6/14 Tess AMPS~303 vet PMPS~437 +3~330 +9~169

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Tess GA

Member Since 2010
6/13 Condo
6/13 RECAP:
• AMPS~315, fed 5/8oz., ft .25u
• +9~260, fed 1/4oz.
• PMPS~279, fed 5/8oz., ft.25u
• +1, fed 5/8oz.
• +3~283, fed 5/8oz.
• +4, fed 5/8oz.
• +9~240, fed 1/4oz.

Good Morning LL! :YMSIGH: AMPS was 303. We upped Tess's dose this morning. I think what we were calling fat .25u could also be skinny .5 , so I'm shooting a straight .5u.

I'm wondering if the micro increases aren't enough to get her to the point of overcoming what is looking like insulin resistance. Several times now we have nudged the dose up, gotten over the NDW, had a couple of good cycles and then she creeps up again. If this doesn't work I wonder if next time we should go up by .25 rather than just a drop. There is one new Lantus cartridge left (due to start in about 1011 days), but I am wondering if changing to Levemir might be worth a try as well.

We are approaching the 6 month anniversary of her dx. That will be in early July.
 
Re: 6/14 Tess AMPS~303 +3~406

Hi Ann
How does Tess seem to you? Could there be something brewing?
For sure I am no expert SS but she was doing so well for a wonderful stretch.
I did not check the comments on the ss as to how long you have been using
this cartridge of insulin.
Hang in there.You know you will get the help here!!!
 
Re: 6/14 Tess AMPS~303 +3~406 +5~462

462 at +5. :sad: NDW already???? I'm sure I didn't miss the shot, could smell no Lantus in her fur.

Tess seems happy and lively, Randi. Sorry forgot the WCR this morning. 4 Ps, but no poo yet. She hasn't finished all her vreffis, but i tried to get her to eat Merrick again. Tested for ketones and it was negative.

We have an appt. w/ the vet for a checkup this afternoon.
 
Re: 6/14 Tess AMPS~303 +3~406 +5~462

ouch! Just looked at SS -- that is not a normal Tess number!
looking forward to hearing the results of the vet checkup - I hope all is well!
 
Re: 6/14 Tess AMPS~303 +3~406 +5~462

Hi Ann, Please update us when you get back from the vet this afternoon. And Tess, what's with those high numbers at nadir time?!! Stu is picking a bouquet of lovely vines and is sending encouragement. We both are!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/14 Tess AMPS~303 +3~406 +5~462

Let us know what the vet says Tess.
Certainly these numbers are not usual for Tess.
The lantus is only from 5/25 which is 3 weeks. Maybe that's something
but I am not an expert.

I hope that Tess gets these numbers down and that the vet might see something.
 
Re: 6/14 Tess AMPS~303 +3~406 +5~462

Tess seems to bounce way up as soon as she gets an increase, NDW. I'm hoping that's what these numbers are. Tess is a big fan of Wonkyland, just outside RBC.
 
Re: 6/14 Tess AMPS~303 PMPS~437

Tess's vet visit went well, except that she sneaked into the LB shortly before we left and had an empty bladder. We have to go back for a urine test. She's down to 8.95 lbs, but they said it looked like a good weight for her. They took blood and will have the test results for us tomorrow.

Dr. Mimi said everything looked normal. Normal temp and no obvious sign of infection. She was impressed with the SS. Since we just gave Tess an increase she said to give it a chance to settle in. She wasn't surprised t today's bg rise after the increase. I asked about switching insulin to Lev and she said that there is a possibility that Tess has gotten too used to Lantus and it is an idea if things don't turn around soon. All in all Tess looks good except for that sneaky rise in numbers. I'll report on the blood work when I get the results.

All Tess wanted to do there was hide, she made a very good effort at getting under the pad in the carrier. But i am told she was very good when they drew the blood. She calmed down right away when we got home.

PMPS is up a little, 437.
 
Re: 6/14 Tess AMPS~303 PMPS~437 vet

they found you anyway no mater what you did eh, Tess? Poor baby...well, you are home now....safe and sound.
These numbers are not too nice at all.
Hey
Shadow was pink this afternoon too....what did you two get into today anyway?
You won with the highest though. Not a good thing to win Tess. Tsk Tsk.
What are we gonna do with you two?
 
Re: 6/14 Tess AMPS~303 PMPS~437 vet

Tess - what is up girl? I thought Mannie had the awful numbers... you guys are close! Perhaps just NDW - I always have rotten numbers with him when I change a dose.

Vet appt sounds like it went well. Hope the BW comes out ok too.
 
Re: 6/14 Tess AMPS~303 PMPS~437 vet

ugh, these are not Tess-like numbers at all. :sad: Glad you went to the vet. Definitely get the urine done as soon as you can. How are her teeth?

I wouldn't be at all opposed to doing 0.25 unit increases with Tess until this is figured out. We don't want her sitting in high numbers too long, we don't want her to get used to them.
 
Re: 6/14 Tess AMPS~303 PMPS~437 vet

HI Tess, Now that the vet appointment is over you can bring your numbers down. OK? I'd like to see you tomorrow in your blue dress.

Hugs from

Stu
 
Re: 6/14 Tess AMPS~303 PMPS~437 vet

Very un-Tess like numbers. I'm glad to see you increased the dose. It may be that increasing by 0.25 makes better sense than fattening the dose for all of the reasons that Libby outlined.
 
Re: 6/14 Tess AMPS~303 vet PMPS~437 +3~330

100 point drop at +3. :-D I hope this is the end of NDW. I've been thinking that a full .25 increase might be what she needs if this dose isn't holding. I mentioned it to Dr. Mimi and she agreed, afew days at this dose and then try a bigger step up. If that doesn't work out we may try Lev.

Sorry i forgot to mention that she said Tess's teeth were very good. Tess did have a dental in January.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top