6/15 Hershey PMPS(373) +9(416)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +8.5(49) +9(60)

Just gave Hershey another Tablespoon, so now he's had a little over half the can! :o :o Gave Oreo a T, too, so maybe he wouldn't feel so neglected. ;-)

Going to leave a mixture out, but I have no idea that he'll eat much more...TIGHT TUMMY!!! (Right about 5-oz total food since +6!!)

Leaving as soon as we test. It's been :15, so it's +9.25 (61)
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +8.5(49) +9(60)

yeesh. he's not coming up much at all. i dunno doug & libby.
i'm not so sure he'll stay up while you're gone... especially since his tummy is probably full.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +8.5(49) +9(60)

He's currently eating like there's no tomorrow...don't know what else to do...........

How long do you think we might have? Was thinking we could go eat (maybe I could rush it a little) come home and check him...

He's finishing off the HC can mixed with 1/2 regular meal...I don't remember ever seeing him eat THIS much! :o
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +8.5(49) +9(60)

Doug N Libby said:
He's currently eating like there's no tomorrow...don't know what else to do...........

How long do you think we might have? Was thinking we could go eat (maybe I could rush it a little) come home and check him...

He's finishing off the HC can mixed with 1/2 regular meal...I don't remember ever seeing him eat THIS much! :o
i wish i had a magic answer for you, but i can't *guess* and possibly put hershey at risk.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey PMPS(394)

Just in from supper. We're at +11.75 - I dumped the food that was left and tested him (well, tested first ;-) )

+11.75 (394)
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey PMPS(394)

A well deserved bounce to go along with that dose reduction.

Slow down Hershey, this is not a race!
Carl
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey PMPS(394)

ouch!

I see two options:

1) As I mentioned earlier, Hershey has earned a reduction. Given how stubborn he was about holding onto the 30s, I really think he needs a reduction to 0.25u BID instead of just a shave to 0.4u. If the reduction doesn't hold, you can always go back up again. It's your call, but that is my opinion.

OR

2) you can shoot through the bounce. Even though Hershey earned a reduction today, you have the option of shooting the old dose (0.5u) one more time. The extra insulin might help him clear the bounce faster. The big caveat here is that we don't have data to determine how long Hershey's bounce might last. It could last for days, or it could last for hours. His bounce might start to clear tonight, which would involve heavy testing in the latter part of the cycle again. Even if you shoot 0.5u tonight, still reduce to 0.25u in the morning because you don't want to still be shooting 0.5u when the bounce clears.

And even if you go ahead and reduce tonight, you'll still want to get at least a before bed spot check. There will still be some action from the depot affecting tonight's shot, so you'll want to be aware of where he is before you go to bed just in case his numbers need to be steered tonight. They probably won't, but it's best to be sure.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey PMPS(373) Shot .25u

PMPS (373) +12 - Shot .25u at 8:45pm - Fed 1/2 meal

Figured it best to go with the .25u. I've seen his bounces clear quickly and seen a couple of times it seemed to take a few cycles. Headed over to my friend's house to visit a little while and will check him when we get home.

I can't believe he's actually eating...didn't think he'd eat anything at all. Wish I'd remembered earlier about taking her out tonight...glad Jessica mentioned it. How awful it would've been to have stood her up! :o
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey PMPS(373) Shot .25u

it's handy to have a cat that you know you can count on to eat. I never had to worry about whether Lucy would eat, which was a relief.

Maybe you'll get to catch up on your sleep tonight. You've done great work the past couple of days.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey PMPS(373) Shot .25u

Doug N Libby said:
PMPS (373) +12 - Shot .25u at 8:45pm

Figured it best to go with the .25u. I've seen his bounces clear quickly and seen a couple of times it seemed to take a few cycles. Headed over to my friend's house to visit a little while and will check him when we get home.
sounds good... have fun! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey PMPS(373) Shot .25u

Now, please stick with the .25u and let all the bounces clear. If you raise back up again too soon you will obscure his true insulin needs. This might take 3-4 days. If you can not help yourself because others here say raise the dose, please only make it a tiny amount - like .1u to .35u. When below .5u (and maybe 1u), even .05u makes a difference. Beau's SS is proof of that.

If you raise too much and/or too soon you will find yourself in a frustrating place where .5u is too much (already proven) and .4u seems like too little, when, in fact, both are too much.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey PMPS(373) +3(341)

+3 (341)

Exhausted - don't know if it's the erratic sleep or the events of the day...hoping to grab a nap before the +6 test at 2:45am

Thank you, again, to everyone who checked in on us, encouraged us, held our hands, gave advice...for EVERYTHING you did for us today and for helping us on this new journey! :-D

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey PMPS(373) +3(341)

And this would be why some of us recommended starting at .25u.

But hey, you learned a lot in the process, especially about how Lev works for him. It works very very well. Being able to hold steady BGs within a few cycles of starting it is awesome. Very few people have that happen right away.

You also saw that 30s are not a crisis on Levemir, although sometimes they have bad timing!

He is going to have higher BGs for a few cycles now while this huge rebound clears. I know it's tempting to raise the dose again, but hang on. Things will get much better. The lower dose will also have more control over the cycle. You want a cycle like the ones on the 14th, but with lower BGs.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +8.5(49) +9(60)

Jill & Alex said:
Doug N Libby said:
He's currently eating like there's no tomorrow...don't know what else to do...........

How long do you think we might have? Was thinking we could go eat (maybe I could rush it a little) come home and check him...

He's finishing off the HC can mixed with 1/2 regular meal...I don't remember ever seeing him eat THIS much! :o
i wish i had a magic answer for you, but i can't *guess* and possibly put hershey at risk.


Oh good, you also have an eater when he goes low. I did too. It's what helped me feel comfortable to shoot an 80 and leave for work. No, you can't always depend on it if they happen to not feel well, but you guys follow his habits well enough, you will know when he doesn't feel like eating.
 
+6 (346)
+9 (416)

Yes, we did learn a lot. Hershey dropped low a few times on ProZinc, continued to act normal, ate whatever was offered and his numbers almost always came back up on his regular food. But, yesterday he was very appreciative of the HC! :-D

I hope he and Lev continue to like each other!!

Thanks, again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top