Jen&Eddie
Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo
YESTERDAY: AMPS/307, +2/331, +6/269, +8/249, +10/304, +11/275, PMPS/302, +2/354, +4/414, +6/398
TODAY: AMPS/321, +2.5/211, +3/286, +6/198, +8.5/141, PMPS/106, +1/136, +2/156, +3/200, +4/256, +6/341
Hello LL! It's Monday once again. :YMSIGH:
Eddie bounced all day long yesterday with a peak of 414 last night. ohmygod_smile I'm thinking he's still bouncing off the big drops during the PM cycle of 6/14. I didn't quite manage to stay ahead of the drops as much as I would have liked. But, figuring out when to intervene to slow a drop and with how much food, and what carb level...it's all a big learning curve. So I'm chalking it up as data gathering for now. The upside is that he didn't earn a reduction. Looking back, the last few reductions came on bounce clearing slides, so the food management did keep him well above the 50 line.
Today, Eddie's +2.5 test as I was getting ready to go to tbp was over a 100 point drop from AMPS. So, I fed some 15% plus some 9% to try to slow the drop down -- the 15% to stop the drop, and get some surfing foods in -- the 9%. Then I scrambled to set up the auto feeders. I grabbed one more test before heading out the door at +3, and it was up to 286. Not sure whether that was a food spike from the 15% before the insulin onset or whether the +2.5 test was inaccurate. I briefly debated turning the feeders back off in case Eddie wasn't really dropping that fast, but decided to leave them on to err on the side of caution. I set the feeders to go off at AM +4 with a mix of 15% (drop stop fuds), and some Wellness 10% which did a good job the other night getting Eddie to surf. I also set it to go off at AM +5 with some more Wellness 10% for more surfing food. When I ran home at lunchtime to check on Eddie (AM +6), he was at 198. The AM +4 auto feeder food was gone, and there was about 1/2 of the AM +5 food left. So even with a fair bit of extra carbs, he still went down about 100 points in three hours which is a pretty good slide IMHO. I fed some 5% for lunch, and set the auto feeders for AM +7 for some more 5% in the hopes that he will continue to slowly slide down. This may be way too much info, but I know Elise is considering food manipulation, and if anyone else is thinking about trying it - perhaps it helps to see what someone else is doing? :smile:
What I am hoping to see is that Eddie continues to slide down into the low blues or even greens for the PMPS. When he bounce clears, sometimes he has a long slow slide and has his nadir at +11 or even at PS time. When we had our run of good numbers a few weeks back, I was able to grab onto those late nadirs and get some excellent overlap, so that's my objective with trying to steer. At the same time, I'm trying to avoid him dropping super fast into a low nadir early in the cycle, and then shooting back up into a bounce well before the end of the cycle. I'm also trying to keep him generally a bit higher at nadir so that ultimately, I can get more insulin into him. He seemed to do best most recently at a dose somewhere between 1.5 and 2.0 u. I don't think the depot is quite big enough at these lower doses to get the duration and to keep the bouncing at bay. Fingers crossed for a long slow slide!!
Have a good day everyone!
YESTERDAY: AMPS/307, +2/331, +6/269, +8/249, +10/304, +11/275, PMPS/302, +2/354, +4/414, +6/398
TODAY: AMPS/321, +2.5/211, +3/286, +6/198, +8.5/141, PMPS/106, +1/136, +2/156, +3/200, +4/256, +6/341
Hello LL! It's Monday once again. :YMSIGH:
Eddie bounced all day long yesterday with a peak of 414 last night. ohmygod_smile I'm thinking he's still bouncing off the big drops during the PM cycle of 6/14. I didn't quite manage to stay ahead of the drops as much as I would have liked. But, figuring out when to intervene to slow a drop and with how much food, and what carb level...it's all a big learning curve. So I'm chalking it up as data gathering for now. The upside is that he didn't earn a reduction. Looking back, the last few reductions came on bounce clearing slides, so the food management did keep him well above the 50 line.
Today, Eddie's +2.5 test as I was getting ready to go to tbp was over a 100 point drop from AMPS. So, I fed some 15% plus some 9% to try to slow the drop down -- the 15% to stop the drop, and get some surfing foods in -- the 9%. Then I scrambled to set up the auto feeders. I grabbed one more test before heading out the door at +3, and it was up to 286. Not sure whether that was a food spike from the 15% before the insulin onset or whether the +2.5 test was inaccurate. I briefly debated turning the feeders back off in case Eddie wasn't really dropping that fast, but decided to leave them on to err on the side of caution. I set the feeders to go off at AM +4 with a mix of 15% (drop stop fuds), and some Wellness 10% which did a good job the other night getting Eddie to surf. I also set it to go off at AM +5 with some more Wellness 10% for more surfing food. When I ran home at lunchtime to check on Eddie (AM +6), he was at 198. The AM +4 auto feeder food was gone, and there was about 1/2 of the AM +5 food left. So even with a fair bit of extra carbs, he still went down about 100 points in three hours which is a pretty good slide IMHO. I fed some 5% for lunch, and set the auto feeders for AM +7 for some more 5% in the hopes that he will continue to slowly slide down. This may be way too much info, but I know Elise is considering food manipulation, and if anyone else is thinking about trying it - perhaps it helps to see what someone else is doing? :smile:
What I am hoping to see is that Eddie continues to slide down into the low blues or even greens for the PMPS. When he bounce clears, sometimes he has a long slow slide and has his nadir at +11 or even at PS time. When we had our run of good numbers a few weeks back, I was able to grab onto those late nadirs and get some excellent overlap, so that's my objective with trying to steer. At the same time, I'm trying to avoid him dropping super fast into a low nadir early in the cycle, and then shooting back up into a bounce well before the end of the cycle. I'm also trying to keep him generally a bit higher at nadir so that ultimately, I can get more insulin into him. He seemed to do best most recently at a dose somewhere between 1.5 and 2.0 u. I don't think the depot is quite big enough at these lower doses to get the duration and to keep the bouncing at bay. Fingers crossed for a long slow slide!!
Have a good day everyone!