6/16 Taz, AMPS-200, +2-268, +5-226 (increased dose)

Good luck with the increase. At some point it will get scary but you can keep him safe by feeding and testing. There’s always someone around to help guide you. Just remember greens become contagious.
His insulin bottle is about 2/3 gone, and I'll have to contact his vet soon to get more. His vet isn't going to like me increasing/decreasing him on my own, because he won't understand either of these methods. I'm scared of getting the third degree, but I'll be sure to have his numbers (and this forum) handy to show him. If we would have stayed with the initial 1 unit twice a day, I'd either be spending a fortune with numerous vet visits to reevaluate the best dose, or Taz would be extremely high because I wouldn't know better.
 
His second day of yellows. I'm actually getting worried that something else might be wrong with him. I'm not seeing any patterns to his numbers. I feel like the insulin increases aren't helping.
 
Last edited:
Give it time. It’s because you were following SLGS and testing reductions at 90. He’s comfortable in yellow and blue. You need to find the magic breakthrough dose. Patience pants required. Look at some spreadsheets of other cats.
 
Give it time. It’s because you were following SLGS and testing reductions at 90. He’s comfortable in yellow and blue. You need to find the magic breakthrough dose. Patience pants required. Look at some spreadsheets of other cats.
I really do appreciate your help and encouragement. He was diagnosed 6 months ago, so I think he's now considered a long term diabetic? I keep hearing about a breakthrough dose. What is it? I assumed it was just a dose where he earns a reduction?
 
Nope. A long term diabetic is one year past diagnosis.

A breakthrough dose is when they become regulated. Once that happens many cats start to go down the dosing scale and settle in on a lower dose or become diet controlled.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top