6/15 Jack the Cat AMPS 155, +2 106, +4 45, +4.5 54, +6.5 104, +10 219, PMPS 272

Jack the Cat

Member Since 2019
Good number for this morning. Dose .5 unit.

Plan to test every 2 hours today to get a picture of where he is.

Happy Saturday.
 
Just test +6.5 104 value. I think, and you all tell me if I am wrong...I finally got him to wet food only x2 daily when dosing, but I have to be out of town part of this and most of next week and am thinking of telling the cat sitter to give him some kibble to graze during the day. I haven't done that with wet food since I am going to be gone an plan to start with wet when I get home and will be home for a while.

Is that an ok thing? Am just thinking he dives down so fast when he doesn't have food in the morning after dosing.

And I don't think there is a lower dose that .25?

It may be tricky for me to get an accurate dose of .25 since I don't have those syringes yet....

But oh happy day he is back in the 100's.

Thanks, Jane
 
Remind me of the particulars again. When do leave? How long are you gone? How often is the pet sitter coming in? The answers will help me formulate an answer to your questions.

To answer the question of a lower dose than 0.25, yes 0.1 which is right under the zero line marking on the syringes ( I am presently giving that dose to Bubba). And the drop dose which is smaller yet.
 
I think you definitely need to take the reduction since you will be gone later this week and next week. We usually recommend a vacation dose for the petsitter to keep the cat safe. Will the petsitter be testing any?
 
Yes am going to ask petsitter to test as she has had experience with diabetic cats...that's why we hired her. Hopefully she agrees. Jack's capillaries are in for sure!

We leave Thursday afternoon and return 1 week Thursday evening.

Petsitter will come x 2 a day at 6:30 am and 6:30 pm to feed and to dose Jack the Cat his Lantis insulin.

I will have other friends checking in on the boys, but Jack doesn't show any symptoms of hypo so it will just to make sure he is alive and kicking, so to speak.

Just took Jack's +10 reading and is up to 219.

Am crazed by where his numbers are...so much up and down. I did give 2T of kibble this afternoon, but 1T is still there.

Will be glad when this trip is over so I can concentrate on Jack and getting him into normal ranges.

Thanks, Jane
 
Am crazed by where his numbers are...so much up and down. I did give 2T of kibble this afternoon, but 1T is still there.

We have seen cats here who just ate a couple of pieces of kibble and it sent their BG up 200 points, so if he ate a Tablespoon, that could be what cause him to go higher today

And I don't think there is a lower dose that .25?

It may be tricky for me to get an accurate dose of .25 since I don't have those syringes yet....

I would reduce the dose to .1......cat's can't be depended on to eat as much when things are "different" in the house. Better safe than sorry!

Better for him to run in the 200's than to drop too low even once. Higher numbers take time to do any damage. Low ones kill quickly.

Can you get to a WalMart? They have syringes with half unit markings. Their 3/10ml, 31 gauge, 6 or 8mm insulin syringes all have half unit marks (no matter what they might tell you)

Here's what .1 looks like, but you'll definitely need to make sure your petsitter can replicate it as close as possible.
.1 unit.PNG
 
Thank for the illustration. That will really help.

Unfortunately for right now, I have tried the shorter needles and I can't the shot through Jack's tough skin. I current use .5 inch and it works for two reasons; 1) I can get the insulin into his body and 2) I know the shot is successful as he twitches just a tiny bit when I get the shot through his skin.

I have ordered the .5 inch needles with the half unit markings...they arrive next week.

And now I know to just give a couple of pieces of kibble and not a measured amount.

Thanks for all you guidance and encouragement.
 
Back
Top