Sybil and Zoe
Member
Sigh. Zoe was acting a little strange whining more the other night and the next morning and being a little restless like she was pre diagnosis with a UTI, so I took her in Wednesday afternoon to the vet. He couldn’t get urine out of her to test (bladder was small) so he said they could give her some fluid under skin to stimulate her to pee. (If they did it-and I sure paid for it- she was never there long enough for it to work and wasn’t tested!!!). He gave me Clavimox to give prophylactically.
In the meantime I had my laptop with spreadsheet and printed info about the TR protocol so I could discuss her treatment with this vet since I hadn't really talked to any of them since her switch to lantus. He looked at the spreadsheet because I had it open and was showing him, but had typical MD type behavior over the printed internet information---which was to dismiss it completely, plus he wasn't happy I was using human meter either. He didn't know how her bs was running because "of my use of human meter" (though he never offered to check it himself). He wasn't interested in the protocol because it wasn't vet ordered or designed and based on science , instead on "just a bunch of pet parents". I am in healthcare and I recognize the egotistical behavior. Long story short I was in and out in 10 minutes with an antibiotic to treat possible UTI and a $132 bill. It makes me rethink my vet. Needless to say, when I got her home she seemed fine and didn't display anymore odd behavior, so I just put the clavimox in the refrige and never gave it to her.
I have been upset since my trip to the vet, and it has put me in a funk
She is not really responding yet to the Lantus increases and I take spells like others here and get discouraged. I haven't seen yellow in many days now. I'm following the TR protocol. After my trip to the vet I decided to hold her at 5u for 5 days instead of 3 to see what she would do--which was nothing I went ahead and bumped her to 5.25 this morning. Her readings are always around the time she gets extra food and I can't help but wonder what they would be without food-but she is so hungry!!. (she gets fed at 6am after amps, then 9, 11, and 2, and then nothing until after pmps at 6p, then the same, 9p,11p and 2 am.) I just feel lost because I don't have a vet that supports my managing her but yet has never offered any real guidance. "Here is the diagnosis, give her this and feed her DM or any weight management dry because of the fiber content is higher. Bye! And now I really don't feel like I can ask for their advice! I am going to look into switching care even though the other vet who typically sees Zoe since diagnosis really likes her. A cat specific clinic here in town has a link to the felinediabetes.com website on their web page which is a very good sign.
I don't know if this is typical vet response to diabetic cat self management, just had to vent.
In the meantime I had my laptop with spreadsheet and printed info about the TR protocol so I could discuss her treatment with this vet since I hadn't really talked to any of them since her switch to lantus. He looked at the spreadsheet because I had it open and was showing him, but had typical MD type behavior over the printed internet information---which was to dismiss it completely, plus he wasn't happy I was using human meter either. He didn't know how her bs was running because "of my use of human meter" (though he never offered to check it himself). He wasn't interested in the protocol because it wasn't vet ordered or designed and based on science , instead on "just a bunch of pet parents". I am in healthcare and I recognize the egotistical behavior. Long story short I was in and out in 10 minutes with an antibiotic to treat possible UTI and a $132 bill. It makes me rethink my vet. Needless to say, when I got her home she seemed fine and didn't display anymore odd behavior, so I just put the clavimox in the refrige and never gave it to her.

I have been upset since my trip to the vet, and it has put me in a funk

I don't know if this is typical vet response to diabetic cat self management, just had to vent.
