6/15 Cassie AMPS: 99. +2 273. +4 284. +7 334. PMPS 573 +2 374 +4 204 +6 215

Abby and Cassie

Member Since 2020
Previous post

2 units given today. I really did not want to but I'm monitoring her today and keeping a very close eye. I'm assuming the rise at +2 is still from food? It will go low soon yes? Checking again in another 2 hours. Nervous. Both tested with Relion today. Glucose curve tomorrow so vet can see. :(
 
Last edited:
No, today is a bounce. Food doesn't increase them that much unless you liberally sprinkled it with syrup or honey. :p I rather suspect she went lower than 99 over night. It is really important to try to get night time tests. Even one before you go to bed can help. Many, probably most, kitties go lower at night and we determine how to change the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat.
 
No, today is a bounce. Food doesn't increase them that much unless you liberally sprinkled it with syrup or honey. :p I rather suspect she went lower than 99 over night. It is really important to try to get night time tests. Even one before you go to bed can help. Many, probably most, kitties go lower at night and we determine how to change the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat.

I'll set some alarms tonight to get it. I guess I just wanted to give her a break from poking for a night, but it's probably better to be poked than to get too low. :( The vet actually wants me to do a 24 hour curve as much as possible too tomorrow. It's gonna be a rough few days lol, stocking up on coffee as well as high carb foods for little miss babe.

Also would it be okay to soggy-up some dry food (friskies) for her if she went too low? She LOVES friskies dry food so I can imagine she'd eagerly eat that up with some corn syrup.
 
Yuck, we never do 24 hour curves here! A curve for us is every 2 hours for 12 hours, or every 3 hours for 18. Frankly, past nadir at night, when their numbers are starting back up, there's no point to keep testing.

It's better to stick to high carb wet food. Dry food metabolizes at a different rate and can take longer to get out of the system. Many cats, once they've had a taste of the high carb wet food with gravy go crazy for it too. The Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers is one example. You won't go through a larger can very fast. You may or may not need corn syrup, unless she goes quite low. But it depends how carb sensitive your cat is. That another one of those things that differs by cat.
 
Wow that's kinda relieving to know! Lol. Maybe I'll just do a few hours into the night and call it quits. I can't wait until I have more experience and I don't have to bug everyone on here as much. I feel like such a helicopter momma too, I'm constantly checking on her and looking for ANY sign of abnormality.

So if I understand correctly, as long as I'm regularly testing her every few hours on this high dose and ready to catch the first hint of hypo, she should be okay as long as I correct it quickly with proper food and monitoring? I'm just worried I'll go upstairs to do some work and come back down and find her in a coma. Hopefully vet will get back to me the day after the curve and let me know to lower the dose anyways.
 
A rule of thumb test can help you. If the +2 is a lot higher than the preshot, like today, land the helicopter, it'll be a quiet cycle. You can get additional tests for curiosity, but it's more for data gathering. If the +2 is about the same as the preshot, you'll have a normal Lantus cycle with some downward motion in the curve. If the +2 is quite a bit lower than the preshot, fuel up the helicopter :coffee::coffee:, that's a cycle that will be more active. Depending on the size of drop, or time of day/night, you may intervene earlier with food. Post here for help if that happens.

Side note, the +2 works for most cats, not all on Lantus. Mine had a later onset so it didn't tell me anything useful. I needed more like a +3.
 
Side note, the +2 works for most cats, not all on Lantus. Mine had a later onset so it didn't tell me anything useful. I needed more like a +3.

:cat: Helicopter landing a little bit! I'll try doing a +3 next to experiment that. I guess the glucose curve tomorrow might also reveal what time the onset is. Speaking of the glucose curve, should I wait a few days to perform it for "her bounce to clear?" I think Chris mentioned that on one of my posts about bounces needing to clear.
 
Her +2 is 374. PMPS was 573. Should I monitor her throughout the night? Is that a big enough drop between the shot and 2 hours?
 
Back
Top