6/15-5:09pm shooting advice in 10 min-Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
ok so I had half a day, came home in time for +8 which was 344
his +12 now is 257....
his amps was aabout 410

Does this mean I should reduce or hold the 2 units???
 
I know you're in a crunch and hopefully someone will chime in here. I think the important thing is to just make sure you are not shooting a falling number. Shooting 2.0 at 257 is not the issue. Can you check again right before your shot time or 30 minutes after the last test?
 
He is eating now, so his number will probably be inflated from food.....
I can retest in 10 minutes but he is going to run late, is that ok
 
hi there. i think you'll have to base your decision on whether you're available to monitor carefully, are prepared to steer the curve with hc if necessary, and have a good supply of strips on hand.
 
I think the decision on whether to shoot any number is always based on being there to monitor and steer if necessary.

The fact that he has eaten will affect your next test number. Can you get back on schedule in the next few days if you shoot a little late tonight?
 
Since he has been in high numbers I shot the 2 units...
I have plenty of strips, high carb food if necessary
If this was PZI I would have reduced a little
Is there such a thing as inverse curve when using Lev...
With PZI a frown like curve a few times would indicate a dose reduction
Is that the same for Lev?
 
I think you made the right call. As FYI, it's never a bad idea to wait to feed until you know you're comfortable shooting the number. Food can steer and make it hard for you tell if a number is going up or down.

As a side note, what I have noticed as a big difference with the train of thought with the Levemir clan is that lower numbers followed by big spikes is indicative of too much insulin. It's not based on specific magic numbers or specific days. It sounds like PZI has the same train of thought. I''ve really found Sheila and Vicky to be amazing at seeing this and like their logic. Tight Regulation Lantus is a little different in that they promote rapid increases that eventually lead to big drops and use baselines numbers as to when to take a reduction.

I don't necessarily see any big drops and spikes in Shake's numbers that would suggest too much insulin at this point, but I've also heard Sheila talk about flat numbers. My eyes are new to Levemir, so I would definitely wait to see what advice you get!

Have a great night and I hope the 2.0 settles in nicely for Shakes! 257 gives you a great start ;-) ;-)
 
dmartini4 said:
Since he has been in high numbers I shot the 2 units...
I have plenty of strips, high carb food if necessary
If this was PZI I would have reduced a little
Is there such a thing as inverse curve when using Lev...
With PZI a frown like curve a few times would indicate a dose reduction
Is that the same for Lev?

unfortunately, prevailing wisdom on the board these days is that inverted curves are always a sign of too much insulin. that is not always the case. an inverted curve can also be the sign of not enough insulin.

getting back to your dilemma...
you *could* be seeing a bounce breaking... hence the drop in numbers throughout the cycle. you don't have enough data for me to know for sure.
many of us shoot dropping numbers when we are prepared to monitor, steer the curve, and have an ample supply of strips, but you have to do what's comfortable for you.
 
I was kinda thinking the same thing...
I have been working os much lately that I leave the house at 6:15am and dont get home until 5pm....
makes it impossible to test...but I will do that this weekend!
 
dmartini4 said:
I was kinda thinking the same thing...
I have been working os much lately that I leave the house at 6:15am and dont get home until 5pm....
makes it impossible to test...but I will do that this weekend!
hey, work pays for all those strips and other assorted goodies. can't beat yourself up over it. all we can do is the best we can... which is exactly what you're doing. besides, weekends are perfect for poke-fests!
 
When I think of an inverse curve that indicates rebound, I think of one with a lot more variation in the numbers - lows that would be good nadirs, happen at PS time, and at nadir time there is a 300-something - so still 200-300 points of dip/climb. This isn't what is going on here. He seems to have high, flat numbers with little movement.

Without seeing what he did on lower doses of PZ, it's hard to know if the high flat numbers are not enough insulin or too much. Since you are not yet near the old PZ dose, maybe continue to raise the dose until you see lower numbers and a "normal" curve. Jut make sure you give plenty of settle time and don't raise until you have at least a mini curve to show where the dose is taking him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top