6/14 Munchkin AMPS 338, PMPS 286 - dosecreased

Status
Not open for further replies.

Munchkin's Reagan

Member Since 2012
Hello all!
6/13 condo

We ended up 3 hours off schedule last night because DH struggled with getting Munch her shot. She paid us back by peeing on the carpet again this morning. ohmygod_smile. We've got 3P's this morning, so that's an improvement over yesterday.

I do have a question. We're dosecreasing quickly due to the fact that she was in remission before. Every 6th cycle we tend to see minor improvements, but on the 7th I up her dose and she goes through 5 more cycles of higher numbers again. At what point does going quick out weight the benefits of trying to get her body use to lower numbers and getting the opportunity to start healing? (Does this make sense?) I don't know that I'm explaining myself well here. Please let me know if I'm not. I'm on board with the program, I'm just curious about the train of thought I guess.

We're sending out lots of vines and well wishes to all who need them. Sending prayers for Fiona. And much gratitude to everyone who offer knowledge, support, and give up their sleep. There's been a lot going on around here in the last few days.
 
Re: 6/14 Munchkin AMPS 338

I think your observation is a good one. I'd be more inclined to suggest that you hold the dose IF Munchkin was more consistently seeing blues and greens. So far, you're seeing a hint of blue. Keep in mind that if the nadirs were mostly below 200, you would be holding the dose for 5 days/10 cycles. So, for now, I'd stick with raising the dose after 6 cycles.
 
Re: 6/14 Munchkin AMPS 338

You will get there. Patience and perseverence, raising it every 6 cycles until the pancrease likes the dose. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 6/14 Munchkin AMPS 338

I have the same thought as Sienne. Once she starts getting into blue numbers for more than just a toe dip, I'd hold a little longer and give her time to really settle in.

I say a little blue nail polish never hurts ;-)
 
Re: 6/14 Munchkin AMPS 338

Hi Reagan and Munchkin, thanks for stopping in to visit us. Lots of luck on this dose. Hope your day is going well.
 
Re: 6/14 Munchkin AMPS 338

Thanks for the responses Sienne, Melissa, and Marje. I'm planning on upping her again tonight. My questions are just coming from trying to understand and learn. More discussion based than anything.

I do have another question though. If it holds true that the depot influences up to 6 cycles after the dose, is it possible that we wouldn't even be seeing what the dose is doing yet? Then when I increase, because of her "pattern", that the previous dose is being covered up with the NDW? I know that makes more sense in regards to a decrease, but could it hold true for increases also?

Ok, actually I think I've just managed to confuse myself. That doesn't make sense really. But I'll leave the question. Feel free to tell me I'm thinking too much. :smile:

Marje, thanks for reminding me. I'm off to go paint the toes blue again!
 
Re: 6/14 Munchkin AMPS 338, +2.5 312, +5 313

If it holds true that the depot influences up to 6 cycles after the dose, is it possible that we wouldn't even be seeing what the dose is doing yet?
The statement is a conditional one. The depot MAY (i.e., in some cases and in some cats) effect the dose for several subsequent cycles. Or, it may not. One of the reasons that we let doses settle is so the depot can stabilize. Some cats never experience NDW, some cats experience it on occasion, and other cats are unaffected. And to make matters more confusing, Munchkin may take longer, in general, for a dose to stabilize until the time when he doesn't and then you're walking around confused. We're dealing with cats. They like keeping us confused. What we do know is that for most cats, if you don't let the dose stabilize, numbers really will be wonky. There's a balance between how long it takes for your cat vs. holding a dose that's not working for too long and creating a scenario for glucose toxicity.
 
I've been thinking about this since you responded Sienne. I have more questions, but I'm sure most of this is just coming from over analyzing.

I dosecreased to 2.5. Munch spent a good 11 hours today sleeping, wandered around for an hour and now she just curled up in her computer chair. I'm making a list of projects to stay focused on for the next few cycles.

Barb, it always seems to make sense until you hit send, doesn't it?!? :lol:
 
Thanks for stopping by James' condo tonight! Good luck to you and Munchkin on the dosecrease!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top