? 6/14 Skooter AMPS 90 +2 109 +4.5 125 +6 111 + 8 122 PMPS 116 +3.5 76 +4.5 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
The really weird day, for da bean, condo (06/13)

06/12 RECAP:

AMPS - 97 :D

PMPS - 98 :D
+2.75 - 68 :D
+4 - 94 :D
+7.75 - 95 :D

Molly Update:

Sooooooo, I woke up with a headache today. I almost had this entire condo written and then I hit a button and lost it all. Very frustrating, so starting over I guess. After yesterday, it was very nice to be able to sleep in after t/f/s and after his +2. On today's agenda is a visit to my uncle, whose knee went out last week. We are going to bring over some left over Olive Garden from the shower yesterday and then he can also meet Zach. He has been having a heck of a time since my Aunt Marlene passed away, so hoping a visit will do him some good.

Mom Update:


The NG tube is still in and she was moved to a private room at some point yesterday/last night/this morning. They are giving her dilaudid for the pain and that seems to be working wonderfully. My brother spent a lot of time with her yesterday as we had the shower. We are trying to stagger our visits, so one of us is there as much as possible. Even if she is just sleeping, in case she wakes up and is upset or agitated, hopefully we don't make it worse :P No word on progress of going home etc. The surgeon said it would be a minimum of 4-5 days after surgery, so we are looking at Tuesday or Wednesday at the earliest.

And the MAIN Event - Skooter's Update:

I can certainly tell a HUGE difference in how he is acting. FINALLY after a year plus on insulin I am seeing his activity level getting closer to what was pre-diagnosis. Which makes this bean very happy. So we are at the 7 day mark on 0.10 with normal numbers. There are two exceptions to that: PMPS on 06/11/15 was 136, but his +3.5 showed that he came down quiet nicely to a 68. Funnily (if that is a word) the next one was this morning, after the +4 mark which was the 7 days, he got a 125. I have noticed when he does this, he does come down again, so I will be testing around +5.5 to see where we are at.

So now come the QUESTION portion:

I know after the 0.10 is normally an OTJ trial (I can't believe this is even coming up!), and I know the protocol calls for waiting until the next green preshot before starting the trial. My plan was to for sure give him the 0.10 tonight, as I have been giving the current dose one more time before moving on to the next reduction. So I guess I am wondering if people think Skooter is ready for a trial? I know it will probably depend on how the rest of cycle goes, as well as tonight's cycle, but I wanted to get the question out there to see what other people's thoughts were.


 
Yo, Skoot Cuz Michael here.
Concats on day 7 of #'s. You will be :otj: before you know it!
Try to come to the Lagoon later I'm going to try to be there. Then we can chat more.:cat:
Molly, sorry about your headache. Hope it goes away soon! Headache-Be-Gone!
Wishing a speedy recovery for your DM.:)
 
I'm not sure about the trial. I'm sure someone with more experience will answer soon. It's great to see Skooter doing so well.

I hope your headache is gone. Sending prayers for your mom and uncle.
 
Of course now that I am talking trial, he is running the fence on his numbers....

Skooter, your grandma is rooting for a trial! It would be great news to give her in the hospital. ...get you act together there, buddy!
 
No clue on your trial questions, Molly. The only trial we're familiar with is the one Polly gives me at each test...where-the-dickens-did-that-number-come-from kinda trial?:p

Lots of vines for your mother. Had some sorta-like blockage surgery a few years ago. Got to make sure everything's working before they'll let you go home.

Vines for you. Skooter's apparently got everything pretty well "controlled" on his end.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Sending many healing vines to your mom.

I am so glad Skooter is acting like he was before the diagnose.
He must be feeling really good!
I hope your headache is better, Molly.
 
Considering today's out of whack numbers, I think I'd continue with the .1 for a few days longer just to see what happens. It's better for him to get the extra support a little longer than to jump the gun on doing the trial

Hope your headache is better this afternoon Molly! I know mine isn't...must be something in the air
 
Paws crossed here! Had to laugh at your comment about hoping you or your siblings didn't make your mom's agitation worse (sounds familiar :rolleyes:). I'm sure she's thinking how blessed she is to have such great kids. Hugs to you, Molly. Hope you're feeling better.
Liz
 
Just out of curiosity, if you were to press really hard on the plunger of the syringe, insert it into the insulin, and then release the plunger, would this be the same as the 0.1u that you're measuring? I'm not entirely happy with some of Skooter's PMPS numbers -- they're not bad and he brings them back down, but there's a bit more blue than I'd like to see. If you an measure a "drop" of insulin, it may me the next smallest dose to consider.
 
Molly, I'm not the sharpest knife in this (or any) drawer, but I think both Chris and Sienne make good points. Better to be a little extra cautious now and thereby give Skooter a better shot at acing his trial WHEN it happens!

I'm so excited for you two!!!!!

Sending healing vines for you and lots more vines and prayers for your DM.
 
@Sienne and Gabby that is what I am currently doing for the 0.10 that we are shooting now...so I assuming it would be the same

As much as I want an OTJ trial, I want it to stick more. I am not opposed to staying on the 0.10 a little bit longer at all....the only possible complication is my work trip but that is a few weeks away. If he is still on 0.10 at that time I am inclined to have my sister not give insulin as she won't be testing him....but that is still a ways out in L&L land lol but wanted everyone to have the big picture.....
 
Just had a nice visit with my mom. She seems to be in better spirits, but I know with this type of recovery it could be one step forward, a couple back. But I am happy that we had this step forward :) She took a swing around the unit while I was there and I think it was her second time today, so that is improvement.

We did find the motivating factor: Pepsi. :)

I was so hoping I could tell mom Skooter was starting his trial, she asks about him all the time and gets so excited at the idea. I told her we are getting closer, but he still has a lil work to do before we can do that :) I am hopeful he will get his trial, but I want it to be successful and long lasting, so I will do whatever is best for him :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top