Re: 6/15/14 Peyton +5.5 36, +5.75 56, +6 80, +6.5 73
You sure it's all clear? It took us quite a while to really grasp what the depot was, how it actually worked, and how it was responsible for the numbers we were seeing.
This is why we say that lantus/levemir like dosing consistency. One shot from a dose builds upon the previous so you have a cumulative effect which helps to increase the duration. The goal is to get some really nice carryover from one shot to the next and also overlap where one shot is waning as the other is onsetting so you get those nice, long, flat curves. When you shoot a reduced dose, skip a shot, etc, then it affects the depot usually in a subsequent cycle. The mechanisms behind the lantus and levemir depots are different but the end result is the same.....they are long-acting, slow releasing.
Please let me know any questions you have. We're always happy to help because understanding the depot will help you with dosing and deciphering his SS.