John & Henry
Member Since 2022
Previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-1-6-5-298-8-301-pmps-304-ketones-2-3.264403/
/sigh I'm starting to get incredibly frustrated. I thought things were going better, the ketones seemed to be in check and then last night I checked his ketones and they were 5.8 -- higher than I've ever seen. I hadn't been checking the BG or ketones as frequently because I was nearly out of strips (of both) and I had an order in to ADW that wasn't due in til Thursday (luckily they came today).
His eating (and especially drinking) have been off the charts! He's been drinking 300-600ml per day and eating anything I'll give him. He's also been creating an incredible about of litter, but that's another story.
I sent the glucose curve to the vet last night and followed up with a phone call today worried about his ketones being 5.8 last night. She just returned my call, and didn't seemed very concerned. She did seem pretty annoyed I increased his insulin to 1.25U and grilled me on how I was able to even measure out such a small dose. I told her some people use calipers, but I had just been pulling back the plunger between half way and the mark (basically eye balling it). She said, "Well, 1/4 unit isn't even a thing", I wanted to mention how some people actually dose 1/10 units, but I also want to keep on her good side and choose my battles. She also seemed annoyed I was checking his ketones and BG so frequently "The ketones change over time, and maybe it would be better if you check the ketones in his urine since that would give a better indication of his overall ketone production", OK that sounds about 10 times more difficult, but I guess I could attempt it. She also said, outside of charting a BG curve the only reason to check BG is to make sure he isn't going hypo after a dosage increase. "Frequently picking his ear, is just going to make him hate it and make it more difficult for us when we have to do it on him", I explained that he was totally cool with the ear pokes and didn't even flinch anymore. She summed up the call by basically saying, "So long as he's eating and drinking well, you shouldn't worry"
Except last time by the time he stopped eating and drinking, he needed to be hospitalized immediately IE. it's too late to do anything by that point.
So I was terrified last night (with the 5.8 ketone reading) that he was going to go into DKA again, and be back in the hospital. I really can't afford another $8,000 vet bill. Maybe that's what she wants? more business?
She did say I could raise his dose to 2 units, so I guess she isn't doing nothing.
I think I'm going to go take some xanax
/sigh I'm starting to get incredibly frustrated. I thought things were going better, the ketones seemed to be in check and then last night I checked his ketones and they were 5.8 -- higher than I've ever seen. I hadn't been checking the BG or ketones as frequently because I was nearly out of strips (of both) and I had an order in to ADW that wasn't due in til Thursday (luckily they came today).
His eating (and especially drinking) have been off the charts! He's been drinking 300-600ml per day and eating anything I'll give him. He's also been creating an incredible about of litter, but that's another story.
I sent the glucose curve to the vet last night and followed up with a phone call today worried about his ketones being 5.8 last night. She just returned my call, and didn't seemed very concerned. She did seem pretty annoyed I increased his insulin to 1.25U and grilled me on how I was able to even measure out such a small dose. I told her some people use calipers, but I had just been pulling back the plunger between half way and the mark (basically eye balling it). She said, "Well, 1/4 unit isn't even a thing", I wanted to mention how some people actually dose 1/10 units, but I also want to keep on her good side and choose my battles. She also seemed annoyed I was checking his ketones and BG so frequently "The ketones change over time, and maybe it would be better if you check the ketones in his urine since that would give a better indication of his overall ketone production", OK that sounds about 10 times more difficult, but I guess I could attempt it. She also said, outside of charting a BG curve the only reason to check BG is to make sure he isn't going hypo after a dosage increase. "Frequently picking his ear, is just going to make him hate it and make it more difficult for us when we have to do it on him", I explained that he was totally cool with the ear pokes and didn't even flinch anymore. She summed up the call by basically saying, "So long as he's eating and drinking well, you shouldn't worry"
Except last time by the time he stopped eating and drinking, he needed to be hospitalized immediately IE. it's too late to do anything by that point.So I was terrified last night (with the 5.8 ketone reading) that he was going to go into DKA again, and be back in the hospital. I really can't afford another $8,000 vet bill. Maybe that's what she wants? more business?
She did say I could raise his dose to 2 units, so I guess she isn't doing nothing.
I think I'm going to go take some xanax