6/16 Pumbaa AMPS/490 +4.5/391 +10/371 PMPS/431

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
The only good thing I can say about dives and the ensuing bounces is that at least during the bounces I can get some sleep to make up for the sleep I lost during the dives. *LOL*

I still can't believe that Pumbaa went down to 38 last night, and had no signs of going hyper. And I was pleased that he ate like a pig last night -- hopefully his body was telling him he needed more food to counteract too much insulin. This is the first time I had to resort to honey to get his numbers up quickly, instead of waiting for the extra food to kick in.

And I want to thank EVERYONE who kept me company online during this ordeal. It was a huge comfort to know that others were there for me, offering support and keeping me distracted in between testing times. Thank you, thank you, thank you! (((HUGS)))

I'm glad that I did a BCS (Big Chicken Shot) of 1.5U last night, instead of his normal fat 2.0U, even though I was watching him closely. If he went down to 38 with the BCS, I wonder what he would have done with the full dose?

Pumbaa continues to show what a smart little boy he is. Unfortunately! He's got our routines down pat, and goes into hiding when he knows it's testing or injection time, based on my routines. Little bugger! So I've had to change my routines to outsmart him! I can't heat the rice sock in the microwave until I have him in my arms, because he knows that the when the microwave runs for 15 seconds, he's going to get poked. And, he knows that during feeding time, he gets his food first, on the counter (he had less wiggle room there and it was easier to shoot him when he had less wiggle room), then I mix up Larry's food and bring it to him on the feeding table. Pumbaa now tries to run away after I deliver Larry's food! So far I've been able to get him back into position on the counter by sprinkling parmesan on his food after I catch him and bring him back, but one of these days the parmesan trick isn't going to work anymore. I must think more about Pavlov and conditioned responses, and figure out how to keep outsmarting one smart little kitty! *LOL*

Quiet day today, thankfully.

Suze
 
Eeps!
I fell asleep watching TV last night and missed that dive Pumbaa took last night!
Hang in!

Maybe his pancreas is finally getting the message.
 
Glad you've some green last night Pumbba! You're a smart kid! Trying to out smart your mumbean?! :lol: Finish your food & run? :lol: :lol:
Suze, I did not use rice socks to warm Rosy's ear before poking. I used a bit of hot water inside an empty pill bottle. Works nicely. This avoid using the microwave if Pumbba is sensitive to your schedule.
I am thinking on how you can give him the jabs while avoiding any fur shots. Is it possible to set up a bedding thing for his feeding, using an empty cardboard box without the top. Place his meal inside this box bedding, so that he is sort of isolated & confined inside. Makes it difficult for him to get away & other civvie to distract him. Or using those plastic cat carrier while take away the top can also do.
 
tortie58 said:
Glad you've some green last night Pumbba! You're a smart kid! Trying to out smart your mumbean?! :lol: Finish your food & run? :lol: :lol:
Suze, I did not use rice socks to warm Rosy's ear before poking. I used a bit of hot water inside an empty pill bottle. Works nicely. This avoid using the microwave if Pumbba is sensitive to your schedule.
I am thinking on how you can give him the jabs while avoiding any fur shots. Is it possible to set up a bedding thing for his feeding, using an empty cardboard box without the top. Place his meal inside this box bedding, so that he is sort of isolated & confined inside. Makes it difficult for him to get away & other civvie to distract him. Or using those plastic cat carrier while take away the top can also do.


Helen:

I might have to switch to hot water in a pill bottle instead of the rice sock, just to throw Pumbaa off!

I'm not overly worried about the injections, yet, and haven't given a fur shot in ages, thankfully! I just need to change my routine, as my routine warns Pumbaa about upcoming events. Testing/injections/etc. In the morning, I think I might feed Larry first, and then feed Pumbaa and inject him. That will throw him off! *LOL*

Thank you for your suggestions, though! (((HUGS)))

Suze
 
Once all of my sugarcat's ears learned to bleed I stopped heating the rice sock and went to just using it to back the ear. That way no warning beep..lol. Now with Autumn I don't even bother with the rice sock at all, just fold a paper towel and go for it.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Pumbaa! Would you and KT STOP this please? Neither of you look good in Pink nor Red especially when it contains green too! Dis bouncin' and divin' business needs to settle down....naughty boys....I know it makes your body feel bad.

KT's wise to the short microwave burst too but I'm SO lucky - that's his cue to head to his testing spot! Hopefully the warm pill bottle will work better.

Sleep for me too please Serryn. BIG HUG!
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
...Why the fat 1.75? Is that more like a skinny 2.0?...

Because of how reactive Pumbaa can be, small changes may be better and cause (slightly) less erratic glucose levels. He got some lovely greens, then hit a 38! May be closing in on the optimal dose for him, if he were to stay stable. "May" being the operative term, since Pumbaa apparently hasn't read the manual "How to be a Diabetic Cat"!!!
 
I wonder if they have to be *FAT* because of the big air bubble in the relion syringes?

Actually it's very easy to get the bubbles out of Lantus. Just hold it sideways and stretch the dose down the wall of the syringe until the bubbles snap into the open. You may be down to the 25U mark before that happens but it's clean and effecient. I was thimping the bubbles out but decided I didn't want to *shock* the dose of Lantus.

Pumbaa is having a bad weekend, and I don't know what is going on with Chip. Bouncing hard but surfing yellow every cycle? :?
 
We're all having a rough weekend! Has anyone else noticed that his/her cat is happier when his numbers are higher? Max seems lethargic and quiet when his numbers are lower - mid 200s, and when he is high -- 300, 400 or even 500s, he seems more active. The Hubs agrees that I'm not imagining it. Very strange.
 
Chip lacks energy when his numbers are falling into blue. I can spot it a mile away.

He's energetic and happy in yellow and low pink.

Sitting red and black he won't eat and acts like he's been run over by a truck. High is worse but he's a little droopy low when he's not ravenously hungry.
 
BJM said:
Eeps!
I fell asleep watching TV last night and missed that dive Pumbaa took last night!
Hang in!

Maybe his pancreas is finally getting the message.

BJ, you spend so much of your time being here with all of us, and giving us helpful input, you truly deserved that night of sleep in front of the TV!

You didn't miss anything you haven't seen many times before. *LOL* It was a first for me, but due to all that I have read here, I was pretty calm. And due to the people who were keeping me company online during this dive, I was even calmer.

Thank God for the FDMB!

Now, tell me about Pumbaa's pancreas getting the message. I posted with questions about dives and bounces and the pancreas, and last time I checked, no one had responded.

How do we know when the pancreas is in healing mode, and is showing signs of working again?

(((HUGS))) to you for all of your help!

Suze
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Once all of my sugarcat's ears learned to bleed I stopped heating the rice sock and went to just using it to back the ear. That way no warning beep..lol. Now with Autumn I don't even bother with the rice sock at all, just fold a paper towel and go for it.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


Thank you, Mel!

Several times today I tried testing Pumbaa without the rice sock, which we had kind of made a ritual of as I also rubbed it along his neck as well as his ear. I will keep working at not using the rice sock, so there is no warning in advance for a poke to come. :)

Suze
 
Squeaky and KT said:
Pumbaa! Would you and KT STOP this please? Neither of you look good in Pink nor Red especially when it contains green too! Dis bouncin' and divin' business needs to settle down....naughty boys....I know it makes your body feel bad.

KT's wise to the short microwave burst too but I'm SO lucky - that's his cue to head to his testing spot! Hopefully the warm pill bottle will work better.

Sleep for me too please Serryn. BIG HUG!


Pumbaa had a black PMPS tonight! They have got to stop this bouncing and diving, or we humans are going to go insane!

KT and Pumbaa are too smart about routines that have been established. It's pathetic when we have to outsmart cats! *LOL*

Suze
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
Why the fat 1.75? Is that more like a skinny 2.0? :razz:

(Chip and Pumbaa are fast approaching the same dose)


Good question, since they are the same to me! Especially since I am still using the Relion unreliable syringes, and every time I have to fill a syringe I have to figure out where the plunger sits compared to the zero line.

I don't know that I would ever be able to do micro dosing. I so admire those who are!

Suze
 
max&emmasmommie said:
We're all having a rough weekend! Has anyone else noticed that his/her cat is happier when his numbers are higher? Max seems lethargic and quiet when his numbers are lower - mid 200s, and when he is high -- 300, 400 or even 500s, he seems more active. The Hubs agrees that I'm not imagining it. Very strange.

I notice the opposite with Pumbaa. He is more lethargic when his numbers are higher due to a bounce. When his numbers are in yellow, blue and green, he's the wild man, juvenile delinquent I have loved for 8 years now. When he was down near 38 a few nights ago, he was tormenting the civie cat trying to get him to play/fight/move!

When do you notice this with Max? Is it always at night? I asked previously why Pumbaa normally has lower numbers at night, and it was explained that cats are nocturnal creatures, and are geared to do their hunting/feeding/activity at night.

Suze
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
Chip lacks energy when his numbers are falling into blue. I can spot it a mile away.

He's energetic and happy in yellow and low pink.

Sitting red and black he won't eat and acts like he's been run over by a truck. High is worse but he's a little droopy low when he's not ravenously hungry.

Great watching how Chip responds to his BG readings!

Like I posted to MammaDale, Pumbaa reacts so much better when his numbers are lower. It's interesting that, once again, ECID!

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top