.5=139

Thanks, Deb. I will try that. I asked about the poo being gray because I just read again that it can be from lack of absorption of nutrients in the food. I'm glad all the labs are good. In that case I wouldn't worry. I used to give Tiffany l-lysine, potassium, and B vitamins in her food and her stool was always brown though. I do notice Max's stool changes color with the different foods he eats.
 
Re: 6/16Max AMPS 359+3=290+5=193+5.75=147or154+6.5=139+10=11

the two things that cause a bounce are if the cat either drops into a range they aren't used to and the liver reacts as though it was a hypo, or if the speed of the drop (think points per hour) is too great. i suspect the speed that sets up a bounce might vary from cat to cat, i've heard people say 50-100 pts per hour is enough to cause a bounce. i *think* fewer than 50 an hour wouldn't set off a bounce in most cats.

i did notice that punkin got unused to green numbers very quickly. I wondered what it meant for a cat to be unaccustomed to greens, and for punkin, it happened quickly. I'd say a day or two up in the 200's was enough for him to react to greens. so it was constantly trying to get him re-accustomed to green numbers.

giving low carb to slow the drop, like you did today, is a great plan. i think you've got the hang of it - you just need Max to get with your plan! ;-) Most of day's hourly drops look like they aren't too fast, but i suppose you'll know if they were or not by whether or not Max bounces again.
 
Re: 6/16Max AMPS 359+3=290+5=193+5.75=147or154+6.5=139+10=11

Hi Julie. He didn't eat the food I left when I took off at the 6.5 mark and he is surfing blue. I thought maybe the drop from 359 to 139 might cause a bounce but perhaps if he remained in blue rather than going all the way to green it might help. So the question now is do I increase or wait?
 
Re: 6/16Max AMPS 359+3=290+5=193+5.75=147or154+6.5=139+10=11

RECAP OF TODAY:
AMPS 359
+3=290
+5=153
+5.75=147 OR 154
+6=139
+10=114
The reason for this recap is to free space in the subject line for my question. It was suggested on 6/13 that I increase when I could to see if we can flatten out Max's cycles. I'm wondering if I should do this tonight?? If I do, should I test starting at +1 and then every 1/2 hour when he starts to slide and feed him small amounts and if so what % carbs?

Thanks.
 
Re: 6/16Max AMPS 359 +6.5=139+10=114 DOSECREASE TONIGHT??

do you think the YA dry is increasing his BGs? I'm looking at the rise up to the amps of 6/15 and how he stayed in yellow all day 6/15. he'd been clearing bounces in a day and that was a little change from what he was doing.

to me, the 54 on the night of 6/15 would suggest holding the dose. information changes as you get more data, so i can see why it might have been suggested on the 13th. with this more recent data from that night, i'd hold the dose, but it's up to you.
 
Re: 6/16Max AMPS 359 +6.5=139+10=114 DOSECREASE TONIGHT??

I don't think it's the YA as he hasn't gotten more than 15 tiny pieces in a day. It's supposed to be 0 carbs. They have another one that is 5%. I'm at a loss. Did you read what Marje wrote to me on 6/13? I'll hold and see what happens tonight and ask again tomorrow if he doesn't bounce or go low tonight. I am not at all qualified to make these kinds of decisions. Thankfully you are Julie. Thanks for being there. I sometimes lose perspective.
 
Re: 6/16Max AMPS 359 +10=114 PMPS 134

Marje knows more than i do . . . i would defer to her. hehe or arm wrestle her over it! :lol: I found her quote from 6/13, and what she's saying is assuming that Max is having nadirs in the high 60's. After she said that, Max got down to 54 on the same dose. I suspect that would change her advice, as more data often does. You could pm her and ask what she thinks about it now, though. It is true that getting a little more insulin in can sometimes take the tops off of a cat's high numbers.

Marje and Gracie said:
:lol: :lol: :lol: Your link to yesterday's condo goes to a condo for a kitty named "Taz". No worries...I've done the same thing myself before. Here is the link to Max's 6/12 Condo.

I'm glad you waited until the morning cycle of 6/12 to see if he would clear the bounce before deciding on whether to increase. I thought there might be some potential that the 428 on 6/11 was the high before the break. I went back and read the condo for later on 6/11 (sorry..I had a long work day and conked out early). You had a valid question in asking why I thought the 428 on p.m. 6/11 was th high before the break instead of the 484 on 6/10. It looked to me like he was just really winding up for the bounce on 6/10. He sort tried to clear but then went back up at night on 6/11....pretty high (maybe because of the big dive the previous night, too...who knows). Because he had tried to clear to blue on the a.m. cycle of 6/11 but then went way back up, I just had a crystal ball moment that the 428 might be a high before the break. I wish I could give you a scientific answer :lol: :lol:

Because you test ALOT and you can manage lower numbers, I almost wonder (please note this advice is only for Elise and Max and does not apply to any other cats), if you just put a tiny bit of fat on the dose (even with his nadirs in the high 60s) and caught the drops to flatten him out before he gets low, if you could minimize the bounce. It really takes staying on top of the numbers for a few cycles until you get them flatter and you might have to feed a little extra higher carb (maybe not HC).

As an example, look at Gracie's SS on 5/29. I had decreased her dose from .5u to 0.45u on 5/27 because she was getting into the 40s and staying there. I decided it was a failed reduction and took her back up to .5u on 5/29. She started diving/bouncing and was getting into the 40s. I knew if I took her down again, she'd stall. So I left the dose as it was and on the night of 5/31, I was more aggressive at catching and stopping the drop. It kept her a little higher but it flattened her out and her bounces, while they haven't stopped, have been more in blue. It's aggressive and I would not suggest this to anyone else unless they had a ton of experience with low numbers, feeding, etc. I'm suggesting it for you because I do think he was getting a little more insulin with the Monojects and he had stopped bouncing. I think you could try it with Max and see if it works. However, having said that, I also think if you want to leave him where he is and see if he will just stop bouncing, you could. Either way might work or not and just leaving him where he is would be less aggressive and would not require you to work at it.

Or, wait a few cycles and see how he does and then decide.
 
Re: 6/16Max AMPS 359 +10=114 PMPS 134

btw, i confess that i am very suspicious of the YA dry food. i'm skeptical of their zero carb claim, although i suppose someone had to prove it and it was tested. i have a hard time imagining it as being good for a cat, but i have no evidence, just a bias against it. :lol:

personally, i'd do without it. i thoroughly absorbed the message that dry food is evil for cats. ;-) :lol:
 
Re: 6/16Max AMPS 359 +10=114 PMPS 134

Elise

Well I am frustrated because I wrote you a long post this morning after the initial one I did and I'm not seeing it. I was having board problems this morning but I was sure it went through. Guess I should have looked back on your condo to make sure. I'll try to remember what I said.

So I need to see the bounce cleared before I increase, right?
I guess I wasn't very clear and I'm sorry. For someone who is experienced as you are, tests a lot, and can manage low numbers, you don't have to wait for the bounce to clear to increase the dose. What I didn't do a good job of saying was that if you increase the dose before the bounce clears, you'll need to really watch him closely because bounce clearing cycles can get quite active + you would then have extra insulin on board. I've had this happen and it's nothing you can't handle but you should just be aware bounce clearing + dose increase cycles can run low.

So how do I keep him from diving?
This is the challenging part. Especially because patterns can change the longer they are on a dose. But I'd start with looking very closely at his SS. Look for patterns on when he clears bounces. Is it overnight? Is it every third cycle? Is there a clue that he's going to clear such as a high before a break? If you can spot any of these patterns, then the next time you think he's going to clear a bounce, test a little more.

Test every half hour and feed if going down? I know it will be trial and error but what is the maximum point drop I should try to avoid when I start this?
Again, a challenge. No one wants to test every half hour if he's in the 300s or high 200s but for our champion divers, some of them can drop 100 mg/dL an hour when clearing a bounce. And I also think it is an ECID thing for what kind of drop causes a cat to bounce. For example, if I test Gracie at AMPS and then at +2 and she's come down more than meter variance, I know she's going to have an active cycle. So then I might test at +3 to see how much she's coming down. Let's say she came down 60 mg/dL in those two hours. If I test at +3, then I know how fast she "might" have been coming down. Maybe it was 60 in one hour. If she's 150 or below and coming down 30-35 mg/dL an hour, I up the carbs to a higher low carb food because that's fast enough to trigger a bounce in her. If she's coming down faster, I'll feed something a little more substantial even at the risk of keeping her higher. A good example is yesterday morning. She was at 172 at AMPS and 107 at +2. I gave her a good portion of 10% (trader joe's) because that's actually my big gun for her. It brought her up to 117 which was ok because then she was ready to onset at a higher number and when she did, she came down more slowly.

Unfortunately, the biggest challenge is learning what works for Max. It took us a long time to figure it out for Gracie and find the right food. And then after a year, that food started making her vomit. So we went through a difficult early spring trying out a lot of different foods until I found the TJ's food.

:lol: :lol: :lol: I just read Julie's post about arm-wrasslin'. So on the dose......as I said the other day, you have to decide how aggressive you want to be. Raising the dose with a nadir in the 50s is very aggressive. So it has to boil down to how aggressive you want to be. You have the experience but I want you to make the decision because you are doing this alone. I don't want you to have a cycle where he's clearing the bounce and he's got extra insulin and you are fighting him all day long just because I suggested you raise the dose. It's absolutely fine to leave the dose and let the numbers come to you. You have to be the one to decide. I do tend to be more aggressive with Gracie because Mike is here 1/2 the time and he's an enormous help. There are two of us to manage any low numbers and two of us to discuss the best feeding strategy. So think about it, look at his SS, and decide what you think is best and you can handle.

FWIW, I agree 150% with Julie on the YA. I do not believe any dry food is zero carbs. And you have no idea if that is the as-fed or DMB. I liken it to labeling of trans fats. Any food with less than 0.5g of trans fat can say it has 0. But it doesn't. If I had an anorexic cat and all it would eat was dry food, I'd go for the YA because it's probably lower in carbs than any other. If you can be a bit patient, I might try getting rid of the YA in his diet first before I fatten the dose. See if that is the problem. (Of course, if you've been feeding it all along, it probably isn't).

Does all that make sense?
 
Re: 6/16Max AMPS 359 +10=114 PMPS 138 +1=158

Thank you so much for taking the time to write all that out twice!! It's a lot to think about. I can't believe you even thought to check on us while having a day out with Mike. I feel so honored!! This would be a good week to try this out as things appear stable on the mom front. Of course that can change at any moment. I hope yours is doing better!!

Tonight's assignment is to learn how to get bubbles out of the terumos!! :roll: I will conquer this one too!!

Looks like we might have an active cycle tonight with a 20 point rise after eating. I just fed him again and will check again in an hour. I'm not sure when he had his nadir today so this could get interesting. I won't order the YA. I just had a couple of small bags with samples. He isn't even that in love with it. I've used it as treats but he likes the fd and S&C just as much.

It's 8:15 so I guess I better eat dinner.
 
Re: 6/16Max AMPS 359 +10=114 PMPS 138 +1=158

You're welcome! I felt so bad it didn't post this morning.

I had another idea and you can decide which you prefer. The concept is the same but instead of raising the dose, you leave the dose where it is, but then still catch the dive and bring the nadir up so you flatten the overall curve but it flattens at a higher number. Once you get it flat, then you raise the dose.

So if he nadirs at 60, your goal would be to feed a little higher LC food to bring the nadir up higher....maybe 100. Once you get him flatter at a higher level....for example 100-150'...then you could add more insulin.

We've done this for some kitties that are on the verge of going into remission. They still need some insulin support but a small dose cause them to tank. So if we have them feed a little higher LC food, it allows them to then get the little bit of insulin in them. That allows the pancreas to have a little more healing time.
 
Re: 6/16Max AMPS 359 +10=114 PMPS 138 +1=158

Hi Marje.

That is kind of what I was trying to do today. My thinking was if he stayed in blue for longer maybe then he would get used to it and then go to green. I just fed him a little trader joe's just now since he was dropping at +2.25. It is considered mc, right? I read your post after when I went to post his BG. I was reading Pierson's site again the other day when I was looking for the carb % for tj and noted that she says not to get caught up on the carb % as to whether it is 3 or 9% as different batches of food are different so to just feed under 10%. So I guess medium would be what 10-15% ?
 
Re: 6/16Max AMPS 359 +10=114 PMPS 138 +1=158

I understand what she's saying and it makes sense but I have seen consistent differences in the different % carb foods. I have never been able to get Gracie to slow down by giving her 4% WN no matter how much unless it is really late in the cycle. What I have discovered is that it depends what is in the food. The 10% Trader Joes food works much better for Gracie than an 18% Merrick food I tried. The 10% is on the border of LC/MC. I've seen some sources that list 0-10% as LC and 11-15% as MC and some get list 0-9% as LC and 10-15% as MC.

So what you are doing is one way to approach it that might be less aggressive but get you where you want to be. But...as all things with FD...it takes time, trial, and patience. :-D
 
Re: 6/16Max AMPS 359 +10=114 PMPS 138 +1=158+2.25=117

It's what I tried today when I didn't know if it would be okay to raise his dose. I still might decide to raise the dose. I just don't know. Would raising it have the potential to work faster? My old license plate was NDCISIV and that's how I feel now. It's so crazy to me that he acts the same if he tests 32 or 484. I wish there was a way to know how he feels. If I raise him, would I go to where he last was which is just .18mm more or a full .25?
 
Re: 6/16Max PMPS 138+1=158+3.5=+2.25=117+3.5=96+4.5=92+5.5=

Well I probably shouldn't have given him the 10% so soon. He may still be having a food bump now though. Let's see if there is a bounce from this and I will sleep on what to do with his dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top