6/15 Whitey AMPS 148

Status
Not open for further replies.

ryanms3030

Member Since 2013
Hello all,

I slept in a little this morning so AMPS is actually +13 from last night's shot. He is 148, need advice is I should skip or reduce. I am also about to feed him. I just started my spreadsheet last week so not too much data yet
 
Can you hold off on feeding till +14?
At this point you can't be sure if the BG is rising or falling.
 
I just tested again and he's at 172 so rising.

Since it's the weekend if I shoot 1 unit now I can keep on schedule every 12 hours but Monday morning I have to go to work 1 hour early so his shot would have to be 1 hr earlier than normal time which is where it will really get screwed up if I start shooting later. What should I do?
 
In order to get back to your normal shot times, what you can do is adjust your shot time forward using one of two options.

You can either give the shot 15 minutes early each cycle,
or you can move it forward by 30 minutes on either the PM or AM cycle.

For instance.
If you shoot at 2PM today, you could shoot at 1:30 AM tonight.
Tomorrow, you can shoot at 1:30 PM, then again at 1 AM the next morning.

Your call of course on whether or not to shoot today. The one thing I would consider is that there may be times today or tomorrow where the board is not accessible (if you saw the announcement posted last night) due to being moved over to another server. It might not happen, but it's a possibility. Jill posted today to let people know how to get assistance if this board is not available.
 
Hello and welcome to Lantus Land.

How much time do you need to make up between now and Monday morning? If it's just an hour, you can shoot 15 minutes earlier each subsequent shot, and you've got 5 shots from now to Monday morning so that should do it. Alternatively you can shoot 1/2 hour earlier, but just for one shot a day.
 
Thanks everyone. Before the last couple of responses I decided to just reduced .50 unit which was 2 hours delayed from his normal schedule. I am hoping I can get back on normal schedule tonight or maybe delay 30 minutes tonight. I do need to work on my schedule.

During the week I leave for work around 8:40am except Mondays where I go in 1 hour early and leave at 7:40. My normal schedule is that I try to shoot him at 8am and 8pm every day and on Monday I hold off until the last minute so that it's only 20 minutes early compared to the rest of the week. But then on the weekend I may sleep until 9 and I have been very exhausted lately so I hate to set the alarm to get up and shoot him at 8 but I probably should. I should also probably adjust the feeding schedule. I feed at 8am when I wake up but usually at night I will feed around 6:30pm when I get home from work because there are 3 cats here and they are all food crazed by the time I get home and I just give in so they aren't all crying. But delaying the evening meal to be on track with Whitey's shot is probably a good idea and the other cats will get used to it eventually
 
Even though you gave a reduced dose, a test at +2 or +3 would be a good idea. If Whitey decides to go lower this cycle, a test by +3 can give you a "head's up" that could be his plan. ;-)
 
I'm glad Carl was here to help.

Could you please remove the 911? Thanks!

Normally, when we still, we shoot the full dose because stalling acts like a dose reduction. There might be circumstances where shooting a reduced dose after stalling is fine but for Whitey today, it would have been fine to shoot the full dose.

It's best to not let kitty eat within two hours of shot time, if possible, so you avoid getting a food inflated number to shoot.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
I'm glad Carl was here to help.

Could you please remove the 911? Thanks!

Norms.ly, when we still, we shoot the full dose because stalling acts like a dose reduction. There might be circumstances where shooting s reduced dose after stalling is fine but for Whitey today, it would have been fine to shoot the full dose.

It's best to not let kitty eat within two hours of shot time, if possible, so you avoid getting a food inflated number to,shoot.

thanks, so feeding immediately after shot is good?
 
Yes...absolutely you can feed at/with shot. Many of us shoot while kitty has his/her face in the food. Lantus onsets about +2 so while the kitty doesn't HAVE to eat at shot time, it's a good idea to have food on board before the insulin onsets.

If you shot two hours late, you have the following options:

1. If Whitey bounces up high (over 280/300) by +10, you could get back on schedule and make up the time by shooting early BUT you absolutely must be able to test the next couple of cycles. Shooting early acts like a dose increase so he could come back down tonight or tomorrow. Be vigilant.

2. If Whitey does not bounce up, you should shoot approximately 12 hours from when you shot this morning. You can start making up the time by shooting early 15 mins each cycle starting tonight or 30 mins once a day starting tomorrow night.

If he is just surfing along in blues/lower yellows, I would not shoot early tonight.
 
Thanks again to everyone here. I've said it before but everyone here is much more helpful and knowledgeable about diabetes than my vet.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

You've gotten some great information already! I don't know if anyone has directed you to the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. There's an overwhelming amount of information about Lantus and it's use in those notes so they are a great place to help you get oriented. They also contain information on how to handle low pre-shot numbers and low numbers in general.

Just out of curiosity, have you given any thought to changing Whitey's shot time? If you are able to shoot earlier, it means you will have the ability to get a test or two in before you leave for work. That may give you more of a margin of safety in terms of knowing where Whitey's numbers are heading. Of course, it does have some impact on your sleep!
 
Welcome to LantusLand! Vets are amazing with the different critters and conditions that they treat but they don't live with feline diabetes 24/7 like the folks here. Sienne and Marje are amazing with their knowledge and experience. Whitey is very cute!
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top