6/15 Kaia PMPS 48

Status
Not open for further replies.

JBat75

Member Since 2022
Kaia has been doing better (I think) until today. (Day before I leave for 4 days) Her BG started HI this morning and through the afternoon, then it started dropping. I probably should have given less insulin but was worried it would go high again after eating. Well, all night it just kept dropping.... I panicked at 48 and gave her snacks and corn syrup. It raised it quick. But I'm still confused why this happened. Any ideas??
 
It looks like she was coming off a bounce and when they do that they can drop lower than they normally do.
Who is looking after her while you are away? Are they going to be testing the BGs?
You will need to reduce the dose. I see she had DKA end of last year.
***Have you asked for a vacation dose for her while you are away
I will tag @FrostD about the dose as she uses Prozinc.
Are you still monitoring her?
 
Last edited:
My sister will be watching her while I'm away. But she works during the day. She only checks her glucose before her shot. If I tell my husband I don't want to go on our planned trip, he'll be upset. Is it because I opened a new bottle of insulin? Ugh... IM SO WORRIED
 
It's time for morning insulin. I have a Libre attached for my sister. Her BG with the Libre was 460.. with the Relion is 350. Not even close. I'm worried about leaving her
 
It's time for morning insulin. I have a Libre attached for my sister. Her BG with the Libre was 460.. with the Relion is 350. Not even close. I'm worried about leaving her
Make sure you reduce the AMPS dose to 2.25 units and then wait for Melissa to give you the vacation dose.
 
I just want to confirm she's still on ProZinc? I thought I recalled reading somewhere you were switching to Lantus and got a pen for something like $35...
 
I'm afraid to leave. Were about ready. I don't know how anyone with sick kids can make plans. The only person I have to help me is my sister, and she's not too helpful. I have boarded her in the past, but she quit eating whenever I did that
 
For vacation - I would do 2.25U if above 300, 1.75U if 200-299, 0.25U if 150-199, skip anything under 150.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top