6/15 Cleo AMPS=355 +5.5=284 +7=346 PMPS=302 +3.5=407

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Bad cycle today, I've tried to give a skinned 2.5u dose, but it seems very similar to 2.25u. I think I'm doing wrong with increase and decrease in dose, because I'm not able to be such accurate.
I will buy a caliper, but until I don't have it, it's very hard being accurate. Any advices?
 
What brand/type of syringes are you using? I use the BD's, and I find that the zero line varies quite a bit, up to 1/3 of a unit. The calipers helped me get rid of that difference.
 
Take a look at the document attached to the TR protocol sticky called Management of Diabetic Cats. On page 255 of that document, is a section on administering small doses of insulin. the last paragraph there talks about paper rulers that can be downloaded and printed on A4 paper. Those paper rulers are used by the Diabetes Katzen forum group. You can try that as an alternative to calipers. I find the BD's aren't often out by 1/3 of a unit, but there definitely is a difference from batch to batch.
 
Good luck! I really like my calipers too. If I'm not going to be home, I just tell DH to measure to what the calipers are set to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top