6/15 siujim amps (230) +6 (311) pmps (293) +8 (266)

Status
Not open for further replies.

sun

Member Since 2010
6/14 siujim is back -- amps (250) +4 (315) pmps (252)
6/15 amps (230) +6 (311) pmps (293) +8 (266)

at + 4 or + 6 (siujim ate 60-90mins before the BG test).
for the pm +8 test (no food for 3 hr before the test)

i have a question. usually if the cat is responding to the insulin, mid day figure should be lower than the amps reading.

may i ask what do this kind of curve imply, or suggest?

more info for those who didn't read previous posts.
she has pancreatitis and was on lantau for 6 months which were not well.

since last week, she is on supplements (sam-e, coq10, vit e) and she is better.
dropped from her usual range320 to 410 to under 300 which is good news.

she vomited again this morning, last days of vomiting were 5th & 7th june.
 
sun said:
6/14 siujim is back -- amps (250) +4 (315) pmps (252)
6/15 amps (230) +6 (311) pmps (293) +8 (266)
at + 4 or + 6 (siujim ate 60-90mins before the BG test).
for the pm +8 test (no food for 3 hr before the test)

i have a question. usually if the cat is responding to the insulin, mid day figure should be lower than the amps reading.
may i ask what do this kind of curve imply, or suggest?


Hi Sun :)
I'm going to try to answer a little here...but you know - next time the +3 comes around, test Siujim, I'm curious what she does around +3. :smile:
hope some of the following highlites help. keep us posted!

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Peak/Nadir the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Onsetthe lowest point in the cycle
Durationthe length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose

Example of a typical curve ... +3, +6 +9 are my suggestions:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower
.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle). ECID every cat is different, some peak early, like +4 or +5, some peak mid day and some later in the cycle, you would be testing a lot to get all that data.
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).

+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11) heads up
+12 - PreShot number.

Carryover insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
Overlapthe period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect
Insulin Depot aka "storage shed" in Lantus Land) "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body
 
thxxxx.
i will post a new thread on 6/16, but also fyi here

6/16 siujim amps (272) +8 (219)

seems like her +6 is the lowest of the day.

thx.
 
thx for your comments.

one thing though, i don't mean a day drop around 100. but dropping from a few days ago. last week, she was still over 350...

thx
anson


Ronnie & Luna said:
sun said:
6/14 siujim is back -- amps (250) +4 (315) pmps (252)
6/15 amps (230) +6 (311) pmps (293) +8 (266)
at + 4 or + 6 (siujim ate 60-90mins before the BG test).
for the pm +8 test (no food for 3 hr before the test)

i have a question. usually if the cat is responding to the insulin, mid day figure should be lower than the amps reading.
may i ask what do this kind of curve imply, or suggest?


Hi Sun :)
I'm going to try to answer a little here...but you know - next time the +3 comes around, test Siujim, I'm curious what she does around +3. :smile:
hope some of the following highlites help. keep us posted!

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Peak/Nadir the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Onsetthe lowest point in the cycle
Durationthe length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose

Example of a typical curve ... +3, +6 +9 are my suggestions:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower
.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle). ECID every cat is different, some peak early, like +4 or +5, some peak mid day and some later in the cycle, you would be testing a lot to get all that data.
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).

+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11) heads up
+12 - PreShot number.

Carryover insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
Overlapthe period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect
Insulin Depot aka "storage shed" in Lantus Land) "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top