6/15 Pat's Shadow AMPS=221

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Very Active Member
6/14
AMPS=249 ~.75u Lev (22nd cycle)
+4=366
+8=318
PMPS=283 ~.75u Lev
+4=227
+8=212
AMPS=221 ~F.75u Lev (increase dose first cycle)

Yesterday
Morning! Shadow has 3 Ps so far this morning. He ate a lick or two and then stopped. I offered some Gravy Lovers FF but he turned away and jumped down. Then, I offered some Young Again dry zero carb....he ate that in the middle of the living room floor. It kept him busy for awhile. LOL. Meanwhile, back on the table....I had to take his dish away since Raja was ready to eat what was left. He went back to her bowl quite a few times during the next hour or so and managed to nibble more LC foods. They both ate around the boiled chicken pieces I lovingly placed on top of the mound of FF Turkey & Giblets after I had heated it all in the micro. Humph!
I thought it was a good idea but they obviously did not....at least, not this morning! :lol:

I read that sometimes it is good to change the place where you feed them if they are having trouble eating. So, I have tried a few places so far. And they are back to eating right next to each other. I'll ty just about anything to get them to eat!! :lol:

I just brushed Shadow on my bed. Ready for the next scheduled snack. Sigh. I give them both pepcid in a tiny bit of Greenies at both 12:30 AM/PM which is a half hour before their +4 snack. So, that's what they get for nausea in answer to your question Dyana...if you are there... :mrgreen:

Hope you all have a great day today! Sending loving thoughts and many hugs!
 
Maybe, I'm wrong, but I thought Pepcid was for tummy acid, and Ondansetron was for nausea.

J.D. gets Pepcid everyday because if I don't give it, especially at night time, he throws up bile in the wee hours of the morning, because his tummy is empty.

When he goes to his food and licks his lips and walks away, or acts hungry but won't eat or won't eat much, then I give him Ondansetron for nausea. Nausea is the feeling that you're going to throw up and so don't want to eat. Throwing up is the act, and can be caused by lots of different things, like scarf and barf, hairballs, tummy acid, eating bad things, etc. Sorry, if it's hard to explain or maybe my understanding is wrong. I just know the Ondansetron helps J.D. to eat, and the Pepcid helps him with morning tummy acid.

That's just my understanding of how the medications work.
 
Pat

I agree 150% with Dyana. If they are not throwing up bile or a foamy liquid, they likely do not have an acid tummy. Antacids should not be used if they don't have an acid tummy. Cats (and people) need acid to begin the digestive process. If you are prohibiting the acid, you are decreasing their ability to start digestion.

If they are nauseated (lip licking, looking and smelling of food but walking off), then I would get a script for ondansetron/zofran as Dyana suggested.

Are either of them in CKD? CKD kitties, like my Gus and like JD, often need pepcid AC because they do have acid tummies. Sending healing vines!
 
Hi Pat,
Dyana and Marje gave you some great info. I always wondered what the rationale was for these digestive meds, too. I hope that Shad-0 will continue to eat, even if he didn't like the lovely meal you prepared for him. Rusty doesn't like food heated in the microwave. Maybe Shadow doesn't, either. I heat up Rusty's dish with hot water and add a little hot water to his food.

Have a good weekend,

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Shadow IS prone to throwing up bile...and clear liquid so that is why he gets the Pepcid like J.D.
He has been given Cernenia for nausea when I have brought him in to the vet office with Ptitis....and
she said to bring him in for that shot if he still seemed nauseaus.
It's hard to say with him....but I have noticed that after throwing up a hairball, he usually goes through a time of not wanting to eat. I have given him Carfate to coat his stomach for that too.....
Thanks for the input everyone!!

Oh and thanks Ella....I always use heated water added to their food and only tried heating the food itself lately in the micro...trying everything I can think of to see if it will entice him....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top