6/15 Pearl PMPS 87, +2.25 77, +4 77 question at bottom

Ok...the dilemma. Pearl has been in her usual green numbers now for at least 16 cycles (if you ignore the cycles with food experiments). If you count the food experiments, she has been green since I figured out what food to use - about 6 cycles now. I don't want her to settle in at this dose and develop some glucose toxicity. It's clear to me the new food doesn't cause her to jump up to blue, so my inclination is to reduce her on Thursday morning (tomorrow is Pred day so I won't reduce then).

What do you think? I've done a reduction like this once before (when food experiments interfered with her green streak - she always comes right back down after the experiments are over, and held the reduction last time). The only thing about this time that is different is the number of consecutive cycles I was experimenting (and so, keeping her in blue). It also doesn't concern me that she has higher green numbers - green is green in our world, and her usual tends to be not super low green.
 
Last edited:
Margaret,
The more I look at Pearl's SS, the more I like your idea of reducing Thursday morning.
It is true, you don't want to hold the dose too long. I like your reasoning, and I think you know Pearl well.
So, you have my up vote, lol! Now Ms. Pearl, might you cooperate?! I sure hope the new food continues to please your little doll.
It would be nice to see if anyone else agrees, or thinks you should wait longer to decrease.
Wishing you well:bighug::):cat::cat::bighug:
 
I think you should try the reduction. She's done well when you've attempted it in the recent past.
I don't want her to settle in at this dose and develop some glucose toxicity.
With glucose toxicity, you'd be taking the dose up rather than down to break through any resistance the cat has developed to insulin from living in high numbers for too long. Usually kitties experiencing that have higher numbers than Pearl, so I don't think that is a concern.
 
Back
Top