6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +6(169) +9(116)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
Libby ask that I start a new thread since this went to two pages.

AMPS (224) +12 - Shot .5u at 8:00am
+2 (318)
+3.5 (266)
+6 (179) - Miscommunication, so not fed until almost +7
+8 (159)
+9 (153)


PMPS (182) +12 - Shot .5u at 8:00pm
+3 (286)
+6 (169) - Miscalculation, so not fed until almost +7
+9 (116)
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey AMPS(224) +6(179) +9(153)

+6 (179) - Miscommunication, so not fed until almost +7
+8 (159)
+9 (153)


surfing-smiley-face.gif


Internet not up to par at my house today. Frontier isn't known for it's fabulous service here, but only have choices, so what 'cha gonna do???
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey AMPS(224) +6(179) +9(153)

Pretty blues, Libby! Hey, doesn't Hershey have anything resembling a food spike??? Grayson's lasts longer on Lev than it did on ProZinc!
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey AMPS(224) +6(179) +9(153)

Grayson & Lu said:
Pretty blues, Libby! Hey, doesn't Hershey have anything resembling a food spike??? Grayson's lasts longer on Lev than it did on ProZinc!

He used to, but then stopped having one all of the time. Who knows why or when?
images


I keep thinking we need a "LIKE" button like on facebook -
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey AMPS(224) +6(179) +9(153)

Nice day, Hershey.
I was expecting a bounce, and nice to see very little of that going on. :smile:

Carl
 
Re: ** 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) STILL .5u - Right??

I'm thinking yes. And get a +3 to see where he plans on going later?
Carl
 
Re: ** 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) STILL .5u - Right??

I vote for SHOOOOOOOOOOOT!!!! the 0.5u. Let's see if Hershey can keep this surf going. Boy, is he taking to Lev nicely. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) Shot .5u

PMPS (182) +12 - Shot .5u at 8:00pm

Thanks for the confirmation - Carl and Libby!

Hershey is usually a no fuss kind of guy and wants his food straight from the fridge so he doesn't have to wait for it to be heated. Tonight, he wanted his heated. I think he was jealous because his didn't stink as bad as Oreo's (who insists on having his heated to just the right temperature). I heated Hershey's to show his could stink badly, too!! He ate a little, but not as eagerly as usual. Don't know if it's because of better numbers or because we increased his food. I sure don't want to completely fill him up, just in case we need to give a little later...
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) Shot .5u

SO JEALOUS RIGHT NOW!!!
Go Hershey!
Hopefully this will keep up for you 2! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) Shot .5u

Thanks, Denise - I hope he continues to like Lev! He did so well on ProZinc in the beginning, then well on TID...initially...trying hard not to get my hopes up, but hard not to. :smile: I hope all is well with you and Shakes -
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286)

+3 (286) - I think Hershey got confused...hopefully, it's food and will clear??? maybe???
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286)

maybe, or maybe he got tired of surfing, or wanted to give you a night off. Or he could still have plans for later tonight.

If you want to get a +5, that will give you an idea of whether he is going to stay up there or head down.
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286)

This was his first full day, right? Please get some late cycle/early AM checks on him. Those are some very good numbers for so early after a switch. Although he came up quite a bit after the PMPS, the same trend is going to continue but go lower. He's probably safe enough, but that data will help you make future dose decisions should it begin to look like he's getting too much.
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286)

We never know with Hershey. Hoping maybe since he took longer to eat that it's just still hanging around. Who knows? I was taking the +6 again tonight and Doug was covering the +9 so I could get a little uninterrupted sleep. Almost hate to do a +5 if I'm going to see he's planning to run high this cycle...ignorance is bliss and all that ;-)
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286)

Doug N Libby said:
We never know with Hershey. Hoping maybe since he took longer to eat that it's just still hanging around. Who knows? I was taking the +6 again tonight and Doug was covering the +9 so I could get a little uninterrupted sleep. Almost hate to do a +5 if I'm going to see he's planning to run high this cycle...ignorance is bliss and all that ;-)

The +6 and then +9 is good, as his cycle today showed he had begun dropping by +6. He could go higher if there's a bounce off those blues today, but I am going to hope for more blue, even green for him tonight. Don't be surprised by a green. It can happen :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286)

I suggested +5 because if he is still headed up you could go to bed and stay there. If you want to do +6 and +9, then I would never argue with someone who wants to do more tests. ;-)
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286)

Thanks, Vicky - I'd take green...or even blue...been seeing so many pinks lately that the yellow looks pretty good, too! :smile:

I wouldn't (ordinarily) just want to run more tests, but I feel so over my head in Lev right now that I don't think I could sleep for wondering what was going on with him. I was there was a machine of some sort that I could wave around him to tell me his BG without the pokies...

Wonder if his BG went up from smelling the mint chip brownies my daughter made at 11PM! ;-) What WAS she thinking?! :o But, they were TASTY! :-D
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286)

mint chip brownies! mmmmmm... i think MY bg just went up! :lol:
just stopping by to see how things are going...
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286)

Jill & Alex said:
mint chip brownies! mmmmmm... i think MY bg just went up! :lol:
just stopping by to see how things are going...
I know! I was going to go to bed, but you made me kind of want to raid the pantry instead. :lol:
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286)

Jessica said, "You're welcome" for the idea of raiding the pantry. :lol: :lol: That from my 18-year old, size 2 daughter! :roll: Like it matters WHAT time she eats brownies! -ugh- But, we don't have many nights home alone for any amount of time that she doesn't have pressing homework. So, it was the 5-hour Pride and Prejudice and late night brownies...that'll take me 5 years to work off! ;-)
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286)

Wow! Libby those numbers are wonderful on Hershey. Looks like LEV is the way to go!!!! This makes me want to switch right now. How did you know what to start out at?

YUM!!! Those brownies sound wonderful!!! I can even smell them all the way to the mtn's!

lori
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286) +6(169)

+6 (169) Almost +6.25 because I can't count and was thinking 8pm shot + 6hrs = 3am...Kept thinking something was wrong but couldn't quite put my finger on it (*smacks forehead*) - Due to miscalculation, didn't eat until almost +7

GLAD to see the blue! :-D
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286) +6(169)

niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice! :mrgreen:

hershey sure is liking lev!
i'll catch up to you tomorrow. keep on keepin' on because it's working!
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286) +6(169)

Thanks, I hope he keeps likin' it! I think his little body could use a break :-D

Next shot is at 8am. I'm guessin' we keep holding the .5u for now (unless I hear otherwise).

Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin said:
This was his first full day, right? Please get some late cycle/early AM checks on him. Those are some very good numbers for so early after a switch. Although he came up quite a bit after the PMPS, the same trend is going to continue but go lower. He's probably safe enough, but that data will help you make future dose decisions should it begin to look like he's getting too much.

Sorry, Vicky - Guess we were posting about the same time earlier, because I just saw your note. Yes, this was his first day on Lev. We're in the middle of our 3rd cycle.

Planning to test at +9...maybe should test at +8 instead? Seems last night's nadir was +8 and today's AM was +9...I don't suppose anyone is still up to give an opinion? I'll roll it around in my head and go with one or the other, if I don't hear from anybody.

Goodnight!
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286) +6(169)

you could get a +8.5. :lol:

yes, you want to stick with 0.5u for now unless hershey drops below 50... with the same caveat as last night. if he's below 150 at shot time, post and ask for guidance. you don't have enough data accumulated yet to safely shoot full doses on lower preshot numbers without guidance.

libby and i have sort of been tag-teaming in an effort to offer suggestions or help when you need it. if no one is available here you can always post in the lantus TR forum. there are many experienced members there who are very familiar with the TR Protocol. they don't bite. :-D

libby wrote a great piece on "how to deal with low preshot numbers". you can find it here: STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS. lots of good info for lantus and levemir users in that sticky!
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286) +6(169)

paha - I know they don't bite. :-D I actually met a few people there one night when I was trying to find someone to help a new person.

I've read Libby's sticky a couple of times and will read it a few more, I'm sure. Having a hard time getting back into the swing of BID after finally getting the hang of TID, plus trying to learn new tricks - but, we'll get there. Thanks for all of the hand-holding!
 
Re: 6/14 Hershey PMPS(182) +3(286) +6(169)

it takes awhile to digest all the info. a lot of it won't even make sense until you see it happening first hand. you'll get there.
you're already doing very, very well!
 
I see a VERY pretty PMPS on Hershey's spreadsheet! I swear this cat is trying to become the cover model for the lev textbook, if there was such a thing.

He will probably keep rising for a few ours. In the TR group we would shoot this, since you are available to monitor and can handle low numbers if they come. What do you think? I would get a +2 after you shoot.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
I see a VERY pretty PMPS on Hershey's spreadsheet! I swear this cat is trying to become the cover model for the lev textbook, if there was such a thing.

He will probably keep rising for a few ours. In the TR group we would shoot this, since you are available to monitor and can handle low numbers if they come. What do you think? I would get a +2 after you shoot.

I think you meant dropping, although he did rise a little, he more or less remained steady. Yes, +9 is a typical nadir for Lev, but this is exactly what it does, maintain steady blood glucose levels or even continue dropping after +9.

And I am sorry that no one is usually here overnight. We try to help members understand how Levemir works so they learn what to expect, what it means, and whether or not it's worth posting a 911 over. Usually the situation is not when it comes to Levemir. I worry less about Hershey because you are experienced and can handle lows. What you need is information. In other words, we like to empower members to understand so they can make their own decisions, because ultimately the syringe is in their hands. It's why you don't necessarily see daily condos here. Maybe that's also because we have very few members comparatively, but which class would you rather be in - the one with 50 kids or the one with 15?

I love Hershey's profile! I would like to see all members write up a brief profile also via Google docs and include the link in their signature or in the "url" section of their board profile, which is then available to click under your avatar via the Earth symbol. And keep it updated. That helps everyone be able to see at a glance what food, how old, how long diabetic, what insulins have been used, etc. Pamela & Tigger ask for this from time to time as well. She is very knowledgeable but doesn't visit much, so she doesn't have the 411 on everyone. I also would like to be able to keep better track of members. At one time I started writing up cards on each cat. But that may not keep me updated as to changes, such as new conditions or medications.

So good job and I point it out because it's a simple thing and others should take a look at yours. It's fun to include a few pictures too :-D
 
WOW - did you ever imagine shooting a low-to mid BLUE??? What a great run he's had so far on Lev!!! Hoping he continues to do so well - Lord knows you tried everything with ProZinc! Nice to see some fruit of your labors!

Go Hershey!!!
 
Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin said:
Libby and Lucy said:
I see a VERY pretty PMPS on Hershey's spreadsheet! I swear this cat is trying to become the cover model for the lev textbook, if there was such a thing.

He will probably keep rising for a few ours. In the TR group we would shoot this, since you are available to monitor and can handle low numbers if they come. What do you think? I would get a +2 after you shoot.

I think you meant dropping, although he did rise a little, he more or less remained steady. Yes, +9 is a typical nadir for Lev, but this is exactly what it does, maintain steady blood glucose levels or even continue dropping after +9.
I think I see what you're saying, but I did mean that he will probably keep rising after AMPS until at least +2 or +3, or looking at Hershey's data so far maybe even +4. My post would have made more sense if it had come after Libby & Doug's post about the AMPS number, but I didn't wait for them to open the new condo because I was getting ready for work.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin said:
Libby and Lucy said:
I see a VERY pretty PMPS on Hershey's spreadsheet! I swear this cat is trying to become the cover model for the lev textbook, if there was such a thing.

He will probably keep rising for a few ours. In the TR group we would shoot this, since you are available to monitor and can handle low numbers if they come. What do you think? I would get a +2 after you shoot.

I think you meant dropping, although he did rise a little, he more or less remained steady. Yes, +9 is a typical nadir for Lev, but this is exactly what it does, maintain steady blood glucose levels or even continue dropping after +9.
I think I see what you're saying, but I did mean that he will probably keep rising after AMPS until at least +2 or +3, or looking at Hershey's data so far maybe even +4. My post would have made more sense if it had come after Libby & Doug's post about the AMPS number, but I didn't wait for them to open the new condo because I was getting ready for work.

Yeah, by saying "rising" you weren't wrong in general. That is supposed to happen and would be what happens on PZI/proZinc, but Levemir is a different animal. That hangtime effect has surprised more than one person at shot time, that's why it is important to get +11 especially early on, so you at least know if you're dealing with a rising or steady number at shot time. If more people would get +11's we wouldn't have to deal with so many, "Help, preshot BG is 80, do I shoot?" posts. That goes for any insulin really, but Levemir for sure.

BTW, thanks to you and Jill for keeping an eye on Hershey.
 
Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin said:
Yeah, by saying "rising" you weren't wrong in general. That is supposed to happen and would be what happens on PZI/proZinc, but Levemir is a different animal. That hangtime effect has surprised more than one person at shot time, that's why it is important to get +11 especially early on, so you at least know if you're dealing with a rising or steady number at shot time. If more people would get +11's we wouldn't have to deal with so many, "Help, preshot BG is 80, do I shoot?" posts. That goes for any insulin really, but Levemir for sure.
yes, when a kitty is surfing or dropping at the end of a lev/lantus cycle it's always best to get a few early spot checks after shooting... just in case kitty drops. dropping is less likely from a surf with lantus/levemir since onset doesn't *usually* occur until +2 (lantus) or +4 (levemir) and in this case, hershey's data suggests otherwise, but nevertheless... it can and does happen.

i love +10s and +11s! jojo called them "the forgotten spot checks" in the "Becoming Data Ready" section of the STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS we've linked for libby and doug.

Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin said:
BTW, thanks to you and Jill for keeping an eye on Hershey.
you're welcome! i wasn't sure how much TR help would be available for libby and doug... after all, this is only hershey's 4th cycle on lev. at this point, a little guidance will go a long way to helping them make decisions in the future.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top