Well not such a good morning. Checked him at +5 and he was 20. Immediately gave HC food and corn syrup. Twenty minutes later he was at 83. His timing couldn't have been worse as I had an appointment and could not check him 30 minutes later. He is now at 153.
Would appreciate your thoughts as to what happened that he went down to 20?
Wow on the 20. Numbers that low call for an immediate reduction. I know you just reduced, but you don't want to mess with numbers that low. Tonight you'll want to shoot 0.5 units. I'm glad he came back up for you.
Reduced dose to .5 unit. I don't have the syringes with the small unit markings. I've ordered them so will start using as soon as received.
PMPS is 163.
Have a question. I use the ReliOn Prime monitor and strips. He winces every time I place the strip on his ear. Has anyone else had this issue with their fur baby?
I will continue to test and record his results until we leave town on Thursday. Hopefully more blues and greens.
The 20 today was a shock. Jack just doesn't show any symptoms.
Have a question. I use the ReliOn Prime monitor and strips. He winces every time I place the strip on his ear. Has anyone else had this issue with their fur baby?
I would test +2 depending on how much he drops... continue through every hour until he levels out. The depot will still be in play so it is hard to say...
I too am suspicious like Amanda* could have been a bad strip.
Next time...
I don't think that 20 was a wonky strip. He angled down sharply last night from PMPS to +2, and had another good drop today between AMPS and +3. Not sure of your feeding schedule but I would have fed carbs at +3 today and checked earlier than +5. Anything more than 20% drop from preshot to +2 or +3 would make me pay closer attention. Just something to keep in mind in the future.
So that said, tonight's cycle will be more active, seeing that +2 of 107...that's another good drop already. Hope Jack stays safe tonight, but do get a +3 or +4 if you can, that will tell you if you need more testing, or need to intervene with higher carbs if he still drops more. The cycle has only just started
I did feed carbs at +3 along with corn syrup. I had a meeting that prevented me from testing at +4. Right now feeding schedule is same as dosing schedule, every 12 hours. The reason for that is I am out of town this and next week and cat sitter can only come twice a day to feed and shoot.
Once this trip is completed I plan to feed 4x a day.
Today I plan to test every 2 hours to get a good picture of where he is.