6/15 Luna AMPS 267, +6 164, PMPS 129, +3 319

For_Luna

Member Since 2019
So we started a new Lantus pen last night and we're getting better numbers today. Coincidence? Maybe. But Luna's PMPS is 129. We have an interesting night ahead.

Do we still need to increase to 1u?

Someone said we need to do random tests to find out when her nadir is. I agree. I can't tell. I think it's later than +6. She bounces after every low. Any thoughts?
 
I can't help stopping by when I see your post with her cute little face! :cat:

I'm not a dosing expert at all, but if it were my kitty I would increase to 1u, because you still have quite a few high numbers and even with some numbers under 200, the protocol says to increase after a maximum of 10 cycles and you are on the same dose since 12 cycles now! That's just my own opinion; now, let's see what the experts will say!
I'll keep watching to learn! :)
 
I can't help stopping by when I see your post with her cute little face! :cat:

I'm not a dosing expert at all, but if it were my kitty I would increase to 1u, because you still have quite a few high numbers and even with some numbers under 200, the protocol says to increase after a maximum of 10 cycles and you are on the same dose since 12 cycles now! That's just my own opinion; now, let's see what the experts will say!
I'll keep watching to learn! :)
Thank you. Whenever we take her to a new vet, they all say the same thing.

I agree, she's had high numbers, but we just switched to a new Lantus pen last night and today she had low numbers. I don't know enough about anything, but I'm wondering if the 5 month old pen we were using lost its potency.

P.S. here's one of my favorite photos. Back from her fat (8 lb) days
IMG_20170202_171221.jpg
 
Thank you. Whenever we take her to a new vet, they all say the same thing.

I agree, she's had high numbers, but we just switched to a new Lantus pen last night and today she had low numbers. I don't know enough about anything, but I'm wondering if the 5 month old pen we were using lost its potency.

P.S. here's one of my favorite photos. Back from her fat (8 lb) daysView attachment 45625
What a nice picture of your sweetie little girl!!:)
Normally if insulin was kept refrigerated and is still clear without any suspension, it should be all right!. Mine lasts at least 5 months and I use it till the last drop and never had any problems!
If you are not sure about increasing, just keep current dosage and give her another day! You'll see what tomorrow brings! You have to be at ease with all this !:)
 
Are you able to do a curve (testing every 2 hours during the day)? That will fill in some of the blanks and help you figure out where the nadir is and how low Luna is going on a dose. It does look like Luna needs an increase. Since you got the 104 before you started the new pen I don't think it is the pen.
 
Back
Top