6/16 Buzz AMPS: 260, +2: 330, +6: 252/Vial ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17325

WCR: Buzz seems about like normal this morning; hungry and fine.

In yesterday's condo I had posted some questions about Buzz's dosing. Because of everything else that happened yesterday, I will repost them in today's condo. Thanks in advance for any advice, and thank you all again for your support. This is a really special place.

Because Buzz doesn't hold reductions well, I have been requiring her to go below 50 twice (rather than once) to earn a reduction. I know that anything below 40 is an automatic reduction, and she got a 35 earlier this week. However, I didn't reduce because I'd like for her to get below 40 twice as well. Here are my questions:
1. Is that a bad idea?
2. What kind of a time frame, if any, is it necessary for her to go below 40? Does the second time need to be within a week, two weeks, doesn't matter?
3. Because I am using food to deliberately try to slow her drop, should that be taken into consideration when making reduction/increase decisions?

If anyone could take a look at her SS and let me know what you think about this, it would be much appreciated.
 
Re: 6/16 Buzz AMPS: 260/Dosing question

I had started a reply to you yesterday, but decided not to get into a dosing discussion when you had so much going on. I'm so sorry about Cassie. :sad:

Can you outline for me what your feeding parameters are? I see on the spreadsheet that you fed MC at +2 on that day. Did you feed anything at +1? How do you normally divide up Buzz’s meals? I think that maybe rather than adjusting her insulin dose, you might want to start by adjusting her feeding schedule.

Feeding does need to be taken into consideration. I think you need to ride the edge with Buzz, if you want her to maybe go OTJ again. What we need to do is figure out the best feeding schedule for her, and then figure out how much time/testing you’re able to put into it so we can see how hard we can push.
 
Re: 6/16 Buzz AMPS: 260/Dosing question

Thank you, Libby. I totally understand why the dosing questions didn't get answered yesterday, and I was grateful for it.

As it stands right now, I give 1/2 of her meal at AMPS and PMPS, and the other half at +2. If her # at +2 is lower and I think she's going to have a good cycle, I will hold back some of the meal so I can give it to her as snacks throughout the cycle. I have been using MC more lately in an attempt to try to even out the drop. I don't have anything scientific, like "if she is below this #, I give this type of food". I just base it on how I feel the cycle is going to go. Obviously when the #s are getting really low, then I will use MC or HC as needed.

Because I don't have autofeeders yet, feeding is all me. Although I don't mind doing anything I can to get Buzz OTJ, I do need to leave the house sometimes. :lol: Now that I don't have to worry about Cassie getting into their food, the autofeeder option will be easier to swing and I plan to get some in a week or so.

Testing can be done often, and I am able to stay home to test whenever the situation warrants it. So getting aggressive and possibly getting low #s isn't a problem, nor am I afraid of low #s or dealing with them.
 
Re: 6/16 Buzz AMPS: 260/Dosing question

hi Sarah - I can't really answer your question, but did want to say how sorry I am about Cassie. Thank goodness for memories that just never go away. take care.

Hope Buzz has a great day today!
 
Re: 6/16 Buzz AMPS: 260/Dosing question

Likewise, I didn't want to get into the dosing issues given that yesterday had to have been a very difficult day. (And again, so sorry about Cassie.)

Could you clarify your notes on the SS about % carbs? There are times where you'll note, "MC and HC were 16%." and I'm not sure I know what that means or if there was a difference in what you're feeding.
 
Re: 6/16 Buzz AMPS: 260/Dosing question

What I would suggest is trying to give some food at +1 also. Instead of 1/2 at PS and 1/2 at +2, try 1/3 at PS, 1/3 at +1, 1/3 at +2. The idea is to prevent the big drop *before* it happens, rather than responding to a drop that has already happened. Buzz is dropping very early in the cycle, so putting more food in the first 2 hours might help slow that down. If she will flatten out, then we can keep her dose a little higher.

By “riding the edge” and keeping a slightly higher dose, you can hopefully get enough insulin into Buzz to help her keep the preshots down and minimize bounces. This technique does require more testing, because at some point the dose will become too much and Buzz will earn a reduction, despite your best efforts to prevent the dose reduction earning numbers. You'll need to learn how many points bump you get from each type of food, so you can keep steering any lower numbers that occur mid-cycle.
 
Re: 6/16 Buzz AMPS: 260/Dosing question

Sienne: Thank you, and as with Libby, I completely understand and appreciate you not getting into the dosing discussion yesterday. As far as the SS notes: what I call "MC" is some gravy and maybe a little bit of the meat from the HC food, mixed in with her regular LC food. So if she gets, say, 1 tablespoon of food, MC would be approx. half LC and half HC. If I note that it was HC, then that tablespoon is all HC food, no LC mixed in. I'm not sure if that fits the definition that everyone else uses, and if it's confusing, I can note it another way on the SS.

Libby: (geez, my mind is going; I almost typed "Lucy" :? ) I will start feeding as you suggested on tonight's cycle. Thank you for the explanation; it makes perfect sense to me about being able to keep her at a slightly higher dose with testing and food manipulation. In order to determine how many points bump she gets from food, when is the best time to test that? Does it just depend on how long Buzz's food spikes last?

Thank you, Michelle. I hope you and Mannie have a good day, too. :smile:
 
Re: 6/16 Buzz AMPS: 260/Dosing question

Hi Sarah, just wanted to stop by and give you some (((((hugs))))) for today. Hope you are hanging in there ok. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/16 Buzz AMPS: 260/Dosing question

((((((((((Sarah)))))))))) Just sending some hugs. I hope Buzz comes down soon and that the food control helps to moderate the drop. Hang in there. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/16 Buzz AMPS: 260/Dosing question

(((((Sarah))))) I am so sorry about the loss of your sweet Cassie....such a sad time for you....
Our little ones always leave too soon.....
Fly free dear Cassie...
 
Re: 6/16 Buzz AMPS: 260, +2: 330

Thank you, Joanna, Ann, and Pat. It was hard getting up this morning and not having her there by the bed where she always was, and coming home yesterday to no sweet face waiting at the door was awful. I can't bring myself to put away her bowls, toys, and bed yet. Looking at them is hard but so would looking at an empty spot be. I'm taking it one day at a time now.

The cats want nothing to do with me unless it is time to eat. Maybe they can sense how I am feeling or maybe they miss Cassie's presence.
 
I had to get some more Lantus today and I decided to get the vial instead of the pens. Am I still supposed to not shake or roll it? Do I inject air into the vial like I used to do with PZI? The pharmacist was no help; he couldn't move beyond the fact that I shoot such a small dose and that I home test the cat. The vet had also called in the prescription for Cassie the Dog, not Buzz the Cat, which was an unfortunately timed mistake on their part.

Thanks!
 
Sarah, I'm so sorry to learn about Cassie. I know how much you will miss her. And your kitties will mourn her, too. She was their sister, even if she wasn't a cat. Cassie is running free now on the other side of the rainbow bridge and she is being welcomed by all of our furbabies who have gone ahead.

I'm sorry that I can't help with your feeding/dosing questions. You have a very particularized problem. But with regard to the vial vs. the cartridge, I can say with certainty that you should treat the vial the same way as you treat the cartridge: don't roll or shake, don't inject air into it, keep it in the fridge.

I hope you will have good luck with bringing down Buzz's numbers. Stu hopes he will see her soon and joins me in sending deepest sympathy for your loss of Cassie.

Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top