Heather and Sox
Member Since 2024
Hi everyone, my boy Sox was diagnosed last August and put on 1 unit of vetsulin 2x a day. The vet never told me about home testing so I never did (kicking my self now). On 1 unit his symptoms disappeared almost immediately and everything was going great until last Saturday. He gets his shots at 6 A.M. and 6 P.M. and last Saturday at 9:30 A.M. he was disoriented, his back legs were weak, he looked like he didn't know where he was and started falling to the side when trying to walk. I was panicking but I got honey and was putting it on his gums while my husband got the cat carrier and we rushed him to the emergency vet. His BG was 60 and they kept him most of the day. The emergency vet reduced his dose to .5 and I bought a human glucose meter. I did a lot of testing on him through the week. I haven't created a spreadsheet yet so I will post his last curve from 6/13:
AMPS 242
+2 216
+4 120
+6 159
+8 196
+10 191
PMPS. 252
I couldn't get his ear to bleed so I didn't test after the PM shot.
His vet was happy he was responding so well to .5 units and said to keep him on that. I just feel so nervous after his hypo event. This morning his preshot BG was 208 and I wasn't sure if I should give him the shot but I did since he was over 200 but now I'm a nervous wreck. Was I right in giving him the shot?
The vet wants me to test at 10:00 since that seems to be his nadir. I'll be watching him closely for any hypo symptoms.
Thank you!!
Heather and Sox
AMPS 242
+2 216
+4 120
+6 159
+8 196
+10 191
PMPS. 252
I couldn't get his ear to bleed so I didn't test after the PM shot.
His vet was happy he was responding so well to .5 units and said to keep him on that. I just feel so nervous after his hypo event. This morning his preshot BG was 208 and I wasn't sure if I should give him the shot but I did since he was over 200 but now I'm a nervous wreck. Was I right in giving him the shot?
The vet wants me to test at 10:00 since that seems to be his nadir. I'll be watching him closely for any hypo symptoms.
Thank you!!
Heather and Sox