6/15 Zeus PMPS 304

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
6/14 Condo

Zeus is not doing well. He ate a whole little jar of turkey and broth baby food last night, and then before bed I gave him some more and set an alarm for a +8. He had vomited sometime between +5 and +8. I brought him another spoonful of baby food but he didn't want it. Then he vomited again. I've been up since then just watching him, I feel so badly, I wish I could take whatever is causing this away.

I gave Zeus his Pepcid a while ago, and brought him some BF but he wouldn't eat it. I opened up a can of the HC gravy lovers and gave him a spoonful. He licked the gravy and had a couple of pieces of the meat, then stopped. I tried putting a bit of LC on top but he just looked at me, so another spoon of the gravy. He licked the gravy and left the rest. I am going to call the vet as soon as they open today.

Prayers for Zeus, and all other kitties that are not feeling well today.
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

Oh Kathie, Mega healing vines for Zeus. Stress relieving prayers for you. I hope the vet can give you something for pain/nausea relief, and the appy stimulant. Just want him to feel better too. Many good ideas to bring to the vet today. You will be walking in armed with info. I hope this vet is open to these ideas and good discussions. Thinking of you cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

I am sending the strongest of feel better vines to Zeus, right now.
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

Oh dear. I am so sorry Zeus is under the weather. I hope the vet has some sort of solution! All my best to you!
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

((((Kathie and Zeus)))))
I'm sending all the vines and prayers I have to you this morning. I hope your vet opens soon and has some good help for Zeus.

Zeus, my buddy. We're all ready with KTSS. Love you bud. Oliver
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

{{{{{KATHIIE & ZEUS}}}}}

I, too, am sending the strongest of the strongest of healing vines for Zeus, and tons of positive vines for you both. Please keep us updated on what the vet says. I wish for him to make a full and speedy recovery, and get back to being his old Zeus self again very soon.
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

Kathie, adding more healing vines and prayers for you and Zeus. We'll be waiting for an update after the Vet visit. (((Hugs)))
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

Morning Kathie - I'm sorry... I know how stressful and worrisome this all is. Hugs to you, and the best possible feel better vines for Zeus. Feel better soon little one. I will be thinking of you all today.
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

What meds did the vet give you for the pancreatitis? If the fPLI is in the clinical range for p'titis, Zeus needs meds (ondansatron or Cernia) for vomiting/nausea since Pepsid is not sufficient for vomiting, bupe for pain, and an appetitie stimulant once the vomiting/nausea has subsided. I don't have a clue what symptoms the vet thinks are being masked. I think it's time to push back with your vet -- or at least get the input from a vet who knows Zeus and will do something other than let him feel miserable.
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

Thanks everyone, you all are THE best. I called our vet, and the technician suggested that I take him to the ER Hospital vet. I called and she said to bring him in and the dr could try to come up with some kind of plan of action.

Zeus has eaten the rest of the can of gravy food. I know that will spike his numbers but that is all that he would eat this morning. I hope he is able to keep it down and that he doesn't go too high... I guess I should test and see what the damage is so far.
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

Sienne, we didn't get anything for p'titus. He was talking about giving us a prescription for leukeran which is for the IBD and can also help with the lymphoma. Our vet is out of town, but I called the office and they recommended an ER vet, so that's where we are going. Thank you for confirming what I have been thinking.
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

Morning Kathie. Good luck at the ER. I hope they will get a plan formulated for you. I do suspect that Zeus needs something for the nausea. It will help immensely. Cerenia, ondansatron whatever is best for Zeus. I do agree with Sienne that pepcid is not enough. He may need pain meds too depending upon the severity of the p'titis. I would also feed whatever he will eat, don't worry on the numbers, they are what they are. one can always recover later from that. Food right now is more important. It is great that he finished the can YAY. This is good. Hugs to you.

ETA: Just saw your recent post... good luck, and understand the priorities. Good luck - be well little one.
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

Sending prayers for you and Zeus. I hope you can get some meds to help Zeus feel better and start eating. I agree, it sounds like you need something for the nausea.
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

Hi Kathie,
We are thinking good thoughts and sending prayers that Zeus will be feeling much better soon. I'm glad you are taking him to the ER and hope that they will prescribe the right meds to get him feeling better and eating.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

Sending prayers and healing vines to Zeus and comfort vines to you. I hope the ER doc can get him the meds he needs so he will feel better! (((hugs)))
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

((Kathie)), I'm adding many vines for Zeus and hugs for you.
I'm glad you're taking him to the ER.
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

Thanks for the prayers and vines. We are Back from the vet... Zeus was a little dehydrated again, so they gave him subq fluids and sent me home with the set up so that I can do it for the next few days if needed. Ugh, that needle and the sound that it makes when piercing the skin creeps me out. Also gave me some cerenia for nausea and bupe for pain. She said she could feel a thickening in his intestines. Nothing for an appy stimulant, she thought once rehydrated and with the cerenia and bupe he hopefully won't need a stimulant. She did say to feed a bland diet and gave me three different cans of food to try... Hill's I/d for gastrointestinal health, Hill's w/d which is low fat and good for the diabetes and GI problems, and then a royal canin hypoallergenic food. It's worth a shot. I will have to check the food list again to see what we can try.

For now, I think I am going to take a nap. I feel like I could fall asleep sitting here typing. Thank you all for the good wishes.
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus what to feed FD & P'titus?

Hi again,

I have been reading everything I can about p'titus, and looking at the food lists, and I'm just not sure what I should be feeding Zeus. According to Dr. Lisa's list, it looks like the food that the vet gave me are all too high in carbs. I was told to feed a bland diet by the Dr. Today. I read one site that said to feel high protein but low fat. What is considered low fat? It looks like the ones with the least fat are the fish varieties. Another site said the fat wasn't as important as low fiber. I don't know what to feed, it's overwhelming.

Zeus has been sleeping much of the day. I did try to give him a little bit of the food, but he sniffed and walked away. Then I gave him some chicken, he gobbled it up. I haven't tested all afternoon, I thought I would give him a break since I didn't shoot this morning. I'm hoping that he isn't too high for PMPS in about an hour. Need to run to the store for more BF in case he won't eat the food.

Thanks for any advice that you may have.
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

(((Kathie)))

Did you read my Primer on Pancreatitis that Sienne linked yesterday? Really and truly, they need to give you ondansetron (zofran) for the nausea. It works SO much better than cerenia for that. Can you call the vet back and see if they will give it to you? I'd also ask them if they have 21g needles. They probably gave you 18g harpoons. The 21g take longer to get the fluids in but if he's feeling bad, he probably won't care. They are so much less painful and I've never heard a noise when inserting them.

Here's my thinking on pancreatitis and an inappetant cat.....feed them whatever they will eat and adjust the insulin if you have to. It's most important to get food into them. I'm wondering if your vet or the ER vet carries Iams Max Cal? It's hefty in calories but low in carbs. Fat in a diet does not have the effect on a cat's pancreatitis as it does in humans and dogs. It's most important to get food into him. If he wants chicken.....give it to him. He just needs to eat.

Sending tons of healing vines.....
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

I agree with Marje -- let Zeus eat whatever he wants. If he likes baby food, it's a good option. Many cats will wolf down rotisserie chicken. I think Libby has mentioned that when Lucy was sick, Chik-fil-A was a winner.

The info on diet and pancreatitis in cats is dated. There is a clinical roundtable that was done on feline pancreatitis and the experts concluded just what Marje notes -- the fat issue is not relevant for cats.

I don't have an opinion on ondansatron vs. Cerenia. Ondansatron may be better for vomiting. Cernia has some anti-inflammatory properties. If the Cerenia is what you currently have on hand, give it a try.

If you are ultimately going to give the Leukeran a try for the IBD, I would call around for a compounding pharmacy. From what I understand, the price for Leukeran has skyrocketed. People have been noting that it's cheaper to get it from a compounding pharmacy.
 
Re: 6/15 Zeus AMBG 65 not eating, no shot

HI Kathie

I so understand in the fuds and being overwhelmed. What does one feed.... On the P'titis: when I went through this with Mannie (his was moderate to moderately severe), I fed what he would eat. More often than not is was MC/HC food, chicken (always a hit), whiskas treats (A life saver), BF (another life saver), anything to get the needed amount of food in him so I could even consider giving him his insulin. For me the carb content did not matter, that he ate did. Many times the dosage was reduced as well, for probably about week or so until he started feeling better and ate better. By this time Mannie was also seeing an IM Specialist, as there were developing signs of other health issues. Her opinion on the ondansatron vs. Cerenia is that the ondansatron is a harsher drug, and not always advisable, especially for a kitty with any heart of liver issues. How relevant that is for you I don't know. If you have the cerenia, I'd use it. It did help Mannie.

The bupe and the fluids should really help Zeus. I know they did Mannie, that and adding B12 to the mix. I hope my experiences will help you. I know I'm not an advisor, but went through the war with Mannie, learned alot on what to do what not to do. Hugs to you. Hang in there, it will get better, one step at a time.
 
PMBG not too bad considering no shot this morning, an almost whole can of gravy lovers food for breffis, and a trip to the ER vet. I mentioned earlier, I did give him some chicken this afternoon. He wouldn't touch the canned food from the vet, and he didn't eat any of Smokey's FF. Tonight he had a FF appetizer chicken in broth and a big spoonful of chicken and broth baby food. Thank you to Marje and Sienne for agreeing that I should feed whatever he will eat.

Hi Marje, yes, I sure did read your primer on p'titus... Very helpful, thanks. I did already give Zeus the cerenia today, but I will keep an eye on things, if it doesn't seem to help Zeus I will call them back tomorrow. Yes, you're right, they did give me the 18g needles. It makes a popping sound when it pierces the skin. I think it will just bother me... Kind of the same way I felt before giving my first insulin shot. It didn't seem to bother Zeus though. He is such a trooper, very mellow. The only thing that bothered him was having to get in the carrier to go to the ER today. But when it was time to come home he walked right in and laid down.
Iams max cal - our vet doesn't carry it, and neither did the hospital. I just tried a couple of other places but they didn't carry it either. I just did a google search, it looks like I can buy it online, so I will... Thank you!

Thanks Sienne. Yes, Zeus likes the rotisserie chicken... That's what I gave him this afternoon, but he has liked it when I've roasted a chicken or boiled a piece for him too. The u/s dr did mention that the price for Leukeran skyrocketed and suggested having it compounded. I googled it after the u/s and it said the average price went from something like $6 per pill up to $11 per pill. Holy cow! I already use a pharmacy to compound Smokey's methimazole, they are super nice and very quick.
 
(((((Kathie))))
I just wanted to check on you and Zeus. I'm so glad he's eating his chicky. Sending lots of good appy, be well vines. It's amazing how our kitties know when they are going to the vet "NO.. i don't want to get in that box." and when they're going home. "well, sure.. don't mind if i do get in." I hope you 3 get a good snuggly night, lots of rest and kitty kisses.
 
Michelle, thank you so much! Your experience with Mannie absolutely does help and I appreciate you sharing it with me :-D I have been trying different fuds to get him interested, but now that you all have said to feed whatever and adjust the insulin accordingly, I feel so much better. I am going to order the Iams Max Cal that Marje mentioned, but I may try some of the other MC or HC food too. Tonight he ate a FF appetizer (he likes those, but I don't feed them often because they aren't a complete balanced food... But at least he will eat it) and some BF. I'm going to go see if he wants some more in a bit. I'm thinking smaller meals more often will probably be easier on the tummy too. Other health issues - Zeus does have a heart murmur, the dr. Said "no mistaking it." The u/s vet also said his liver was bright indicating fatty liver. He also has the feline herpes virus. Poor guy. He is such a good kitty, I hope I can help him to feel better and have a happy healthy life.
 
Hi Mary, thanks for checking on us :smile: Zeus is eating a little more baby food right now. You are so right on the knowing when they are going to the vet and not wanting to get in the carrier. Zeus is not a talker normally, but I think I've heard his meow more this past week then the whole time he has lived with me. When I first adopted him, I didn't even know if he had a voice and then months later he meowed at something and it kind of startled me. Funny too because he doesn't have a very "manly meow"... You know, Zeus King of the Gods... I expected a roar :lol: Smokey's meow is often much more gruff sounding than Zeus.
 
Hi Kathie - I am so glad that you are feeling better. I so know the emotional roller coaster..... Good luck with the fuds. I think it is Petco (??) that carries the Iams max Cal, wish I could remember for sure, might be mistaken on that. Mannie was a challenge when he had the p'titis, had to be FF Gravy foods, and a new flavor every day. shesshhh! I too did the smaller meals more often, with the goal being getting so much food in a day. That approach really helped when he felt so awful at the beginning of it all. As much as I hated feeding somethings like Whiskas treats, or temptations, he'd eat them and often they too got us through a meal. It all wrecked havoc with his BG's, but one can always adjust the dose. I had no idea Zeus had the other health issues, short of what has surfaced the past few days.... poor guy! I really don't know alot about anti-nausea meds, only what Mannie's IM vet said: no on the ondansatron, for reason already stated, and also a big no for her when dealing with a kitty that is really struggling physically with major issues: too harsh/heavy duty of a drug. My understanding is that it is used alot with cancer patients (human) who are undergoing chemo. anyways... I know alot here on the board are adamant about using it, swear by it. Maybe talk with your vet, see what the opinion is there. ??

I wish you much luck, and patience. While caring for Mannie, patience and diligence and just plain love was the backbone of his care. You've got all the right tools to help Zeus, and I know you will. I am sure you can help him feel better with many more years to come.
 
Hi Kathie, I am so glad that Zeus is eating a little something for you. I imagine you have a smorgsaborg (sp) lined up for him. I hope this disease clears quickly, and he feels much better. I know that will make you all better too. Sending healing prayers for Zeus cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top