6/14, Frodo, amps 116, +3 51, +11 96, needing less insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruth Ann and Frodo

Member Since 2015
previous thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...y-this-dose-increase-numbers-dropping.139410/

We cut the dose from 4 to 3.75 - looks like still too much, as he hit 51 today, and is still fairly low. Not sure we'll be over 100 by pm shot time. Will of course cut dose again (to 3.5) , but do we dare shot even a reduced pm dose? He seems to be recovering awfully fast, and needing less insulin. Have been reading the sticky on "shooting low" but I'm somewhat uncertain since his insulin needs seem to be dropping so fast.
 
A higher dose can impact from 4-6 cycles after the reduction. It's possible the 51 today was leftover action from the depot of the 4.0 unit dose yesterday. He hasn't really earned a reduction to 3.5unit yet. If he's going higher at PMPS, you are safe to shoot the full 3.75U dose - provided you can monitor. I wouldn't encourage a skip - Frodo's numbers have just started to look good. Another option is to delay 1/2 hour, without feeding, test again, and if he's at a nigher number you feel comfortable shooting, do the full 3.75U then.
 
A reduced dose is also an option if you feel uncomfortable shooting low numbers the first time. A one time reduced dose will help drain the 4.0 unit depot. But let's see what PMPS is first.

You did shoot a 116 this morning and a 121 last night.
 
pm preshot just gave a 91. He's actually dropped in the last hour. Advice, please. He was at the 4.0 dosing only 5 days: stopped bouncing (finally) and then hit "dosage reduction" number (<50). I don't know if this is usual or an unusually short time at the highest dosage.
 
pm preshot just gave a 91. He's actually dropped in the last hour. Advice, please. He was at the 4.0 dosing only 5 days: stopped bouncing (finally) and then hit "dosage reduction" number (<50). I don't know if this is usual or an unusually short time at the highest dosage.
Hi Ruth Ann! I won't give dosing advice, but I do want to point out that the 91 is essentially the same as your +11 96. With meter variance, you can consider those numbers steady, rather than a drop.
 
Some kitties will do a Lantus double dip, which is a small drop at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main nadir of that cycle. That could be what you are seeing with Frodo. Whether it's a double dip or surfing, they are safe to shoot. Your options are to delay 1/2 hour without feeding and see if he rises, shoot a reduced dose, shoot the full dose if you can monitor tonight.
 
OK, decided to do reduced dose (3.0 instead of 3.75). Will see what this does overnight (And we aren't getting much overnight sleep it seems).
 
What a perfect day for Frodo! The longer he spends in normal numbers the better!

Here is a spreadsheet for you to look at: Davidson's. Notice in February when Shawna starts shooting green preshots, then look across the row and see how flat the cycle ends up being. Lantus has the quality of holding the blood sugar cycle flat when it starts with a lower number. Shawna continued shooting the full dose until either Davidson went below 50 or he spent 7 days in normal numbers on a dose.

Since you gave a reduced dose tonight because of the lower preshot rather than because he "earned" a reduction, you'd normally want to return to his regular dose of 3.75u in the morning. As Wendy said, the 4.0u dose could still be influencing his blood sugar.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top