6/16 Lucky AMPS 261 PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luckyducky

Member Since 2012
Hi again everyone, I hope you're all doing well. I'm checking in again with Lucky's numbers (here's his spreadsheet for reference) and looking for a little guidance regarding his dose because of some weird happenings with his numbers the past couple of days. Here are today's numbers:

AMPS 261
+2 311
+7 235
PMPS 294

Strangely enough, I had to delay 2 of Lucky's PM shots (last night and two days prior) because his pre-shot numbers were below 150. On both occasions I checked every hour until the number finally got above 150 and then gave him his shot, such that his shot schedule is now scooted over 4 hours later than usual (it used to be 6:00 AM/PM, now it's 10:00 AM/PM). I was wondering how this might be factored into the dosing considerations, since it seems like the Lantus is lasting a bit longer than 12 hours, and I'm noticing a downward trend in his AMPS and PMPS numbers. I waited the 5 days per the protocol (since I didn't see any numbers dropping below 50 and his nadirs were below 200), but I'm a bit hesitant to increase the dose quite yet, since his numbers seem to be slowly dropping overall. It also seems like he bounced again early this morning, something I'm not sure what to think of either (it seems like he's been bouncing a lot recently).

Thanks again everyone for all your help and guidance, it's much appreciated. :smile:
 
Re: 6/16 Lucky AMPS 261 PMPS Dosing Advice?

At this point, you're not really a "newbie" any more. I'd suggest that you start working your way down from the 150 and start shooting lower. I think the 131 would have been fine to shoot. Frankly, I think you could shoot any blue pre-shot.

If you're not ready to increase, that's fine. I just wouldn't hold on to this dose overly long.

Just to clarify, the PMPS # (112) on 6/15, is that the number you actually shot or was that the number you got at your usual PMPS time? If it was the number at your usual PMPS, then the 112 would be your +12. You PMPS test would be the number you actually shoot. All tests after that are the +time from your shot.
 
Re: 6/16 Lucky AMPS 261 PMPS Dosing Advice?

Hi again Sienne, and thanks for the guidance. I think I'll wait another day to see if he hits a low blue again at his pre-shot reading, and if so I'm going to shoot and see how that works for Lucky. I guess I was holding off on shooting at the below-150 readings because I remembered someone mentioning that it wasn't recommended for novices to shoot below 150. It sounds, though, like I might be more data-ready to approach the lower-reading shots right now, so I'll try and follow the low pre-shot guidlines more closely in the future.

Regarding the PMPS on 6/15, I'm sorry if it seemed confusing (I was delaying the shot and wasn't sure how to properly record the numbers on the spreadsheet). The actual pre-shot reading was two readings after the one listed on the SS (the 196 reading) --- it's the same thing for the 6/13 shot as well, in that the actual pre-shot reading was 197, and not 131 as it shows on the spreadsheet. I figured it would be better to show that the numbers were still low after the 'normal' PMPS, and I also thought it might be misleading if I scooted the numbers backward from when they actually occurred timewise (though, I guess it's still misleading for the numbers in the PM cycle). Is it common to scoot the numbers back if you wait a few hours to shoot, or do you normally just disregard the extra readings prior to the actual shot?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top