6/14 siujim is back -- amps (250) +4 (315) pmps (252)

Status
Not open for further replies.

sun

Member Since 2010
pls let me write a bit background info.
we were here in april, siujim 's sugar was high (range 320-400), and highest (400- 480).
and yet things had got very unstable. and the vet raised her dose to 4.5 unit (from 1 unit in the very beginning back in dec).
she is 17 and 2.7kg. i was off from here for a while and tried to figure out why.

last week, blood test shows she also has panceatitis. and this was why she has resistance to insulin.

the blood tests on TLI and PLI were back from cambridge (last week)
shows sign of panceatitis
serum folate -- 11.6 (normal: 8.5-20) this one is normal
TLI 372 (normal is 35-130)
PLI 6.2 (>5.4 is sign of pancreatitis)

have been using theses supplements for 6 days:
SAME, CoQ10, Vit.E, super digestive enzymes

no more vomiting, and diarrhea.
no excessive drinking and urine.
good sign.

her sugar level is a lot lower today (250-315).
pls note spreadsheet for histories.

may i ask for your comments?

also, i do have a question, usually, +4 should be a lower figure if the cat is responding to the insulin... i do think it is a food spike (as she eats 1hr before the test) but still, does it imply anything? she is not reacting to the insulin?
i will do another curve tomorrow, with also +8. thx.
 
Hi

may I ask what is your feeding schedule?
please note it like this: example: AMPS breakfast, +3 snack..etc....
do yu try little snacks thru the day? sometimes that helps with most kitties, smaller frequent meals


with Lantus you dont want to give food between +9 and +12(preshot) or you will have a food influenced preshot number....its ok to give a snack at +9, just take food away after that till your next preshot, then breakfast/dinner, same applies for the evening PMPS. EDIT TO ADD: I see in your comments you got that info already - great!

and you're testing for ketones, thats good too.


not sure about pancreatitis and insulin resistance, hopefully others can help with that.
 
no food 4hrs before amps, sam-e supplement, blood test(745am), then food then the shot at 8:05am.

K+ supplement.

food at 11am (with vit e) blood test at 1230pm (+4)

food at 330pm (with coq10)

blood test (740pm), then food, then shot at 8pm.

food at 11pm (with digestive enzymes) and leave some food for her in mid night.

she is old and lost some teeth, so she usually eats less in a meal and more meals.

and i tried to keep her stomarch empty for at least 2-3 hrs before the test/shot.

she has wellness core grain free chicken and also steamed shrimp and very very little tuna (to trigger her eat the supplements)...

thx
anson






Ronnie & Luna said:
Hi

may I ask what is your feeding schedule?
please note it like this: example: AMPS breakfast, +3 snack..etc....
do yu try little snacks thru the day? sometimes that helps with most kitties, smaller frequent meals


with Lantus you dont want to give food between +9 and +12(preshot) or you will have a food influenced preshot number....its ok to give a snack at +9, just take food away after that till your next preshot, then breakfast/dinner, same applies for the evening PMPS. EDIT TO ADD: I see in your comments you got that info already - great!

and you're testing for ketones, thats good too.


not sure about pancreatitis and insulin resistance, hopefully others can help with that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top