6/16 Charlie amps 353 Dosing/TR Switch

Sarah & Charlie-cat

Member Since 2022
It has been a rollercoaster. DKA in mid-May, multiple trips back to the vet for lack of appetite and starting to develop ketones, ultrasounds, blood work. Vet calls last Tuesday and days he had large cell lymphoma and we should start in an oral chemo. Post that to the lymphoma group and they say that's the treatment for small cell, get yourself to an oncologist. Oncologist says, we can't find any mass to do a fine needle aspiration on at all. Also, we're going to shame you about his poorly controlled diabetes by implying you aren't managing it. My vet has encouraged us to increase the dose more frequently. So I'm trying but I find TR overwhelming and confusing.
Last thread:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/charlie-ketones-1-3-5-30-central.278287/#post-3078679

From my FB post:
I'm trying to switch to TR as my vet wants me to get Charlie's glucose down (so do I!!). She said test midday as often as I can and adjust from there. Doing my best to try to do that. I need to go back and reread the TR stuff. I get lost in all the words without a handy flow chart like the AAHA report has.

Based on his midday numbers recently and last night's +3 (250), I was wildly not expecting 353 this morning. Is that a bounce? There is no high carb food in the house except the sealed bag currently being used to keep the basement door shut.

I'm so demoralized after the oncology vet said repeatedly in her letter his diabetes is poorly managed. I feel like I try and try and we're not getting anywhere or when we do, we immediately go backwards. I feel like I'm losing my mind. His fur isn't damp, I don't smell.bandaids, so every shot can't be a furshots! But I'm questioning my ability to do anything right

On the other hand. He hasn't thrown up in over a week and he's been much more energetic since we started daily fluids. If he's testing at 0.6 or 0.7 on the ketone meter, fluids seem to bring that right down to 0.0 or 0.1. Although he might have spit out his Cerenia this morning. And he is back in the 14lb range after dipping a bit last week.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top