6/16-17 Hershey PMPS(333) 5th cycle .25u HAPPY FATHER'S DAY!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
My sweet hubby covered from +6 through shot time to allow me to sleep. :-D Holding the .25u and happy to see yellow, again.

06/16/12
AMPS (412)
+3 (273)

Have a great day!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)

+6 (229)
+9 (344)

PMPS (322) +11.5 - Shot .25u
+3 (280)
+5.5 (302)
+11 (336)

06/17/12
AMPS (354) +12 - Shot .25u at 8:00am
+7 (206)
+10 (363)

PMPS (333) Almost +12.75 - Shot .25u at 8:40pm
 
Re: 6/16 Hershey AMPS(412) +3(273)

Libby -

I'll tell you what my co-worker/friend told me during the first few weeks I was dealing w/ diabetes. I'm sure I looked pretty ragged, and you know how stressed I was that the little turnip wouldn't give up any of his blood for testing... she said, "Don't let this cat thing wear you down!" I know she meant well, but at the time she had owned her cat about 3 weeks. No pets for several years prior to that. No long term connections. No "I rescued his mama during a really cold cold-snap two weeks before he was born." None of that. Pets were short term commitments....and were replaceable.

I share this with you because it's imperative that we take care of ourselves and get adequate rest. Because when they need us, we don't get to say "I'll check back when I wake up" - they need us NOW!

You are an amazing bean to Hershey AND Oreo. Your commitment and dedication is IMHO tops. Whatever you need to do, you move heaven and earth to do it. He always comes first. You are one of the most selfless people I've ever met, and I applaud you for everything you do! Hershey is very lucky to have a mom and dad (& 2-legged siblings) that love and care for him so well - especially his mama!

And kudos to Doug for being such a great "step-up/stand-up" kind of guy. You two epitomize "tag team" when it comes to Hershey's care. All the successes you experience with him and his numbers, are because of the dedication you both have in providing him the best possible care. As Donna always says, "Good on ya!"

So relax and enjoy this ABSOLUTELY PERFECT Carolina day, and tell Hershey his Auntie Lu says to "Stay safe!" ;-)
 
Re: 6/16 Hershey AMPS(412) +3(273)

nice!

And I agree with Lu. First, your DH must be a pretty cool guy to be an equal partner with you in this. And second, somehow you need to find time to take care of yourself. Sometimes that's not easy when the cat decides to change things up on you all of a sudden, but know your limits. I actually sent an email to Jill last night saying "I actually hope Hershey doesn't clear this bounce overnight so they can get some sleep." This morning's number wasn't pretty, but isn't it nice of Hershey to wait til daytime to clear?

It looks like he is heading right back toward green, maybe even in this cycle. The drop at +3 today probably was not from this morning's shot, but came from the momentum of the bounce clearing. When onset for this cycle happens (probably +3 or +4), if that action "grabs" onto the momentum from the bounce clearing, he could drop pretty quickly. If that happens, when he gets close to a number where you would like him to "surf," try feeding a couple of tsp of low carb food to see if that helps him level out. Maybe try that if you see a low blue in this cycle and see if it helps slow things down. And have a good day!
 
Re: 6/16 Hershey AMPS(412) +6(229) +9(344)

Unfortunately, Lu, I've met a lot of people who think pets are replaceable. When Smokey was dying, I had several people who were like - what's the big deal, get another. cat(2)_steam Kind of sad for them...

Thanks, y'all for the kind encouragement. And, yeah, Doug has his moments. ;-) I try to do the overnight stuff, but he was off yesterday/last night so he jumped in. MAN, did that sleep feel good!!! And, yes, Libby, it was kind of Hershey not to clear the bounce too quickly. What a guy! ;-)

+6 (229)
+9 (344)

Just got in from a bridal shower and was hoping for a little blue, but not this cycle. Maybe he's giving me time to order more test strips ;-)

In 2-1/2 hours I'll give my first shot of Levemir and HOPING no fur shot. Honestly, I still can't figure out why I did it right for so long, then started with a string of fur shots. -UGH- Doug has been giving his shots because he's been off work. But, he's dependent on me and I'll just have to figure it out... Think I'll do maybe a +10.5 to see where he is. Moving shot time up :15 to get back on track for tomorrow.
 
Re: 6/16 Hershey AMPS(412) +6(229) +9(344)

I was just going to suggest that if you still need to move his shot time back, if he stays high then this might be a good opportunity to do it all at once.
 
Re: 6/16 Hershey AMPS(412) +6(229) +9(344)

I need to move it :30, so you think I could do it all at once? That'd be good, if I could.

You know, I'm not so good at this patience thing...this isn't a new revelation or anything...Doug said he didn't think the .25u was enough for Hershey and I told him we were to be patient and hold the dose. :lol: MUCH easier to tell someone else to be patient than to be patient myself. :lol:

So, do I need to a +10.5 or just wait for +11.5 (which would be the new PS)? Thanks -
 
Re: 6/16 Hershey AMPS(412) +6(229) +9(344)

I would get the +11.5, and if it's still in the 300s range then go ahead and shoot. If it's dropping from +9, then use your judgment. You're good at monitoring if needed.

It's possible that 0.25 isn't enough, but you want to give him a few cycles to let the counterregulatory hormones clear out before deciding. It looked like his bounce was clearing today, but it still might continue to come down. With the L insulins, you do have to learn some patience. ;-) We're aggressive, but careful at the same time, if that makes sense.
 
Re: 6/16 Hershey PMPS(322)

That makes sense, Libby - patience just isn't my forte' ;-)

Ended up skipping both tests. Lost track of time - supper mostly. But, with the PS being (322), basically flat, I went ahead with the .25u at 8:00pm

PMPS (322) +11.5 - Shot .25u
 
Re: 6/16 Hershey PMPS(322)

GOod for you holding the dose..
glad you have the patience..
You are an awesome Momma!
 
Re: 6/16 Hershey PMPS(322)

Thanks, Denise. Hope his bounce clears soon and we can see some progress. Makes me wish we had switched sooner!
 
Re: 6/16 Hershey PMPS(322) +3(280)

+3 (280)

Not much movement, but at least maybe his bounce is clearing. It occurred to me that making his shot time 8am means I won't be here for the +3, but not much I can do about it now. And, with .25u, I won't be nearly as worried as if it was .5u and me leaving him for a few hours.
 
Re: 6/16 Hershey PMPS(322) +3(280) +5.5(302)

+5.5 (302)

Yucky cycle all the way around. Wonder what his PS will be?? :YMSIGH:

+11 (336)
 
Re: 6/16-17 Hershey PMPS(333) 5th cycle of .25u

HAPPY FATHER'S DAY!!!

06/17/12
AMPS (354) +12 - Shot .25u at 8:00am
+7 (206)
+10 (363)

5th cycle of .25u
PMPS (333) Almost +12.75 - Shot .25u at 8:40pm
 
Re: 6/16-17 Hershey PMPS(333) 5th cycle .25u HAPPY FATHER'S

206 is very respectible... kinda "teal"! And about a 150 point drop... Nice!

Based on the numbers Grayson keeps shooting, I agree that Hershey probably needs a little more, but it will be good to hold this dose and see how he settles into it. That patience thing is harder for us PZI transplants... we are only used to having to wait 12 or 8 hours to start all over again!!!

Kim summed up ProZinc really well the other day. She said why she felt ProZinc IS a good insulin.... In addition to it working well for Kitty, once she shot TID, it is ESPECIALLY good for those shooting blindly (not testing). It's relatively safe, and it's out of the system quickly. For some of us that ARE monitoring - and we see what our babies do (or fail to do) on it, it's looking like the L's may be a better fit. Both good in their own rights, just very different in how they work. (Maybe if she sees this post, she'll clarify what she meant, in case it lost something in the translation!)

A good day for Hershey, and a Happy Father's Day to Uncle Doug from Grayson!!!
 
Re: 6/16-17 Hershey PMPS(333) 5th cycle .25u HAPPY FATHER'S

Hershey, buddy? Where did all the pretty green numbers go?

Carl
 
Re: 6/16-17 Hershey PMPS(333) 5th cycle .25u HAPPY FATHER'S

Just checking in to see how you all did during the low green's. Looks like Hershey bounced a bit. Don't know anything about Lev, so not sure if it clears like PZI. But hoping for a clear soon and you can start to see the green's. You are on such a low dose too. That's great!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top