6/15 Hershey PMPS(373) +9(416)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
AMPS (132) - Do we stall or shoot a token? And, if a token, how much?

Jill had advised not to shoot a full dose on a PS under (150). We'll be home all day, as far as I know


AMPS (135) Almost +12.5 - Shot .5u at 8:25am
+2 (236)
+4.5 (124)
+6 (36) - Ate full meal
Almost +6.5 (35) - Gave 1/16 reg meal
+6.75 (29) - Gave 2tsp Friskies Prime Fillets Salmon with Beef in sauce 19% carbs
+7 (32)
+7.25 (35) - Gave 2 tsp HC
+7.50 (46)
+7.75 (44)
Just past +8 (52)
+8.5 (49) - Gave 2 tsp HC
+9 (60) - Gave T HC trying to get out the door to supper
+9.25 (61) - Gave T HC and leaving mixture of regular and HC out
Now finishing off the rest of the HC can mixed with 1/2 regular meal

+11.75 (394) Dumped food mixture that was left

PMPS (373) +12 - Shot .25u at 8:45pm - Fed 1/2 meal
+3 (341)
+6 (346)
+9 (416)


*Edit +7.5 should've been (46) not (48)
 
Re: **6/15 Hershey AMPS(132) Stall or shoot a token???

I just posted in your other condo.

She said that because we want to know if you'll be home, and also because we like to see if he is surfing or dropping or what. Since this is a surf, you'll be home, you're good at low numbers if they arise, and his data shows that he will probably keep rising for at least 2-3 hours, I think you're good to shoot full dose. Then get a +2. What do you feel comfortable with?
 
Re: **6/15 Hershey AMPS(132) Stall or shoot a token???

We're comfortable shooting the full dose. Do we need to retest since it's been a few or not worry about it?
 
Re: **6/15 Hershey AMPS(132) Stall or shoot a token???

I don't think you need to worry about it if it has only been about 15-20 minutes. Plan on getting that +2 so you can catch it if he decides to drop early. I'll check back in when I get to work. Great job!
 
Re: **6/15 Hershey AMPS(132) Stall or shoot a token???

Doug N Libby said:
AMPS (132) - Do we stall or shoot a token? And, if a token, how much?

Jill had advised not to shoot a full dose on a PS under (150).
without guidance because...
Libby and Lucy said:
She said that because we want to know if you'll be home, and also because we like to see if he is surfing or dropping or what. Since this is a surf, you'll be home, you're good at low numbers if they arise, and his data shows that he will probably keep rising for at least 2-3 hours, I think you're good to shoot full dose. Then get a +2. What do you feel comfortable with?


got strips? got HC? got milk? just kidding about the milk!

if you'll be home to monitor, shoooooooooooooooooooot! this is what you're working towards.


edited to add:
saw your post. i am so slow at typing. if it hasn't been more than 30 minutes since you last tested i wouldn't bother re-testing.

see you at +2...
 
Re: **6/15 Hershey AMPS(132) Stall or shoot a token???

AMPS (132) at 7:50am
Retest (135) at 8:23am - SO -

AMPS (135) +12.5 - Shot .5u at 8:25am

Will test at +2 - Going to grab a nap -

So, how do we back him up to shoot at 8am on Sunday morning?? THANKS!
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) Shot .5u

let's see how things go. depending on numbers, you might be able to move his shot back 30 minutes all at once. otherwise, you can adjust in increments of 15 minutes. you only need to adjust by 30 minutes total. it's not a biggie...
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) Shot .5u

I know it's not many minutes, at this point. On ProZinc we tried not to move him more than :20 each shot because sometimes we never knew how he'd react. Didn't want to let him get too far of the 8 shot time. Don't want to be late for church on Father's Day. :-D THANK YOU, Libby and Jill!!!! Y'all were literally "right on time!" :-D

I-) I-) I-) I-)
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) Shot .5u

Yea!! Hershey had hangtime*! As for moving the shot time back to 8AM, since it's such little bit of time and you have 4 cycles to do it, just go back 5 or 10 minutes each cycle. I rarely say make that many time changes, but it's so little time I don't think it will make a difference, unless he's already OTJ by then :lol:

If you exactly timed when you give shots, it's not to the minute every day. Unless you're OCD and have 5 alarm clocks going.

* Hangtime is when their BGs remain steady over several hours. Steady means not rising significantly and being within 20-30 points.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) Shot .5u

Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin said:
Yea!! Hershey had hangtime*! As for moving the shot time back to 8AM, since it's such little bit of time and you have 4 cycles to do it, just go back 5 or 10 minutes each cycle. I rarely say make that many time changes, but it's so little time I don't think it will make a difference, unless he's already OTJ by then :lol:

:lol: :lol: :lol: WOW. who would've believed you'd hear THAT on the third cycle???!!!

Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin said:
Unless you're OCD and have 5 alarm clocks going.

Our lives revolve around our extra sweet kitties, we wake up all hours to test them, sometimes use multiple meters simultaneously... who would EVER think we were a little OCD???!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +2(236)

+2 (236), so I'm thinking skip the +3 and catch a +4?

Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin said:
Yea!! Hershey had hangtime*! As for moving the shot time back to 8AM, since it's such little bit of time and you have 4 cycles to do it, just go back 5 or 10 minutes each cycle. I rarely say make that many time changes, but it's so little time I don't think it will make a difference, unless he's already OTJ by then :lol:

If you exactly timed when you give shots, it's not to the minute every day. Unless you're OCD and have 5 alarm clocks going.

* Hangtime is when their BGs remain steady over several hours. Steady means not rising significantly and being within 20-30 points.

Thanks, Vicky - for the explanation. I do have some OCD tendencies, especially about my kids (furry and not) ;-) , and try to always go by the same clock since for some reason every clock in my house has a different time. :roll:

Grayson & Lu said:
Our lives revolve around our extra sweet kitties, we wake up all hours to test them, sometimes use multiple meters simultaneously... who would EVER think we were a little OCD???!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

:o :o Lu - I can't imagine anyone ever insinuating that YOU have OCD tendencies :lol: :lol: But, my sister says we're okay as long as we recognize them. ;-)
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +2(236)

Doug N Libby said:
+2 (236), so I'm thinking skip the +3 and catch a +4?
makes sense to me. his numbers rose as expected, but you always want to double check when shooting lower preshots at least the first few times... just in case kitty decides to do otherwise.


edited to add: is the +2 216 or 236?
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +2(236)

Hershey has had a rise of about 100 points every cycle by +2 or +3. That's typical, right? Rise from eating?

So far his consistency is amazing to see.
Carl
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +2(236) +4.5(124)

Doug here, missed the +4(overslept) but the +5 was 124. Looks like he is really liking the Lev stuff. Maybe he'll even get to ride in some greens today, those blues sure do look good :-D
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +2(236)+5(124)

Doug N Libby said:
Doug here, missed the +4(overslept) but the +5 was 124. Looks like he is really liking the Lev stuff. Maybe he'll even get to ride in some greens today, those blues sure do look good :-D
looking good!
if you shot at 8:25am (ET) he'd be at about +4.5 right now... or am i off?
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +2(236)

Doug N Libby said:
Grayson & Lu said:
Our lives revolve around our extra sweet kitties, we wake up all hours to test them, sometimes use multiple meters simultaneously... who would EVER think we were a little OCD???!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

:o :o Lu - I can't imagine anyone ever insinuating that YOU have OCD tendencies :lol: :lol: But, my sister says we're okay as long as we recognize them. ;-)

I prefer to use the term "thorough"... think anyone will buy it? ;-)
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +2(236)

Carl & Bob in SC said:
Hershey has had a rise of about 100 points every cycle by +2 or +3. That's typical, right? Rise from eating?

So far his consistency is amazing to see.
Carl
yes, a rise from eating is typical with *most* cats, but not all.

typically a cat will almost always rise after shooting (and eating) if the shot is preceded by a surf. feeding tends to put the brakes on and slow things down on whatever action is leftover from the previous shot. however, it's prudent to get an early spot check or two because as soon as we think we've figured things out... kitty throws a curve ball. it's just their way of keeping us on our toes! :lol:
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +2(236)+5(124)

I'm surprised you're seeing so much of a rise. Grayson typically has a 30 point rise from a can of FF. 45-50 if he eats 2 cans. The food spikes seem to last longer on Lev than on ProZinc - or maybe it's just that PZI was kicking in (onset) faster. Interesting that he's having so much of a spike, given his quantity of food, and that he didn't really seem to spike on ProZinc.... Hmmmmm... SCDD!
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +2(236)+5(124)

Grayson & Lu said:
The food spikes seem to last longer on Lev than on ProZinc - or maybe it's just that PZI was kicking in (onset) faster.
it's probably because the *typical* onset of levemir vs prozinc is later...
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +2(236) +4.5(124)

Good catch, Jill. It's +4.5. Did the same thing at +2, ended up testing at +1.5 and at +2. (Hershey's such a good sport!) Get into the groove of 'on the hour' and don't easily transition to the 1/2-hour. :smile:

Grayson & Lu said:
I prefer to use the term "thorough"... think anyone will buy it? ;-)
Sure, Lu - we'll go with that ;-)

Hershey used to consistently show a rise after eating, but doesn't always anymore. He likes teaching me new tricks! :-D

But, that spike is the main reason I stopped testing before +3 on ProZinc, seemed to be a wasted test because it was just showing me the food spike. I did test earlier when we went TID.

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.5(124) +6(36)

Not :20 ago I remarked to Doug that Hershey was lower at +2 than the +3 on the cycle he saw (57) at +8.

+6 (36) :o He's eating now.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.5(124) +6(36)

good, you're on it. Try not to feed too much at once. Because Levemir nadirs late, it is not unusual for the numbers to wobble up and down for a while as the food wears off. Please check again in 20-30 minutes to be sure the food halted the drop.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.5(124) +6(36)

WOW!!! I'm seeing LOTSA tests in your future!!!

Does he act the same at 36 on Lev as he did on 36 ProZinc? (which was NORMAL)???
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.5(124) +6(36)

Here's the rub - we're taking a friend out tonight for her birthday. Now, I'm wondering when he'll be safe to leave so I can try to go ahead and move the time to leave. It's almost 2:45pm and originally we wanted to leave at 4:30pm. Wondering if 5pm would be safer or if we should try to push it off to leave at 6...

Will retest when Hershey's finished eating...
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +4.5(124) +6(36)

hmmm, so far his nadir has been around +8 or +9, so that would be 5-ish. Once he gets past +8 and if he's still stable, then you can plop down a bunch of food (HC or LC, depending on where he is and your comfort) and leave. Depending on the numbers, of course. Sometimes when I knew I had to go out or go to bed, I would just feed HC at every test for a little while just to get the numbers bumped up high enough that I was comfy. Up to you, you have a good feel for Hershey.

There's also the possibility that he could bounce from this number, so if he starts to really zoom upward then you can go earlier.

This is a dose reduction. If he bounces, it can be helpful to shoot the old dose one last time to help him overcome the bounce. Hershey's bounces are so short that it might not be necessary to do that. How much to reduce? Our protocol calls for 0.25 reductions in a newly diagnosed cat (and yes, Hershey still counts as "newly diagnosed"). Usually we recommend taking 0.25u reductions unless the cat proves that he can't handle that big a reduction. Most cats can handle 0.25u reductions just fine. Shaving to 0.4u is also an option. You say that Hershey has been very sensitive to small dose changes in the past, so what is your opinion?
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +6(36) Almost +6.5(35)

Wish I had fed him a little less at +6, but it was too late by the time it hit me. I was just in a hurry to get him some food, you know?

Almost +6.5 (35) Fed another 1/4 meal ~.5-oz

Hoping he comes up so I can get a feel for when he'll be safe to leave. Rather not have to break out anything higher carb, if we can help it. And, then how do I make sure he's the one who'll get it and not Oreo...hoping the next hour will tell us something definitive...
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +6(36) Almost +6.5(35)

at least you know you have the gravy food in your back pocket, so to speak. Hershey is a reliable eater, right?

My usual routine would be 2 tsp of low carb, then if that didn't put on the brakes add a little gravy from the HC to 2 tsp of low carb, or just use 2 tsp of high carb food. It can take longer than one test for the low carb to kick in, so hopefully you'll see a rise at the next test. If not, then some gravy wouldn't be a bad idea.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) Almost +6.5(35) :20(29)

Yes, Hershey is a reliable eater :smile:

:20 retest (29) so almost +7

Broke out the Friskies Prime Filets with Salmon & Beef in sauce 19% carbs - gave 2 tsp. Hated to break it out, but didn't want to keep playing with his fall not stopping. Sure hope it doesn't make his bounce worse -
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) Almost +6.5(35) :20(29)

it won't make the bounce worse. Bouncing is hormones and is independent of carbs.

And I think Hershey just made his opinion known about how much of a reduction is needed.

Lather, rinse, repeat. You're doing great! How is Hershey acting, still ok?
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +7(32)

Libby and Lucy said:
it won't make the bounce worse. Bouncing is hormones and is independent of carbs.

And I think Hershey just made his opinion known about how much of a reduction is needed.

Lather, rinse, repeat. You're doing great! How is Hershey acting, still ok?

Thanks for the clarification.

+7 (32) - Thinking might should give him another tsp or two of the kitty crack! He's now circling like a shark thinking he'll get more! :lol: I told him NOT to get used to it!!

Still acting normal -
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +7(32)

yeah, sometimes I used to think that Lucy went low on purpose just because she knew she would get the good food. :roll:

I would give him more. It's good that he is acting normal, but it would be nice if he would surf a little higher.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AMPS(135) +6(36) Almost +6.5(35)

Libby and Lucy said:
Hershey is a reliable eater, right?

As long as he's not visiting Grayson! :o

Glad he's acting normal even at the low numbers. WOW, he never ceases to amaze me!!!

Libby - as always - GREAT JOB!!!
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +7(32) :15(35)

Gave 2 more tsp HC (so 4 tsp total), then tested - +7.25 (35)

Can't decide as far as next dose. You're saying:

We can give .5u and see what he does - repeatability and all that

Reduce to .25u

Reduce to .4u

Right? I don't want to slow any momentum he's built...

Oreo is licking Hershey's empty bowl...He wants kitty crack, too! :sad:
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +7(32) :15(35)

I think it will be helpful to wait until closer to PMPS before deciding for sure about tonight's dose. Shooting 0.5u wouldn't be for repeatability so much as just to give a bit of extra insulin to help him overcome the bounce more easily. If he doesn't bounce, or if he doesn't bounce high, then I wouldn't shoot 0.5u. Right now I'm leaning toward removing that option from the discussion, but there are still a few hours to go so things can change.

I'm with you on losing momentum. Jill still teases me about the fact that I was usually scared to take dose reductions with either of my cats. :lol: But you have to take them when they are needed. He has been surfing low for over an hour, which makes me think he probably needs the full 0.25u reduction. I'm sure Jill will chime in with her opinion.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +7(32) :15(35)

Doug here, he is gradually, and I mean gradually, starting to rise. The last numbers were +8(48), waited 20 min(44), then waited another 20 min and he is now at (52).
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +7(32) :15(35)

Holy cow!
I'm working but this is more exciting!
Carl
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +7(32) :15(35)

AMPS (135)
+2 (236)
+4.5 (124)
+6 (36)
Almost +6.5 (35)
+6.75 (29)
+7 (32)
+7.25 (35)
+7.50 (48)
+7.75 (44)
waited 20 min (52)

ok, so 52 at roughly +8.

do you think he'll lap up some of the gravy from a can of hc?
we usually don't suggest hc when kitty is over 50, but i know you're trying to go out to dinner tonight.

you'll have to continue testing for the time being. the rise is due to the hc. we have another hour to go before i think we could comfortably say he's past nadir.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +7(32) :15(35)

doug, if hershey was shot at 8:25 this morning and it's 5:00 there... i think that would put us at +8.5 now.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +7(32) :15(35)

Doug again, he sure is taking his time getting back up a bit. Latest number +20 min is 49. He sure is being a trooper about it. Libby is giving 2 tsps of HC(total 6) and he is tearin it up. Nothing like little extra smackerals food to go along with all the poking! :razz:

+8.5 (49)
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +7(32) :15(35)

wow! he sure has a healthy appetite! he might gain back a little of that weight he lost.
continue testing. it would be nice to stabilize him a little higher than where he is right now.
see you soon!
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +8.5(49)

Updated the note above with all of today's information, when fed, etc. Need to leave in the next few minutes...never left him this low... nailbite_smile Guessin' I should for sure leave food out, even though Oreo will probably eat it...or maybe should leave in automatic feeder...wonder what that'll do to his PS in 2:45...

He does have a healthy appetite but can't seem to get to over 11 pounds and stay there...wish I had THAT problem! :lol:
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +8.5(49)

Maybe you could separate the two just for tonight. If you have to leave, it's important to leave some food for him so he can naturally take care of himself by eating if need be.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +8.5(49)

Doug N Libby said:
Updated the note above with all of today's information, when fed, etc. Need to leave in the next few minutes...never left him this low... nailbite_smile Guessin' I should for sure leave food out, even though Oreo will probably eat it...or maybe should leave in automatic feeder...wonder what that'll do to his PS in 2:45...

He does have a healthy appetite but can't seem to get to over 11 pounds and stay there...wish I had THAT problem! :lol:
do you have any room to delay your departure by even a half hour?
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +8.5(49) +9(60)

Jill & Alex said:
do you have any room to delay your departure by even a half hour?

We were supposed to leave at 4:30 and now it's 5:30, so we'll be after 6pm eating. My friend is diabetic and usually eats earlier than that...ugh -

+9 (60) WOOT!

Can't separate them because small house and not enough spaces, plus the other litter box broke leaving us with one.

At this point, don't you think I'd be okay to leave his regular food out, which Oreo doesn't particularly care for?
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +8.5(49) +9(60)

Doug N Libby said:
Jill & Alex said:
do you have any room to delay your departure by even a half hour?

We were supposed to leave at 4:30 and now it's 5:30, so we'll be after 6pm eating. My friend is diabetic and usually eats earlier than that...ugh -

+9 (60) WOOT!

Can't separate them because small house and not enough spaces, plus the other litter box broke leaving us with one.

At this point, don't you think I'd be okay to leave his regular food out, which Oreo doesn't particularly care for?

it *might* be all right to leave out regular food, but i wouldn't take the chance if i were in your shoes.
i'd leave hc or at least a mixture of hc and lc... heavy on the hc. i'd rather deal with higher numbers and be safe.
try to get some hc into him right before you leave.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +8.5(49) +9(60)

Oh, the sacrifices Hershey makes...having to endure more kitty crack :lol: :lol:

He's finishing another Tablespoon now.
 
Re: 6/15 Hershey AM +8.5(49) +9(60)

WOW, sorry I didnt even see yourpost!
Holy cow...look at Hershey go!this is amazing!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top