6/15 TUXIE AMPS-418; +2.5-391; +4-272; +6-86; +7-54 +8-97; +9-63 PMPS-157

Status
Not open for further replies.
Tuxie decided to shake things up today. Since he was not doing much earlier I finished making my chicken soup and grabbed a quick nap. Tuxie was howling for food so I did a test and he had dropped at +6 to 86 on AT2 (65 on FS Lite) a drop of 186 points in 2 hours. Of course he is going to be active when I am not watching him like a hawk!!! YIKES!! I gave him tsp HC food and will see where he decides to go, but this will definitely cause a big bounce later. I should have been more diligent about testing him more often.

Edited to add:
+6.5 - 90 gave tsp bone broth
 
Last edited:
+7 reading is 54...gave Tbsp HC and 4 drops syrup....this is a hypo alert for an AT2 meter( approximately 35 on a human meter)...slow down Tuxie!!!
 
Last edited:
Nice run of the GREEN today, and glad you were able to catch that LOW! Since he still isn't seeing a lot of GREEN on his spreadsheet, and he went low, I would suspect that a bounce could possibly happen in the next 24 hours or so. But great run. The more GREEN you see the less change for that bounce.
 
So will you be giving a reduction tonight then?

I am not sure at this point. This is the first movement Tuxie has had on the new dose (8 cycles so far), so I may see how his numbers are doing at PMPS. If he is going to do a big bounce..which I totally expect..I will probably shoot through it at the same dose. The last 2 reductions he had failed, so I may try and drag it out a little longer. It is really all up to what Tuxie does. :)
 
Last edited:
Nice run of the GREEN today, and glad you were able to catch that LOW! Since he still isn't seeing a lot of GREEN on his spreadsheet, and he went low, I would suspect that a bounce could possibly happen in the next 24 hours or so. But great run. The more GREEN you see the less change for that bounce.

Thanks..the +7 green is actually in hypo alert for an AT2 meter, thus the HC and syrup. I wish I had caught it a little earlier and slowed down the drop, but it looked like it was going to be a hohum day. Obviously Tuxie had other plans. :rolleyes: I foresee a BIG bounce in the near future.
 
Looks like the HC and syrup is wearing off...Tuxie is back to 63 at +9. (40 on FS Lite meter)What is this cat doing??? :eek:

I gave him a tsp HC and 2 drops of syrup, so I will see what happens in the next few hours.
 
Last edited:
Tuxie is being unpredictable today. Usually by +9 he is going up....BUT...the few times he gets a really active cycle like today he can run later before he goes up. I have NO idea what I am going to shoot tonight!!:banghead:
 
I do not envy you at all right now. We JUST had our first greens yesterday and I was a wreck. You're doing awesome!


Thank you. With the help of this board I have learned to be able to handle lower numbers as long as I keep on top of them. I remember when I got panicky the first time Tuxie hit a blue number. Since I use the AT meter (same as you) I was busy trying to figure out what it worked out to in human meter numbers and whether I should drown him in syrup...LOL It is still scary, but I don't freak out like I did 3 months ago. The only bad thing is I have to be out for a couple of hours tonight, but luckily it is just next door. I am helping clear a virus off their computer, so if it takes too long I can just run back home and test Tuxie, then take it from there. Sheesh..Tuxie always pulls these busy days when I have to be out.
 
+10-79

I have to shoot in less than 2 hours and I will be out for awhile about 1 hour after shot time...it is just next door so I can come and check on him. ... Tuxie has earned a reduction already, but does anyone have any advice what I should shoot tonight? I have been giving HC and syrup through the afternoon to try to keep the numbers up. I was hoping to hold this dose another 1 or 2 cycles but it seems to be pretty strong right now.
 
Last edited:
Looks like Tuxie really wanted that reduction, since you had to work to keep him up. Unless he zooms to pink by PMPS, I think I would take the reduction tonight. Of course, it might be a delayed bounce.

Try holding off on the food now and see where he goes next. You don't wants a food influenced PMPS.
 
Oh, how was Tuxie acting at that 54? Besides hungry of course.



Thanks for the reply.

Tuxie was of course starved, but other than that did not seem to be showing any hypo signs. He was hard to ear test, since he did not want to wait..he wanted to get right to the food part that comes after the test, so he was trying to get to his dish as soon as I poked and before I got the reading.

I gave him a few small pieces of chicken at + 10 so that I can have a "clean" PM test. I am totally expecting a huge bounce after today. There was just too big a drop and he always zooms up after that. I will see what his numbers are at PMPS and if they don't hit the pinks I will do a reduction. If he happens to still be low I will hold off and retest and post for advice.
 
We've had some kitties on OTJ trials test in the upper 30's, human meter, but it's not where we want a cat on insulin to be.
 
We've had some kitties on OTJ trials test in the upper 30's, human meter, but it's not where we want a cat on insulin to be.


Yes..those numbers are too low for a cat on insulin. I just tested his +11 and he has only come up to 83. If he doesn't come up more before PM shot I will hold off. I am not comfortable shooting at that number on AT. I have to go next door an hour after regular shot time but I can come back and shoot and test if it runs too long there.
 
Mary Ann, at the lowest numbers, the difference between the Vet and Human meters is less than at higher numbers, but I'd still agree with Wendy that Tuxie needs a reduction. Even if he bounces high tonight, you might want to test several times to make sure he doesn't pull another fast one and drop too much! He's sending you some kind of message - just gotta figure out what it is! :rolleyes:
 
Mary Ann, at the lowest numbers, the difference between the Vet and Human meters is less than at higher numbers, but I'd still agree with Wendy that Tuxie needs a reduction. Even if he bounces high tonight, you might want to test several times to make sure he doesn't pull another fast one and drop too much! He's sending you some kind of message - just gotta figure out what it is! :rolleyes:


Thanks for your input. The difference between pet and human get smaller as the numbers get smaller. I did a couple of AT2 and FS Lite tests on the same blood today. The difference is still about 35% higher on the AT2 compared to the FS Lite human meter, it just seems closer together at smaller numbers.

+6 -86 on AT2 68 on FS Lite meter
+9- 63 on AT2 40 on FS Lite meter

Yesterday I was saying I wanted to try and reduce his dose to see if that helped even him out. Tuxie must have been reading over my shoulder when I wrote that post.:cat:

A reduction is definitely needed. I have had to fight too hard today to keep his numbers up. Before when he hit a green, it was just abit of MC and maybe a drop of 2 of syrup and he was good to go. I am sure I will be seeing some real wonky numbers in the next 24 hours.
 
PMPS 83...I am holding off on his shot for 1/2 hour and will retest. If he doesn't come up any advise??? I am supposed to go to my neighbour's in an hour and do some computer work for them, but I can come back and test/shoot if it takes too long.

EDITED TO ADD: This would be approximately 60 on a human meter
 
Last edited:
On Levemir, you do have to get used to shooting lower numbers, because the nadir is later, and you have a number of hours until onset. Since he hasn't had food for the last couple of hours, he is essentially surfing, and should start to rise once he's done his surf. Theoretically, this is perfectly safe to shoot. Lets see where he is in half an hour. If he's on his way up, he should rise a little more with his dinner and you should be good to get out for that hour.

Here is that good duration you were asking for a while ago. :D
 
On Levemir, you do have to get used to shooting lower numbers, because the nadir is later, and you have a number of hours until onset. Since he hasn't had food for the last couple of hours, he is essentially surfing, and should start to rise once he's done his surf. Theoretically, this is perfectly safe to shoot. Lets see where he is in half an hour. If he's on his way up, he should rise a little more with his dinner and you should be good to get out for that hour.

Here is that good duration you were asking for a while ago. :D


Thanks for the help Wendy. I swear Tuxie only gets active cycles if I have plans to be out of the house for any period of time. His nadir "usually" is around +6+8 but he likes to change that too. It seems when he has an active cycle his nadir comes later, if that makes any sense. But as you said I did get my duration I keep whining about :). Hopefully he will come up and I can shoot his reduced dose. If he doesn't come up then I will hold off and if it is late then so be it.
 
For what it's worth, I've given Neko insulin as low as 52. But I know that once she's surfing, she doesn't go down anymore and the food will boost her up. I also set up her autofeeder for a +1 meal to make sure she's stays there.
 
For what it's worth, I've given Neko insulin as low as 52. But I know that once she's surfing, she doesn't go down anymore and the food will boost her up. I also set up her autofeeder for a +1 meal to make sure she's stays there.


Tuxie finally went up at +12.5 to 157, so I shot his reduced dose. Now I just have to wait to see how high the bounce will be.

Thanks for the guidance!!
 
Well it took me a lot longer to get rid of the virus on my neighbour's computer so I ran home in between to test Tuxie and he is now going up.

+1.75 220
+3.5 241

Either he is going to start bouncing way up or the insulin hasn't kicked in yet. But I am home now and can keep an eye on him.

Thanks to all for the help and support today!
 
Last edited:
I'm new, and all these numbers and stuff scares me! We haven't even started the insulin yet (Wed) and I am totally lost!!?
 
I'm new, and all these numbers and stuff scares me! We haven't even started the insulin yet (Wed) and I am totally lost!!?

Seven months ago I had no knowledge whatsoever about feline diabetes, but this site has been wonderful, both information and support wise. I see you posted in Welcome to the Group as well. You can edit your title and add something like "New to diabetes and need help" That should get more attention from the longer term members who can give you lots of pointers.

In the meantime there is a lot of information at this link:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/fdmb-faq.htm

It will help you get acquainted with feline diabetes, proper feeding, home-testing (which is VERY important if your kitty is on insulin) and types of insulin. It is all very overwhelming in the beginning, but thsi site is just wonderful and can help guide you through the first stages of treating a diabetic cat and be there for support as you begin your treatment. Don't let all the numbers and "buzz-words" overwhelm you. In time it will all make sense. For now just breathe, relax and do some reading. :bighug:
 
Thanx, Tuxedo Mom. I don't even know how to get to the Welcome Group, or what I put on it! I just know I will need help.
 
Thanx, Tuxedo Mom. I don't even know how to get to the Welcome Group, or what I put on it! I just know I will need help.

This is the link to your post in the Welcome section.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/rusty.139523/

I see BJM posted there with some starter information. Right now the information she gave and the link I gave you:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/fdmb-faq.htm

will get you started on what diabetes is all about and get you some knowledge on how to start. You just need to start learning the basics and then keep asking more questions. Another section that is good to post in if you have specific questions is the Health section as many people post and read there:


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/feline-health-the-main-forum.28/

Just start getting the basics and then start asking questions. Right now everything is about as clear as mud, but slowly it will start to make sense.
 
This is the link to your post in the Welcome section.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/rusty.139523/

I see BJM posted there with some starter information. Right now the information she gave and the link I gave you:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/fdmb-faq.htm

will get you started on what diabetes is all about and get you some knowledge on how to start. You just need to start learning the basics and then keep asking more questions. Another section that is good to post in if you have specific questions is the Health section as many people post and read there:


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/feline-health-the-main-forum.28/

Just start getting the basics and then start asking questions. Right now everything is about as clear as mud, but slowly it will start to make sense.
This is the link to your post in the Welcome section.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/rusty.139523/

I see BJM posted there with some starter information. Right now the information she gave and the link I gave you:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/fdmb-faq.htm

will get you started on what diabetes is all about and get you some knowledge on how to start. You just need to start learning the basics and then keep asking more questions. Another section that is good to post in if you have specific questions is the Health section as many people post and read there:


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/feline-health-the-main-forum.28/

Just start getting the basics and then start asking questions. Right now everything is about as clear as mud, but slowly it will start to make sense.
 
OK. I've read ALL there is, but I'm still scared of the record keeping, not so much the injections, and the all different types. You guys have to go up or down, whatever THAT means, and I guess I just need to relax, and educate, educate, educate!
 
Rusty14, it gets easier! Everyone here has been in your shoes, and we all get how daunting it is to start taking care of a diabetic cat. Keep posting, keep asking questions and people will help you. Take it one step at a time - learn the basics of food & hometesting first, and how to put the test results in a spreadsheet. As you need information it will make more sense.

Mary Ann, good job handling the low numbers today. Nice stretch of green numbers for Tuxie.
 
OK. I've read ALL there is, but I'm still scared of the record keeping, not so much the injections, and the all different types. You guys have to go up or down, whatever THAT means, and I guess I just need to relax, and educate, educate, educate!


I see you are going to the vet and will be getting information on insulin and injecting and all. First, make sure you get your own record of all tests and information the vet has done, so that you have the data handy. Next, hopefully your vet will be on board about doing home-testing. If you are giving your kitty insulin that is VERY important so that you can test before shots and during the time in between shots, so that you know how the insulin is working. Some vets do not approve of home-testing, but it is very important to make sure your kitty is staying in safe numbers. As far as adjusting shots up and down, you will get the hang of that as you go. Also keeping records, such as glucose readings you do at home and setting up a spreadsheet to keep track is mportant. Once you have that members here can see your sheet and be able to offer advise based on your kitty's numbers.

I know it is all overwhelming right now...learning about diabetes and learning your way around a new site, but just relax and keep reading. I was a member here for several months before I posted, but I was reading all the other posts and everything I could find on feline diabetes. Many of the people here have been dealing with one or more diabetic cats for years and their personal experiences can be invaluable. The best you can do right now is to educate yourself on the basics and keep posting, asking questions (there are no stupid questions) and keep reading. You will get the hang of it, but don't let it overwhelm you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top