6/16 Xena AMPS 519, +5 457, +6 457, +7.5 462

Suzanne & Xena

Member Since 2019
Hi, Xena has been on .75 u 2x day for 4.5 days. She was on .9 in the AM and .75 in the PM for 3 days before that (she eats less in the evening). I switched to .75 twice a day to make sure I don't shoot past her ideal insulin level. I will be working on creating a spreadsheet soon. Do you think her numbers sufficient to increase her dose to 1 unit now? Thanks!

.9 in AM and .75 in PM:
6/10
AMPS 721, +7 453; PMPS 586
6/11
AMPS 461; PMPS 658, +3.5 481
6/12
AMPS 449; PMPS 690

.75 2 x/day:
6/13
AMPS 460; PMPS 337, +7 419
6/14
AMPS 443; PMPS 304, +4 212, +6 251
6/15
AMPS 376, +5 255, +6 241, +7 289; PMPS 434, +2 353, +6 310
6/16
AMPS 519, +5 457, +6 452, +7.5 462
 
With SLGS we hold the dose for a week, which I guess you kind of did.

With those numbers still that high, I would be tempted to go to 1u. First though, can you clarify something.

In your previous thread you indicated she was diagnosed October 2018...was she on insulin since then or did you try diet control first? I see she is on Orijen dry which is not low carb, so I am thinking you had her on another insulin??
 
Xena has been on Lantus since October 2018. I just haven't been keeping her at the same dose long enough before increasing and have likely gone past her ideal dose multiple times.
 
I think you are safe to go to 1u. If you change her diet to a low carb one, you will need to be careful. When doing a diet change I would hold the dose while the change is occurring to be safe.
 
Thank you. I will be ordering some of the low carb dry food to see if Xena will eat it. Holding the dose while starting the new food sounds like a good idea.
 
I missed the chance yesterday to welcome you! Welcome Suzanne and Xena!!

Good luck with your increase tomorrow :)
 
Back
Top