? 6/15 Ruby 5th day of pred AMPS 157/+3 147/+6 187/+9 134/PMPS 153/+2 123

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday on The Great Ruby. :cat:

Face lick alarm for mom today. ✅
Pooped. ✅
Screen Shot 2021-06-15 at 9.06.13 AM.png

Ate breakfast. ✅
Dropped down to lower greens last night. ✅

Later this morning we have Ruby's first acupuncture appointment. :)

Healing thoughts for all of the sick kitties and hugs to all beans. Happy Tuesday, everyone! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-06-15 at 9.06.13 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-06-15 at 9.06.13 AM.png
    5.2 KB · Views: 126
Last edited:
Yesterday on The Great Ruby. :cat:

Face lick alarm for mom today. ✅
Pooped. ✅ View attachment 61245
Ate breakfast. ✅
Dropped down to lower greens last night. ✅

Later this morning we have Ruby's first acupuncture appointment. :)

Healing thoughts for all of the sick kitties and hugs to all beans. Happy Tuesday, everyone! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Nice to see the positives Katherine, so happy for you and for Ruby :bighug: so nice to see the greens in the night :cat:
When do you give her the Pred? I am curious to see how and for how long it affects Ruby’s BG.
 
Maybe have Katherine write it out in human speak:)
You'll get the full human speak report, Jan!
I've never had it done but it sounds really good right now.

Little lady needs to come down a little bit though!
I've had great experiences with acupuncture for pain and stress. We'll see what it can do for Miss Ruby. And yeah, show us some greens today, Rubes!

When do you give her the Pred? I am curious to see how and for how long it affects Ruby’s BG.
I give her the pred in the morning right after her AMPS test, but the effect of it seems a unpredictable. I see a pattern of steep drops following highs, but I don't really know where she goes when I'm asleep, like last night. The 157 this morning surprised me a little. I'm going to talk to the vet today about getting a Libre on her so I can get a 24/7 view.

Would be curious to hear your astute observations on Ruby's BGs, Marina.
 
Hope the little pincushion comes out of her acupuncture appointment feeling better! Healing vibes all around <3

(Thinking about it, how do you even tell which poops are Ruby's and which are Olive's...?)
 
Hope the little pincushion comes out of her acupuncture appointment feeling better! Healing vibes all around <3

(Thinking about it, how do you even tell which poops are Ruby's and which are Olive's...?)
Thanks for the good vibes, Wendy!

I saw Ruby do her thing in the LB this morning. She is a real digger and spends a good 5-10 minutes scattering litter all over the place before she decides it’s time, so if I’m awake and at home I can hear her at it long before the deed is done. :smuggrin: When I don’t see it happen, Ruby buries hers really well whereas Olive can’t be bothered, but this is an imperfect method of distinguishing. :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
The 157 this morning surprised me a little. I'm going to talk to the vet today about getting a Libre on her so I can get a 24/7 view.

Would be curious to hear your astute observations on Ruby's BGs, Marina.
Haha, its way too early to be able to make any sense of the numbers :D i was actually trying to make sense of the higher AMPS last 3 days, that’s why i was asking about how often you give her the pred. libre is a great idea though :)

if i do see any patterns you will be the first to know, promise :D
 
We're back from the vet and I am so proud of my brave Ruby-kins for having endured acupuncture! She was really good through the whole thing and the vet had nice lights and night sounds set up in the room to keep her engaged and distracted. She also got aquapuncture, where the vet administered B12 injections in the acupuncture sites to help with her appetite and to increase the effects of the treatment (I never knew about this!).

Some videos and photos I took if anyone is curious: https://www.icloud.com/sharedalbum/#B19GY8gBYGlCnaR

It looks like she's got vetty stress BG but hopefully she will start coming down.
 
Not sure if I should increase Ruby’s dose tomorrow. She has seen numbers in the 60s in the past few days but she floated high today and yesterday during the AM cycles. Of course I can watch her if we go up to .25. Maybe not the safest idea? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
It does look like Ruby's numbers are up from the Pred. I am having touble viewing your SS. I'm happy you found an acupuncturist. I would like to try that.. but I am sure we won't have one in my area... probably in Atlanta... and that's too far for cats to have to travel on a regular basis -- except for life saving emergencies.

Love to you and Ruby, though... I haven't forgotten about you!
 
It does look like Ruby's numbers are up from the Pred. I am having touble viewing your SS. I'm happy you found an acupuncturist. I would like to try that.. but I am sure we won't have one in my area... probably in Atlanta... and that's too far for cats to have to travel on a regular basis -- except for life saving emergencies.

Love to you and Ruby, though... I haven't forgotten about you!
Oh Suzanne! You have your hands full with poor Mr. Darcy, so I really appreciate you doing a drive-by of Ruby's condo. That's concerning that you can't see the SS...

I found the acupuncturist here: https://www.tcvm.net/. I bet since you're closer to where Chi U is you'd be able to find a certified veterinary acupuncturist in your area. Ruby ate really well after the treatment and was being vocal and sassy with me tonight--a sign she is feeling better even though her numbers are up but I'm ok as long as they stay blue.

Big big hugs to you and Darcy! :bighug:
 
Nice pictures :cat: Ruby seems so calm :cat:

i had no idea acupuncture i an option for cats, you will have to update us all about the benefits since i am pretty certain you are one of the first on the forum to try it :)

i would have done just like you did regarding the dose, keep the dose at 0.1 tonight, since she saw that 66 only yesterday night but look at increasing soon.

you two are a great team :cat::) i am sure you will find a new balance
 
Back
Top