6/16 Meadow's AMPS 290...+6 at 46! Worried mom here...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meadow

Member Since 2010
Meadow's BG was 46.....and this was after hubby gave her a small amount of EVO dry around 9am and some cooked chicken at noon. I'm a bit worried and have to go back to work now, so I just fed her some higher carb dry food. 46 is just too low for my comfort. I bet she rebounds now for sure. :(
 
Re: 6/16 Meadow's AMPS 290

good morning! I hope you and meadow have a great day today, and that meadow shows off some pretty blue and green numbers for you!
 
Well Dottie, this pretty much earns her a dosecrease. Congrats! Tonight shoot 1U. (also getting confirmation for you :mrgreen: ) Yes you want to feed the forties. I am not sure when you posted this. But you want to feed some LC or MC (just a couple teaspoons as not to get too full is case you have to keep that up for awhile.) and retest in 15 minutes. Are you able to do this?

Next time make sure you just add a new comment to your condo that way it will get bumped to the top. When you edit an existing comment it does not bump it. ;-)
 
Another note - dry food is not the best (it takes longer at bringing up the BG's that HC wet or karo)

For lows in the 30-40's you can use the gravy from some MC or HC food poured over some LC. ECID---some cats respond well to LC food and get their BG's raised with just that. However some always need MC or HC to come up from the low 30-40's.
 
Did I read the word dry food?
The problem with dry is that the carb effect takes a while to happen...,. action is unpredictable. Please go out and purchase of few cans of medium or high carb cans. With those cans on hand and strip, you and DH will be super-heros! You will be able to face just about everything!!!!

46 is not really a worrisome number, however surfing the 50s is better. A touch more comfortable for the bean. Remember that older diabetic need to go below 40 to get a dosecrease and ... their cats are doing just fine.

Well done and congrats on the dosecrease.
If you can post your +11, someone may be able to guide you on whether you shoot thru the rebound (gotta be pink for comfort) or the new and improved dose.
 
Hi Dottie, I second all the advice given you. 46 at or around nadir is probably OK for Meadow, but you should give her some MC to bring her back to the 50s or 60s. I am very familiar with these sorts of worries(!!!) Just keep testing and if she goes lower, feed. Congrats on the dose reduction!

Ella
 
Hopefully I am doing this right to get it back to the top of the condo listings. So, here are the numbers so far..she did come back up and I think she is rebounding, yes?
6am 290
+6 = 46 (she was given some food to bring # up)
+7 = 76
+10 = 240
+11 = 351

Shoot through at 1 unit in an hour after she eats dinner or stay with the 1.25?
 
Yes you got it bumped. Can you edit you very first subject line to say. Something like "dose advice". Even if you shoot the reduced dose tonight she will have her shed that will still add some oomph so I would go ahead and shoot the reduction. But see what others say. And yes she is rebounding.
 
Re: 6/16 Meadow's AMPS 290...+6 at 46! Dose advice needed!

Since it is slightly past her dose time, I am going with 1 unit tonight and see how her numbers are tomorrow. Thanks Paige, and everyone else who replied. Still trying to get the hang of these message boards too besides the insulin stuff.


Yesterday's condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17337
 
Sorry... delayed from the gym....

What was the +12 (PMPS)... or did you post and I missed it?
You shot the dosecrease tonight, it's ok. When kitties are in rebound, it's good to shoot thru the rebound, but it's not mandatory. You will get a touch of shed action to counteract the rbc....
Hopefully RBC is short.
 
+12 (PMPS) was 351. Now at +2 it's 310.

Helene & Tizon said:
Sorry... delayed from the gym....

What was the +12 (PMPS)... or did you post and I missed it?
You shot the dosecrease tonight, it's ok. When kitties are in rebound, it's good to shoot thru the rebound, but it's not mandatory. You will get a touch of shed action to counteract the rbc....
Hopefully RBC is short.
 
I know dry food isn't a great choice, but I opened 4 different cans of higher carb food and she wouldn't touch any of it. But she loves that EVO and that's all she would eat at that point and I was worried about her number falling even more. I should have grabbed the Karo, but figured it wasn't a crisis number and why stress her out trying to get that stuff in her mouth when she would eat on her own. Looks like she is slowly coming down now. If I didnt have to drive tomorrow morning, I would stay up and test her through the night. I'll get another reading at +5 when I got to bed at 11pm.


paige said:
Another note - dry food is not the best (it takes longer at bringing up the BG's that HC wet or karo)

For lows in the 30-40's you can use the gravy from some MC or HC food poured over some LC. ECID---some cats respond well to LC food and get their BG's raised with just that. However some always need MC or HC to come up from the low 30-40's.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top