? 6/14 TiTi AMPS 82, NS +14 162, +16 290, +18.5 312, +21 360, PMPS 365, +2 370, +4 258, +8 347

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes I'd test for ketones.

She's had two skipped shots and a dose reduction. So we just have to put on our patience pants and see how she does.

I think I'd get a before bed test and call it a night unless she comes down a lot.
 
when the +2 is lower than the PMPS that's a heads up to keep testing - chances are you will be having a PJ party.

No PJ party tonight. You will save a few strips as well.

Glad to hear it!
At 12:30am
+4 256

GOOD NUMBER FOR SLEEP.

Actually, I've been sleeping in between testing, consistently.

I think it best to feed the cats, top off their kitty litter, and return to sleep until 8:15am for their morning pre-AMPS test.
 
I hate to be the one to say it, but I see she's dropped 112 points in the past 2 hours. I'm hoping you'll still see this post tonight.

If you could get another test in 2 hours, I surely would. That's a pretty big drop. I'm a bit concerned that she reacted that fast to the shot after you skipped this morning.

We really do have a changing situation in her.
 
Not too much. The only time that it matters a lot if a cat's been eating or not is when you're giving the shot.

I'm glad you saw my post. The way I decided when to test next was to compare the current test to the last one. Cats don't drop at a constant rate per hour, but it gives you an idea of how quickly their blood sugar is dropping and can help you figure out if you need to test again soon. When you check her again at +6, compare that to the 258 and see if she is still going to need another test tonight. So hate to do this to you, but we're doing the best we can to help and not meaning to have you staying up all night! Titi forgot to send us her user's manual!

Gill & Marje and I were just talking about morning - Titi is recovering so quickly from the skipped shots that it is telling us that she needs even less insulin. You may end up skipping tomorrow morning again - I'm not sure. I've got work in the morning and am heading for bed now.

With things changing so quickly and Titi racing down the dosing scale, be conservative in your choices. Post if you have any doubts and hopefully someone will help you make decisions.

See you tomorrow!
 
Not too much. The only time that it matters a lot if a cat's been eating or not is when you're giving the shot.

I'm glad you saw my post. The way I decided when to test next was to compare the current test to the last one. Cats don't drop at a constant rate per hour, but it gives you an idea of how quickly their blood sugar is dropping and can help you figure out if you need to test again soon. When you check her again at +6, compare that to the 258 and see if she is still going to need another test tonight. So hate to do this to you, but we're doing the best we can to help and not meaning to have you staying up all night! Titi forgot to send us her user's manual!

Gill & Marje and I were just talking about morning - Titi is recovering so quickly from the skipped shots that it is telling us that she needs even less insulin. You may end up skipping tomorrow morning again - I'm not sure. I've got work in the morning and am heading for bed now.

With things changing so quickly and Titi racing down the dosing scale, be conservative in your choices. Post if you have any doubts and hopefully someone will help you make decisions.

See you tomorrow!
Not too much. The only time that it matters a lot if a cat's been eating or not is when you're giving the shot.

I'm glad you saw my post. The way I decided when to test next was to compare the current test to the last one. Cats don't drop at a constant rate per hour, but it gives you an idea of how quickly their blood sugar is dropping and can help you figure out if you need to test again soon. When you check her again at +6, compare that to the 258 and see if she is still going to need another test tonight. So hate to do this to you, but we're doing the best we can to help and not meaning to have you staying up all night! Titi forgot to send us her user's manual!

Gill & Marje and I were just talking about morning - Titi is recovering so quickly from the skipped shots that it is telling us that she needs even less insulin. You may end up skipping tomorrow morning again - I'm not sure. I've got work in the morning and am heading for bed now.

With things changing so quickly and Titi racing down the dosing scale, be conservative in your choices. Post if you have any doubts and hopefully someone will help you make decisions.

See you tomorrow!

Appears to me that TiTi is bouncing from pink to yellow and back up again.
So,
I'm going to feed TiTi, go to bed, wake up at 8:15 to test her, and unless thigs are very odd, shoot at 9units again.

Dunno if Gil or any one is awake and online, but it would be good to know if my interpretation and decisions are correct, or off the wall.
 
At PMPS today I hope it will be safe to shoot 9 unts.
What tests should I do today?

Been thinking this over.
I think 11 was too high a dose
I think 9 is too low a dose.
Could just be that we're bouncing all over the place and we need to settle down, but I don't think so.
I think TiTI's dose is somewhere between 9 and 11 units.
Look at 6/14. It's mostly a long line of pink, some bounce beforehand, and some bounce afterwards, but
mostly one continuous line of pink.

See you at 10-11ish. After the AMPS 8:30 shoot, I'm going back to bed for a couple hours, This schedule is gonna take me out unless I start getting enough sleep..
 
I think 9 is too low a dose.

Based on that last test you took at +8 it's probable to early to say, we would expect her to take a few cycles to start to show what the dose could do. That yellow at +4 last night had us thinking that maybe 9u might be to high.

You have to remember while you are looking at this numbers that you skipped the previous cycle, the effect of that, and what we were after, was to drain the depot somewhat, so that depot has to refill before we will know what the 9u will do for her, at this point you need to be patient and allow the depot to settle, (can take up to 6 cycles) before you decide that 9 u is not enough.
We have been wondering if indeed what we are seeing is a bounce from yesterday, she may have gone lower than we thought in the early hours before you got that 80 at amps, which could have triggered the bounce and the pink numbers we are seeing now, bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear (but sometimes they clear sooner), so again we would need to wait for the bounce to clear to see what the 9u will do for TiTi.
If Titi get's to low yellow/blue or green very quickly after the skip and the reduction it might be a sign that the 9u may indeed be to much.

Either way it's to early to tell you need to wait and see how it plays out. But we are all conscious that with the various factors in play, like the total removal of dry food, the coding issue with the meter, possible antibodies breaking, that TITI might be on too much insulin, and with that in mind as Julie said we need to err on the side of caution, to keep TiTi safe and you healthy:)

I would encourage you to stick to the plan and if she is still in very high yellow/pink or red in the morning go with the 9u, and if she is low yellow or blue, post up before you shoot, it may be that we need to think about skipping again. That will be around 3pm my time and I will watch for your post if you need any help. Tag me on tomorrows post or PM me for attention (PM works best as I get an email alert, and for some reason sometimes I don't always get the tags.)

One things for sure TiTi has got her own special steps for this sugardance:D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top