Patricia & Noodle
Member Since 2015
Last Condo
Thanks to @Sienne and Gabby (GA) and @Wendy&Neko for your thoughts on the BD syringes on my last condo. I ended up working with what I have and not trying to find a replacement. I figured out a way to measure lower doses better with the calipers.
Work has continued to be absolutely insane the past few weeks. Noodle has dipped into the 40s a couple times, I lowered her dose with her 33 on 6/14 around AM +6. I was thinking that was very likely influenced by my inconsistency with her PS times the previous days. I reduced because she hit 33, but did wonder if I'd eventually work back up since she may not have truly "earned" the decrease. Today at PMPS she threw me with a 41 (after another 12 hour day for me at my laptop
) and I'm stumped. I skipped to drain her depot and gave her a drop of Karo with her meal because, of course, I am low on strips and ADW is late with my shipment that was due a week ago. I did not time my autoship schedule for my increased testing. 
Sidenote: I still use the Arkay Glucocard strips in the discontinued Relion Micro, but am now rethinking that strongly after the past couple days. I know the new Relion meters are a larger sample size, but it might be worth being able to get them at a 24/7 store. I plan to check out the archives from when Walmart discontinued the old meters, but if anyone has thoughts handy I'm all ears.
My main questions, though, are about what my next steps should be:
- Should I decrease further right away? We are nearing drop territory, for what it's worth. Her current dose is below the 0 line on (most of) the BD Ultrafines we use.
- I think there are ways I could adjust her meal cycle to help, too. She currently gets 1oz at PS, +2-3, and +6-7 (we use the 2 bowl autofeeder for those and it's just a dial timer). I could divide that into 4 meals and add a later cycle meal, I was thinking +9?
- Spreadsheet-wise, it looks like I need more data in the +4-8 range (and just, more data...).
- Plus, this is all assuming I am following TR, is SLGS more appropriate at this point and with insulin doses this low? She'd have decreased to no dose at this point on the main SLGS rules based on her lows and that doesn't seem appropriate given the regular yellows she gets.
She, of course, is happy as a clam--unless I go out on the porch where she is *not* allowed after trying to make a break for it through the railing... We aren't telling her that the dog lived her dream and got a mouthful of bird feathers the other day when he chased one! This, from the little dog who acts like he can't even jump on the couch without a boost. I swore the bird would fly away when he went to pounce, but it must have been the world's slowest bird. At least the only things I had to pull from his mouth were feathers.

Thanks to @Sienne and Gabby (GA) and @Wendy&Neko for your thoughts on the BD syringes on my last condo. I ended up working with what I have and not trying to find a replacement. I figured out a way to measure lower doses better with the calipers.
Work has continued to be absolutely insane the past few weeks. Noodle has dipped into the 40s a couple times, I lowered her dose with her 33 on 6/14 around AM +6. I was thinking that was very likely influenced by my inconsistency with her PS times the previous days. I reduced because she hit 33, but did wonder if I'd eventually work back up since she may not have truly "earned" the decrease. Today at PMPS she threw me with a 41 (after another 12 hour day for me at my laptop
) and I'm stumped. I skipped to drain her depot and gave her a drop of Karo with her meal because, of course, I am low on strips and ADW is late with my shipment that was due a week ago. I did not time my autoship schedule for my increased testing. 
Sidenote: I still use the Arkay Glucocard strips in the discontinued Relion Micro, but am now rethinking that strongly after the past couple days. I know the new Relion meters are a larger sample size, but it might be worth being able to get them at a 24/7 store. I plan to check out the archives from when Walmart discontinued the old meters, but if anyone has thoughts handy I'm all ears.
My main questions, though, are about what my next steps should be:
- Should I decrease further right away? We are nearing drop territory, for what it's worth. Her current dose is below the 0 line on (most of) the BD Ultrafines we use.
- I think there are ways I could adjust her meal cycle to help, too. She currently gets 1oz at PS, +2-3, and +6-7 (we use the 2 bowl autofeeder for those and it's just a dial timer). I could divide that into 4 meals and add a later cycle meal, I was thinking +9?
- Spreadsheet-wise, it looks like I need more data in the +4-8 range (and just, more data...).
- Plus, this is all assuming I am following TR, is SLGS more appropriate at this point and with insulin doses this low? She'd have decreased to no dose at this point on the main SLGS rules based on her lows and that doesn't seem appropriate given the regular yellows she gets.
She, of course, is happy as a clam--unless I go out on the porch where she is *not* allowed after trying to make a break for it through the railing... We aren't telling her that the dog lived her dream and got a mouthful of bird feathers the other day when he chased one! This, from the little dog who acts like he can't even jump on the couch without a boost. I swore the bird would fly away when he went to pounce, but it must have been the world's slowest bird. At least the only things I had to pull from his mouth were feathers.
