6.16 Magnolia AMPS 109 (we're back!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara & Magnolia

Member Since 2009
Our Last Post

Oh FDMB, how we've missed you! I've been away for 2 months, with my only internet access my phone, and it doesn't play well with the site. It was quite difficult to stop posting and checking in every day...something I was so used to doing!

Magnolia is doing GREAT. Her insulin is down to .25, and our .25 turns out to be 1 drop. She is a happy, furry kitty with perfect P's. She had some behavioral problems while I was away, some biting, swiping, howling and general grumpiness, but since I got home last night, she has been lovely, crazy affectionate and constantly by my side. While I was away, DH took care of her and he did a great job with everything. He slacked off with her spot checks in the past month, she isn't as tolerant with him as she is with me, but I plan to get a few now that I am back.

I think that an OTJ trial is in our very near future and I'm so nervous about it! I didn't want DH try it while I was gone, she likes DH and all, but she's mine and she gets so upset when I'm not here. I plan to do a curve in the next couple of days and hope to start OTJ sometime in the next week. DH had a much trickier schedule than I used to, so her shot times got moved around a bit (never more than 30 minutes) but I want to get her back to the precise schedule we had before and go from there.

I'm off to try to catch up on some condos!
 
Welcome back. You were missed!!

I guess we know who's a momma's girl!!

Do get those spot checks 'cause I tend to think you're correct about what the future holds. I'm not sure if you were reducing based on this piece from the protocol:

Tilly Protocol said:
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose.

Either way, Magnolia's numbers are looking great. It sounds like she's very glad to have you back home.
 
Welcome back!

wow! great SS!
Great idea to get back on track and fill in some blanks - like to see how low she goes, safely thou :mrgreen: , but hey those preshots look awesome!!
 
Welcome back! Wow, look at Magnolia go. :mrgreen:

Just to confirm, you can't get a smaller dose than your 0.25? A few spot checks today would be great.
 
Thank you all! It's so good to be back.

Sienne: I think we have been reducing based on that part of the protocol, but even though her PS #'s have been mostly green on .25, I didn't feel comfortable going OTJ while I was away, not without more spot checks and DH just couldn't get them.

Ronnie: Always safely. You all taught me very well. :-D

Libby: You are correct, this is the smallest dose I can get. It's 1 drop out of the syringe. Unless I do a half a drop! We'll have a few spots today for sure. A curve on...Friday maybe...once I have that precise schedule back. We had to change her shot time to 12, and while that isn't the most convenient for me, I'm going to stick with it anyway!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top