6/15 Esca AMPS 372 +9 150 PMPS 206 +2 192 +3 143 +6 107

Kirsta & Esca

Member Since 2022
Hello!
Hoping someone can lead me in the right direction here.
I am unsure how the "shed" works with Lantus. Can someone elaborate? I understand that it's essentially a storage compartment, but I'm unclear how it operates!

We've recently switched from Vetsulin to Lantus. PMPS is 206 - If Esca were at a 206 on Vetsulin, I'd give a half a dose. But I don't know what's appropriate on Lantus because I don't want to mess with the depot! If I give a partial dose, will it deplete the depot and we have to start over to rebuild it with wonky numbers?

Would appreciate any insight on how to proceed! He is due right now for his shot.
 
Since you got the 177 and then the 206, that's a pretty good sign that the last shot is wearing off and he'll just continue to go up....you're also going to be feeding which will bring his BG up higher too.

If he were mine, I'd go ahead and shoot the 0.5 dose and get a +1 and +2 since this is the lowest you've shot before. That way you can intervene early if you need to
 
Can someone elaborate? I understand that it's essentially a storage compartment, but I'm unclear how it operates!

Maybe this will help:

After you inject it into your subcutaneous tissue, the acidic solution is neutralized by your body to a neutral pH. Because glargine is not soluble at a neutral pH, it precipitates out into a form that’s not soluble in subcutaneous fat, and there forms a relatively insoluble depot. From that pool, or depot, of precipitated glargine in the tissues, small amounts slowly move back into solution over time and then to the bloodstream.
 
Just tested again, it's been 30 minutes. He's at a 230! That makes me feel better about dosing for sure.

I'm so anxious because his AMPS numbers are so much higher and he's still pulled down to 150s with a .5 and I won't be able to monitor overnight tonight, unfortunately!
 
Maybe this will help:

After you inject it into your subcutaneous tissue, the acidic solution is neutralized by your body to a neutral pH. Because glargine is not soluble at a neutral pH, it precipitates out into a form that’s not soluble in subcutaneous fat, and there forms a relatively insoluble depot. From that pool, or depot, of precipitated glargine in the tissues, small amounts slowly move back into solution over time and then to the bloodstream.

How is that affected if one were to shoot a partial dose? Or no dose at all? Do the wonky numbers restart for a week when doses go back to normal?
 
Can you get a +2 at least? That test can sometimes act like a crystal ball in predicting what will happen later in the cycle.

I can! But his number seems to go up a bit at +2 then it comes down pretty significantly at +6. If we were looking at a possible hypo situation due to that dose, would it show as early as a +2?
 
If we were looking at a possible hypo situation due to that dose, would it show as early as a +2?

Some cats the +3 is a better indicator but remember, he's in safe numbers all the way down to 50. That's when we would want to intervene to keep him from dropping any lower.

Usually, once someone has moved from the Health Forum to the Lantus forum and has a little data (so obviously knows how to test), we tell them to shoot anything over 150. That's the nice thing about Lantus over Vetsulin....it doesn't usually cause those fast, deep dives.

If you look at China's spreadsheet, you'll see I'd shoot anything over 50 (of course not at first....I worked my way down) but you can see how stable her BG was when shooting those lower numbers.
 
Oh, 50! That does make a difference from the 90 for sure.

I'll give .5! We're pushing an hour late on a dose now, does that make any difference?

And how do I get back on track tomorrow -- It's 9:30 here - 9:15AM, 9:00PM, etc? Walking back the time also confuses me!
 
And how do I get back on track tomorrow -- It's 9:30 here - 9:15AM, 9:00PM, etc? Walking back the time also confuses me!

You understand purrfectly!!

Sorry, I don't understand! Today's numbers? Or tomorrow AM numbers?

She is talking about tonight's....because of the depot....it's still going to "release" an amount equal to the 0.5 dose so just because you give a token dose doesn't necessarily mean there's not going to be some action on that cycle.
 
Ohhh got it!!! I think I am confusing myself at this point with second guessing LOL Thank you both!!

He's just gotten his dose, will monitor him at +2 and +3. And I'll try really hard to squeeze in a check at +6!
 
Oh, 50! That does make a difference from the 90 for sure.

I'll give .5! We're pushing an hour late on a dose now, does that make any difference?

And how do I get back on track tomorrow -- It's 9:30 here - 9:15AM, 9:00PM, etc? Walking back the time also confuses me!

Shooting late might act like a slight decrease or not make any difference. To get back on schedule you can shoot 15 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes every 24 hours.
 
Thank you! That makes sense.

How quick of a drop are we watching for at +2 and +3?
He’s at a 192 at +2. He’s usually gone up a bit at this point (with Lantus), I’m not concerned about the 192 itself. But I’m just realizing I don’t know what number I’m looking for this early that would prompt extra over night testing/concern for hypo.
 
He’s about the same as the pmps so it’s possible he might have an active cycle. Lantus actually kicks in between +2-3. Unless the +3 is a lot lower than the +2 he probably won’t go low. I’ll ask Bhooma to check on you as I’m not going to be online any more tonight. . @Bandit's Mom

please keep your title and spreadsheet up to date.
 
Back
Top