? 6/14 Yum High AMPS numbers and the 7 day reduction rule

Status
Not open for further replies.

MJW

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dawn-phenomenon-vs-symogyi-effect.129147/#post-1330434

I googled the November 2014 discussion above---on distinguishing the Dawn Phenomenon from the Somogyi/Bounce effect.

I should be able to distinguish them by searching for Yum's evening nadir. Right? I did get up at PMPS+6 last night in that quest: PMPS+6=107. If her high AMPS number is due to a bounce, she must be having a really late low nadir that I'm missing. No evidence for that yet.

Was her number just inside the normal range this morning because I pestered her for a test and fed her a treat at midnight, disturbing the dawn phenomenon biochemistry? No way to know yet. I will probably try to test her again tonight at AMPS+6 or 7. Sigh.

If her high AMPS number is due to the dawn phenomenon, why can't I ignore it and do a "7 days of low normal BG" reduction? Am I slowing down her progress by waiting too long to do a reduction?
In other words, do I just need patience pants or am I making a mistake staying at 2.75f for so long?
 
Hi. I think the 7 day reduction applies only to 50-120 numbers. I'm not seeing that. Both AMPS and PMPS are higher than 120 for the most part. I think you need to be patient or maybe even bump up the dose. But please wait until a pro chips in.
 
I use the AlphaTrak. You should subtract maybe 50 or 70 off her numbers over 100. The official upper limit for the 7 day reduction on the Human meters is 100.
 
I use the AlphaTrak. You should subtract maybe 50 or 70 off her numbers over 100. The official upper limit for the 7 day reduction on the Human meters is 100.
D'oh, how did I miss that? I apologize. A pro will need to weigh in then.

I was told 50-120 on a human meter is normal.
 
What do you hint is normal range for your AT meter? The seven days guideline for reductions is all green cycles if using at Human meter. You have been getting some pretty high AMPS numbers, so I don't think Yum is quite there yet. Her AM numbers will eventually come down. You just need patience pants. ;) Keeping her safely in healing numbers is good for her pancreas.

BTW, the Symogyi effect has been shown to be a myth for cats on long lasting insulins like Lantus when using TR.

I saw your note on Samba's condo about duration. The small snack late in the cycle trick for getting the pancreas to work is only suggested for when kitty is on very small doses and almost in remission. For now, I would keep carbs after nadir to a minimum.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
D'oh, how did I miss that? I apologize. A pro will need to weigh in then.

I was told 50-120 on a human meter is normal.
I've read that too. But the 7 day rule says the upper limit is 100, so the BG has to stay below max normal.
 
What do you hint is normal range for your AT meter? The seven days guideline for reductions is all green cycles if using at Human meter. You have been getting some pretty high AMPS numbers, so I don't think Yum is quite there yet. Her AM numbers will eventually come down. You just need patience pants. ;) Keeping her safely in healing numbers is good for her pancreas.

BTW, the Symogyi effect has been shown to be a myth for cats on long lasting insulins like Lantus when using TR.

I saw your note on Samba's condo about duration. The small snack late in the cycle trick for getting the pancreas to work is only suggested for when kitty is on very small doses and almost in remission. For now, I would keep carbs after nadir to a minimum.

Lab reports for my cats say feline normal is 72-175 or 71-159, depending on the lab. Yum occasionally exceeds that range only at AMPS.
Sarah Mc's ss for Samba shows many recent AT2 vs Human meter comparisons where the differences between the meters in the ~100 to ~170 zone are 5o to 70.
Using that conversion Yum would be mostly under 100 on a human meter. (Note I'm accepting that the 7 day rule uses 100 and not the human meter upper limit normal of 120.)

Hey. I could switch from TR to SLGS and give her a reduction!!!

I am a conservative patient person. I will probably maintain her dose, but I'm not 100% sure it is the best strategy for her.
I will do what I can to interrupt the Dawn Phenomenon.

I have read that the Symogyi effect is a myth. But I thought it was just a bounce. It's not?

No carbs for Yum anymore after +6. She will be very very pleased to just get wild caught salmon or sardines from +6 to +12!!!

I think new comments have arrived, but I will send this out before I read them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top