6/15 Fred AMPS 479, +6 83 another reduction earned

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...g-advice-after-mild-hypo.248619/#post-2804078

Well, this is all just bizarre. We've earned another reduction. We're not out of the woods yet, but I hope I've been able to keep him surfing with the MC. Again, I was lucky to have caught it; I know we'd be hypo right now if I hadn't intervened. I should have listed to my instincts. I debated reducing him to 4.5 because all of this with Lev is going nothing like I thought it would. But I went with 5, and now I do regret it. This is WITH giving him a BCS last night to drain the depot a bit.

@Wendy&Neko Any thoughts on what's happening here? I'm assuming the high PS's are bounces? It's just odd they're so much higher in the AM because he seems to drop lower during the AM cycle. In general, the size of the bounce corresponds to how low he goes.

I get that these greens are good numbers. But once he starts to drop, he freefalls. The ways he's going, if it's at the right time in the cycle, a green could very easily lead to lime.
 
I think you did the right thing by taking a .50 reduction because the depot is in play. If another reduction is earned you can take it. He seems to be bouncing at night and clearing in the day. Congrats on the reduction. Lucky you. Surf safely Fred.
 
Any thoughts on what's happening here? I'm assuming the high PS's are bounces? It's just odd they're so much higher in the AM because he seems to drop lower during the AM cycle. In general, the size of the bounce corresponds to how low he goes.
First of all, this morning's numbers may have still been because of the 5.5 unit depot. But with SLGS you'd reduce and see how he does on the smaller dose. As for AM vs. PM, just be happy he's not doing these hijinks at night! He is seeing better numbers than he saw on Lantus, so it's possible you are breaking through a little insulin resistance. Who knows? He's still not getting great duration though. It would be nice to try to stop those steep drops or at least slow him down, so he can spend more time in upper greens/low blues. And start to get used to them as normal numbers.
 
I know this is yesterday's thread now, but I don't want to take up forum space on a new one.

As for AM vs. PM, just be happy he's not doing these hijinks at night!
OMG..you've no idea how grateful I am for that!! Thank goodness.

He's still not getting great duration though
No, he's not. And I'm wondering if it's how the Levemir works in him (fast, strong, and out), or if he ends up bouncing from unaccustomed low numbers. That's what I'm trying to figure out. I BCS-ed him last night again to try and drain. He stayed high, but boy is he happier not flying up and down.

It would be nice to try to stop those steep drops or at least slow him down, so he can spend more time in upper greens/low blues. And start to get used to them as normal numbers.
So..I did reduce, but by a full unit. I know that's not the recommendation, but I want to see where this gets him. Maybe it will stop the super-fast/steep drops but still bring him down enough to get used to lower values. I also need a vacation dose for this weekend and next, so it's partly that thinking as well.
 
Maybe it will stop the super-fast/steep drops but still bring him down enough to get used to lower values.
It doesn't work that way, as much as we'd like it to. The only way to get used to lower numbers is to see them which he won't do if the dose is too low. Part of the reason for wonky numbers you are seeing is the dosing all over the place. Hopefully now you'll be able to stick with a dose for a while, and stabilize the depot. It also takes a cat a while to get used to a new insulin (hormone), so you won't see Lev at it's best for several weeks yet.
 
Part of the reason for wonky numbers you are seeing is the dosing all over the place.
I know. I've been dosing weirdly. It's just all gone differently than I thought. I plan to stick with 4 for a while unless he pulls any funny business. Of course..I have 2 travel situations coming up, so...:confused:
 
Back
Top