Re: 6/14 - Oliver -AMPS=122,+10 - 121
Hi
I saw you wrote about prednisolone in yesterday's condo, but I was too tired to post last night.
I thought I'd post today, but you were having a very exciting morning, so I thought I'd wait.
Since things seemed to have calmed down now, I'd like to share my experience.
Lucy has been on prednisolone for years, initially for both IBD and asthma, and now mostly for IBD since she seems to have grown out of asthma.
Until last year, she had been on 5mg once a day every other day for probably almost 10 years.
Then she was dx'd with diabetes (2nd time around actually) last year, and I noticed in her ss that her numbers were a little higher every other day.
Like you, I wanted to reduce the dose, so I talked with the vet, and what I did was this.
First, I changed the schedule to 2.5mg every day instead of 5mg every other day, so she was still getting the same amount essentially.
She did fine with that, so after 3 weeks or so, I reduced it to 2.5mg every other day.
At first it looked as though she was doing fine, but then her IBD got worse. She started having diarrhea more frequently.
I so resisted increasing the pred dose back up, so I tried a couple of courses of metronidazole treatments, but after 2 months, I had to give up and admit that she does need more pred.
When I decided to increase the pred dose back up, I discussed with the vet again, and decided to do 2.5mg every day instead of the original 5mg every other day, in order to keep her BG cycles more even.
After the pred dose was increased back up, Lucy felt much better and her diarrhea resolved too.
When I reduced the dose to 2.5mg every other day, her numbers didn't improve at all, I guess because her IBD got worse.
Inflammation could raise the BG too.
By giving her 2.5mg every day in stead of 5mg every other day, her cycles are more even day to day, so it's easier to make a dosing decision.
I used to give it in the evening, but I changed it to morning because I prefer that if she has a pred spike, I'd rather she has it in the AM cycle, so I can go to work and not worry too much.
I don't think her pred spike is too bad, but she's on a very low dose.
Typically, her +2 are higher than PS in pred cycles, her numbers goes more or less flat from there.
In non-pred cycles, her +2 are typically lower than PS.
I give pred to her with the 1st breakfast at the AMPS.
I read that pred could irritate the stomach lining and should be given with food to prevent that, so I want to give it to Lucy when I know there will be plenty of food in her tummy.
Some days she has a pred spike, and some days she doesn't.
These are my experience with Lucy & pred, and may not apply to Oliver since ECID but I think it's a good idea what you are doing.
Trying to taper off slowly to find the minimum dose Oliver needs to manage his IBD.
But please do not be disappointed if you cannot get rid of it completely.
Our cats need what they need, and I find that FD is easier to deal with than IBD.
With diabetes, you can help with insulin, and you can see how the cat is doing with numbers clearly.
With IBD, you can't really see how bad, and I think inflammation is harder on the cat.
I looked at his ss, and I do see what you mean about pred spiking his BG.
But I think it's yet too early to tell how much of it is from pred since you skipped a few shots.
It may not be too bad. Good luck figuring out the pred/insulin dose!
I hope my experience helps some.