6/14 PMPS 343 +2 271 +3 174 +4 89 +5.5 70 +6 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone,

I picked up Rocky from the vet late in the afternoon yesterday. I learned that it cost me a lot of money for them to do 4 blood glucose tests while he was there. I didn't know that it was going to cost me money to have them get a blood glucose reading. I was told that with their normal protocol, they don't do a blood test before giving any insulin shots even when the cat is on a 'medical board' stay. She said that they just trust that whatever dose the doctor prescribed is Ok. Oh, of course if the cat does go hypo they will do everything that they can to save the cat's life, and charge me a great amount of money to do it. Doesn't it seem like you would want to try to prevent a hypo rather than deal with one that YOU caused? :roll:

So, now I am leaving again from June 19 though June 25, and I'll be taking Rocky to same vet so they can care for him while I'm away. Now I know that they won't do any blood glucose monitoring at all. I told them, "I can't do anything with the blood glucose information, that's for you guys, for your own piece of mind, so that you know whether it's safe or not to give the shot." It sort of makes me feel like they just don't really care. I mean, I know this is the protocol for every animal, not just Rocky.

Oh, and I asked them to please make me copies of all of Rocky's records for when he was DKA with them and at the other hospital too. I learned from those records that he has lots of bloody diarrhea, which I have NEVER seen from him, and he vomited when he was there. In addition, I read DENTAL DISEASE. There was nothing else about the dental except for that.. no other information about the state of his teeth or gums. It looks like I probably should be taking him to the dentist for a cleaning. His care is just getting so damn expensive..

I only have the PMPS for Rocky yesterday because I didn't pick him up until 4pm.

4/13 - Rocky's PMPS 150 +1 85 +2 37 +2.5 39 +3 53 +3.5 70 +4 36 +5 56 +6 57 +6.5 55 +8 82
 
Re: 6/14 Reducie Rocky PMPS 343 +1 343 +2 271 +3 174 +4 89

That's very frustrating, but unfortunately I don't think it's too uncommon. It just seems that most vets' offices, which you would think is the ideal place to board a diabetic kitty, are a bit too casual about the whole insulin thing. Tricia has been through all sorts of fiascos when she's boarded Cinco, even though she provided them with a typed manual regarding his care. It's a shame...it doesn't make it easy for a bean to feel comfortable about traveling and having someone else care for their FD kitty at all.

My vet's office also charges an outrages amount for BG tests. I can't remember exactly what it was, because the only time we had it done was when Trix was in for her dental a few years ago, but it was literally something like $34 per test!!

Maybe you should have them shoot a reduced dose while he's boarded next time, just to be sure he stays safe while he's there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top