6-15 macho amps 291 +2 283 increase dose?

Garciacat

Member Since 2021
Advice please. i'm greatly appreciated. he is waiting right now for food and his insulin.
Thank you!
 
Hey Garcia!

When you're not sure about shooting, you can stall, DON'T feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see which direction the BG is going. If it goes up without food, that's a pretty good indication that it's OK to go ahead and shoot the scheduled dose. Remember, you're not shooting the number he's at now....since the shot doesn't usually start to "kick in" for 2-3 hours, he will have eaten by then which will prop his numbers up. It's almost always fine to shoot even if he's lower than you're used to so the stalling is really more for you than Macho. Once you've got a few weeks of testing, we will suggest you shoot the scheduled dose if he's above 150 and then gradually drop that number even further. I'd shoot China if she was above 50 (once I had enough data and experience and fully understood how Lantus worked in MY cat and how she responded to food)

You might want to read (or re-read) this thread on How to handle low pre-shot numbers.

If you're doing TR, you're also holding the dose too long. If you're not getting nadir's in the blues or greens, you can increase as often as every 3 days (6 cycles)

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.

Can you get some tests on the PM cycle other than just the +2? It's great that you're getting those, but if you could get some tests at other points (at least occasionally) it will be helpful. A lot of us drink a big glass of water in the evening so we "have to" get up later in the night...and as long as we're up anyway, we grab a test!
 
"If you're doing TR, you're also holding the dose too long."
I ASKED HERE AND SOMEONE TOLD ME TO HOLD THE DOSIS. ITS VERY unfortunate THAT you are telling me that.
 
I ASKED HERE AND SOMEONE TOLD ME TO HOLD THE DOSIS. ITS VERY unfortunate THAT you are telling me that.

It depends on the circumstances of that day and the last few days. There's no "one size fits all". If it was soon after one of those green nadir's, then yes, you'd want to hold the dose a little longer to see if he hit green again. As a general rule, if the nadir isn't getting him where you want him within 6 cycles, it's time to go up.

Posting daily will help (if you can)...even if you don't have any particular question. It will help to get people's eyes on Macho's spreadsheet
 
Today nadir was 124. "If you're not getting nadir's in the blues or greens, you can increase as often as every 3 days (6 cycles)".
I'm going to hold the dose.
 
Back
Top